Scam Alert: Do Not Download Steemit Official App On Google store.

in #steemit6 years ago

Tl:Dr;

DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE APP, STEEMIT OFFICIAL, IT'S FAKE AND WILL STEAL YOUR LOGIN KEYS TO TRANSFER YOUR HARD EARNED STEEM/SBD.

As a fact, let me state it here that Steemit do not have any app whether for android or IOS. The only app that has a high level of trust because it is developed by a highly trusted witness is esteem.

Now to the story, I woke up this early morning to see a message from a discord user with name @blackstar. The message was a link to an app on Google store.
Screenshot_20180522-043743.png

Immediately, I saw a lot of read flags but I know most other Steemians are over trusting and don't look out for this signs so I'll share those red flags here.

  • first, Steemit would never run around people's dm with their app.

  • There's no official statement on either @ned account or the @steemitblog handle about such app.

  • This message wasn't from someone I have been chatting with. Thus it was an act of spamming.

Oh well, I decided to go see the app so I can report to the others. And I confirmed my suspicion when there was only seven reviews and five gave it a 100%. I can't remember ever giving an app 100% because there's always something I'm not satisfied with. Therefore it's easy to see that this was fake reviews from same friends.
Screenshot_20180522-043821.png

So I want to repeat it here again. I don't know how many people have been scammed so far. Please do not download this app.

IT IS BUILT TO STEAL YOUR STEEMIT LOGIN KEYS AND TRANSFER AWAY YOUR HARD EARNED STEEM/SBD.

If you have a Google account, click this link https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.steemit.dtubee to report that it's fake so Google can have it removed.

Always be vigilant, learn to never trust anything or anyone until they've earned their trust for there are lots of wolves out there to devour you.
3390518_S.jpg
No one is responsible for your security, not even Steemit or @ned, so protect yourself.
428549_S.jpg
And always be on the look out for apps like this one so you can report.


Images are creative commons from pixabay.

Sort:  

Thanks @lordjames. This is timely. Thanks for opening my eyes to common red flags to watch out for when downloading apps of similar nature. I never thought of this. I'm actually surprised that people would go this far to deceive others. Indeed trust has to be earned not given.

Always be vigilant, learn to never trust anything or anyone until they've earned their trust for there are lots of wolves out there to devour you.

And even when earned, don't ignore red flags. Maybe it might even be selectively honesty to lure you and earn their trust.

If I wanna steal 10 million bucks from you, I wont run away with the first 20 bucks I see. I'll likely use those small temptation to buy your trust while waiting patiently for the million bucks.

I'm not a scammer anywhere, I only think like one. But then, don't over trust me either.

I'm not a scammer anywhere, I only think like one. But then, don't over trust me either

like what?? LMAO. it begins from the thought. if you can imagine it, then you can become it. 😁😁. Thanks for letting me into your plans.

If you never try to think like they do, you will not recognize a red flag even if it's dangling as big as stallion balls.

Thank you so much sir @lordjames, people are using various tricky ways to defraud others of their hard earn money, I think this is one of the way.
Glad you spotted those red flag.

By exposing them like this, their actions would be limited.
I need to resteem this to join the campaign against scammers... Smile

Thank you once more.

Owk I think this is a very timely info. Heard about what happned to @surfamarly and I never knew such a thing could ever happen to anyone . I think it happens when you become so comfortable using something and I am happy because I will get to apply caution. Thanks for this bro.

Thanks for the info,
I remembered downloading the app to upload picture, even sef I've been thinking of doing it again. But not anymore since have gotten this information.

If you had tried login in with any of your keys even posting keys, you may consider reseting your password because they might have already gotten the key and are just waiting for your wallet to be a bit fat.

Okay, I would do just that..
I don't want stories that touches the heart..

Wow.... Thanks so much for this @lordjames
I've seen many people sending me various links on discord, but I've never clicked. Thanks for this info.

You can always share those links on steemit but be careful and sound the warning strong enough so that other members can take note.

We have to be cautious all the time. Because you never know how and who is going to steal your information. Spammers are everywhere.
Thanks for your valuable information.

A little mistake and they are ready to devour you like sheep.

Oh my God!!!😬😬😬
I didnt know the steemit app was a scam....that same person dm me last week but i didnt reply, i was given it a second thought:)
@lordjames i really really appreciate and thank you for this information...this is why i try to follow every post you share on your blog, the information there are important...as for @damarth whereabout am still making research:)
Thank you for sharing at this hour @lordjames this information is vital...RESTEEMED!!!

God bless you!!!

From I see there, 7 people have already downloaded the app. Thanks a lot bro, resteemed and hope everyone gets informed.

thanks @lordjames for giving this information. yes,i agree with you no one is secure on internet so we have to be careful in case of steemit
God bless you!

And every other thing we do both online and offline.

It's very evil its the perpetrator ..
Thanks to you @lordjames, who has told us all if not certain there will be a loss ..
Permission to share it ..

You don't need permission to resteem a post. It's your right and your choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86