You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delegated STEEM Power Return VS. Personal Curation Return After 1 Week

in #steemit7 years ago

Great post, Dayne! I haven't tried SP delegation yet. A part of me feels responsible for how the SP I've earned is used (I did follow voting once and ended up not liking what I was voting for), but delegation feels a little different. I could probably earn more Steem, but I also really enjoy voting up friends and content I enjoy. I think I'll give this a try though.

Sort:  

Man... you hit on the two points I avoided but definitely need to be addressed. :)

I haven't tried SP delegation yet. A part of me feels responsible for how the SP I've earned is used...

I think this is healthy and I did think about this before delegating mine out. In the end I still wanted to attempt it and see what happened. Part of me does wonder if by delegating it out for a return am I giving influence (although a little amount in my case) to those that may not have the same values as I do. Am I helping possibly turn the Steem community into something I don't want it to be?

I just looked at the current single delegations and the top one is 5000 SP. That is pretty significant.

I could probably earn more Steem, but I also really enjoy voting up friends and content I enjoy.

I have personally benefited from your generosity of up voting friends that you feel provide value. (Thank you!) Looking at it from that perspective makes me think about how delegating your SP can influence your following. It will definitely limit your ability to have the upvoting "power" that you previously had. You wouldn't be able to reward those that you want to encourage as much as you could previously.

I think some of this falls in the same arena of the self voting discussion. You should post about it! Personally, I would love to see the discussion you would generate and your take on it.

I may post about it eventually.

Inspired by your post, I powered up another 2,700 STEEM (been keeping it liquid to buy EOS, but I'm holding for now) and delegated 1k to minnow booster and 1k to minnow support. We'll see how it goes.

Hi Luke, BTW, you got my vote for witness. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55706.37
ETH 2969.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24