A Fun Little Experiment: Bot Votes vs. Human Votes

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Every week for the past 30+ weeks, I publish what I call the Exchange Transfer Report. You can see the latest one here. It's a report built out from some PHP code I wrote to dig through the blockchain data and figure out how much steem value is heading out to an exchange as a withdrawal (from a user to an exchange account) or coming in from an exchange as a deposit (from an exchange account to a user).

Since I joined Steemit in June 2016 and starting posting later in July, I've been working to create useful content like this to build a solid following. Eventually I got the attention of some Steem Power holders who like curation rewards (and, hopefully, some of my content) who put me on their voting bots. As such, it's not easy to know if the content is appreciated directly or if it's just a matter of supporting an author. To test out how this report is received (since it's essentially similar content each week, with my commentary thrown in), I tried something different this time.

I declined payout.

I also added a comment and asked people to vote up the comment if they'd like to financially reward the post. I figured the rewards would be a tiny fraction of the "normal" (if there is such a thing) payout. For a baseline, here are the last few reports I've done with their payout amounts:

And here's the result of my test:

I'm actually surprised and impressed! $4 is more than I expected.

I took a few things away from this:

  • Those who do like my report (or at least the 20 who voted up the comment) seem to have high enough Steem Power to convert 20 votes into $4.
  • People vote less on declined payout posts. I was getting around 200 and got 81 this time. That's not really all that surprising, but it's neat to know people care about their votes to spare them and that some bots may be programmed not to vote up declined payment posts.
  • I got more comments then usual on this report (sometimes it's just @me-tarzan, a regular commenter who often thanks me weekly).
  • This idea kind of worked. If you want to know who's reading your content instead of bot voting you, maybe give this a try and see what happens. Just don't be too surprised if not that many people are watching. Manage expectations accordingly.

I love playing around with stuff like this on Steemit. I hope you found it useful too.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

So here I am, hi @lukestokes, I'm @dreemit, a dreamer for steemit as my name would suggest :) I am an advocate for experiments within the platform, considering steemit is an experiment in and of itself, so great initiative!
It's funny, but I had never heard the term voluntaryist until I joined steemit, though it very closely represents my own belief system. It was my sweet friend @the-alien who explained it to me.
Love your profile, just exchange father with mother and eliminate programmer, and the rest fits me as well. Nice to meet you!

Thank you! Followed.

Thanks Luke,

I might have to try my first decline payment post soon. Now I am interested to see if I could surprise them inside my post with FREE STEEM. ;)

Haha! I like it. Great idea. :)

Nice, we are still holding strong from the robot take over, a good sign for humanity.

I, for one, welcome our new robot overlords. Heheh.

You are part of the problem @lukestokes, you are part of the problem :p

Very interesting. Thanks.

One note: Are you writing this from the future? It would explain some of your predictions :D

Not that I know of. :)

Isn't the great difference between votes and views enough to say that most of the upvotes everyone receive is just bots?

Possibly. I'm not sure how the "views" is calculated, so I can't say for sure.

I've always wondered about that discrepancy. Are views only people who actually clicked on the article and upvotes count just if you click "like" in the news feed? As far as I can tell, there's no way to test this without actually clicking on the article.

I'm not sure. That's a good question for the developers. Maybe one of these days I'll poke around the github repo and see if I can find how that number is set.

Sorry, I couldn't understand your post.

Yeah! don't worry. It seems you are not the only one.
Maybe later I will write my posts in a more comprehensible way. ;)

At least you know I read it :)

@me-tarzan hasn't replied yet, maybe you scared him off by naming him LOL!

I can't help but notice this post at the time I write this has 154 votes and 55 views, I am not sure why Steemit has allowed people or robots to upvote content without opening it but I think it is a bit of a flawed system personally and would prefer to only see the upvote button at the bottom of the article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95