Delegated STEEM Power Return VS. Personal Curation Return After 1 Week

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 1.19.45 AM.png

First off I have to admit that I am not the best at curation. It seems there is a mixture of science, art and luck to upvoting on Steemit and I miss all three every time. I currently use Steemvoter for a few people and have played with percentages but still have not seen a lot in return on my curation attempts.

Well, I wanted to compare my short experience with manual curation and delegating my Steem Power to see if it worked for me. First up is manual curation.

The Curation w/ STEEM Power (SP) Way

This is the idea of upvoting posts and comments and earning a return off of each one. The curation payout you get from a post depends on the total amount the post earns in 7 days, at what point you placed your vote and the total amount of SP you have. My account is floating around 1000 SP and my votes at 100% add about 14 cents on a good day to a post.

I Upvoted ✅

I have spent time searching for posts and comments to upvote that I feel have value. I feel that I have done a good job of encouraging solid content and trying to be a part of the community. My curation reward for last week was 1.229 STEEM.


Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 3.22.02 PM.png


This isn't bad and I haven't checked the exact voting amount I made but with all the factors that go into the curation reward I don't think it really matters. I would say I probably did 5 - 10 a day.

The Delegated STEEM Power (SP) Way

I decided that I wasn't doing a great job at managing my SP usage and although it stinks to click the cool spinning upvote icon and give just a few cents, I thought it would be a better long term strategy for me to delegate. I wrote about my first experience here and ended up earning a few STEEM just for letting someone else borrow my SP. So let me quickly explain the delegation concept.

How Loaning SP Works

  • 📈 Your SP determines how much your vote is worth. The higher your amount of SP then the more powerful your vote in allocating payout to that post or comment. This makes it desirable to have more SP.
  • 💸 You can loan your SP to other users on Steemit. SP also determines actions you can perform like upvotes, posts, comments and the system allows you to delegate your SP to others to help them if they do not have enough.
  • 🤖 Minnowbooster facilitates this arrangement. This provides an opportunity for an escrow type service to add an incentive to this loan arrangement. If someone is paid in STEEM to delegate their SP to another user then they would be more likely to do it.
  • 💰 Daily Payouts are given to lender over the length of the loan. Minnowbooster then divides the total amount paid to borrow the SP over the course of the loan and pays it out daily to the lender. Keep in mind the lender still owns the SP but is not able to use it.

Time to Delegate 😎

I used minnowbootser to delegate almost all of my SP minus around 100SP. I wasn't sure what to expect but the loans had a decent return and couldn't be worse than my curation.

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 12.48.01 AM.png

I delegated 925 SP across 6 different orders pushing my usable SP to around 100. I quickly saw the voting slider disappear when upvoting content and the power of my vote dropped to about 2 cents. Now that this is complete I wait to see what happens.

Well... It turns out I got more in my first daily payout than I did for the whole week in curation rewards. 🎉

My daily payout for all 6 delegations is at 1.307 STEEM. The crazy thing is this is going to continue for the next 4 weeks!

Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 11.28.48 PM.png

It turns out that for me I am better off in a position where I can earn from loaning my STEEM vs using manual curation. I am not sure if this will change in the future but the delegation method is working so well that I can't see myself stopping yet.

The bottom line is this:

I earned 9.149 STEEM in 1 week by delegating my STEEM and only 1.229 STEEM by curating content myself.

How are you doing on curation rewards?

[IMAGE SOURCE]

Sort:  

Bro you total delegate 100SP ?? And its return you getting 9.149 steems per week m i correct if not plz guide me ?

Really interesting..thanks for this post @ daynewright! I dont have enough SP to matter yet..but hopefully I will! 😎

Great post, Dayne! I haven't tried SP delegation yet. A part of me feels responsible for how the SP I've earned is used (I did follow voting once and ended up not liking what I was voting for), but delegation feels a little different. I could probably earn more Steem, but I also really enjoy voting up friends and content I enjoy. I think I'll give this a try though.

Man... you hit on the two points I avoided but definitely need to be addressed. :)

I haven't tried SP delegation yet. A part of me feels responsible for how the SP I've earned is used...

I think this is healthy and I did think about this before delegating mine out. In the end I still wanted to attempt it and see what happened. Part of me does wonder if by delegating it out for a return am I giving influence (although a little amount in my case) to those that may not have the same values as I do. Am I helping possibly turn the Steem community into something I don't want it to be?

I just looked at the current single delegations and the top one is 5000 SP. That is pretty significant.

I could probably earn more Steem, but I also really enjoy voting up friends and content I enjoy.

I have personally benefited from your generosity of up voting friends that you feel provide value. (Thank you!) Looking at it from that perspective makes me think about how delegating your SP can influence your following. It will definitely limit your ability to have the upvoting "power" that you previously had. You wouldn't be able to reward those that you want to encourage as much as you could previously.

I think some of this falls in the same arena of the self voting discussion. You should post about it! Personally, I would love to see the discussion you would generate and your take on it.

I may post about it eventually.

Inspired by your post, I powered up another 2,700 STEEM (been keeping it liquid to buy EOS, but I'm holding for now) and delegated 1k to minnow booster and 1k to minnow support. We'll see how it goes.

Hi Luke, BTW, you got my vote for witness. Cheers!

My annecdotal experience is similar to yours. Even once when I factor in the 7 days it takes for the SP to come back after the delegation ends, much better off. And, it helps minnows.
I try to keep my SP just above 500 so I keep the vote slider.

Yep. Exactly. I have been a little aggressive on my loan amount but keeping around 500 SP is probably a good move.

That's very interesting. Maybe 5 to 10 per day isn't enough, and that's where the delegation helps most?

You might be able to check where most of your vote power is going here:
http://www.steemreports.com/votes-info/?account=minnowbooster

Nice post. Thanks for sharing the info. I tried minnowbooster lending recently, and my feedback is that they need to make the un-delegation process easier and provide the link/info on their website. Also, if minnowbooster.com just disappears one day, what happens to those minnows that are renting the SP. Do they just lose their Steem that they paid to minnowbooster to receive the SP delegation?

Thanks for this post. These are womderful informations to me.

Wow that is super interesting.

Hey I know this is old, but can you answer whether or not you still earn 9 STEEM per year off your Steem Power is it's being delegated?

Yeah. It still works pretty well. I haven't been posting much and just delegate with minnowbooster to earn daily. You can also allow it to use your voting power and get paid in SBD.

No I meant like do you still earn interest on the delegated SP for yourself. Like if I delegate you my SP. Do you earn interest of it? Or do I still earn it off the delegated SP?

Well... if you loaned it to me then I could use it to upvote and earn off of that SP but through minnowbooster I would be paying you a daily amount for that privilege. Is that what you are asking?

No, invested SP has daily compounding interest. I am asking if I the owner still earn interest off what I loaned to someone else or if they earn interest off it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46