Hurricane Harvey: category 3!!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2218.PNG

*** Original content bellow article ***

(CNN) The outer bands of Hurricane Harvey have begun swiping the Texas coast as 35 inches of rain and "catastrophic" storm-surge flooding is predicted following landfall late Friday or early Saturday, the National Hurricane Center said.

The combination of heavy rain, "life-threatening" storm surges, flooding and strong winds could leave wide swaths of South Texas "uninhabitable for weeks or months," the National Weather Service in Houston said. Such daunting language hasn't been seen by CNN's experts since Hurricane Katrina, which left more than 1,800 people dead in 2005.

Harvey, still a Category 2 hurricane, is on track to strengthen to Category 3, with winds of at least 111 mph by the time it makes landfall around Corpus Christi, forecasters said.

A hurricane warning is in effect for about 1.5 million people, with another 16 million under a tropical storm warning, the weather service said.

Residents were urged to evacuate, and a mass exodus from the coast had caused extensive traffic jams along the state's highways.

"Texas is about to have a very significant disaster," said Brock Long, director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Conditions are "expected to deteriorate through the day," the hurricane center said. "Preparations along the middle Texas coast should be rushed to completion this morning."

Source: CNN

This is why I coupon:

IMG_2219.PNG

While I was doing my shopping at Kroger for some fresh fruit and veggies last night, people were running around like crazy going from store to store looking for water.

Me, as a natural prepper and couponer had no worries. I have a stockpile that will last me and my family for at least 8 weeks.

IMG_2035.JPG

Toiletries and household supplies that will last us for years

IMG_2022.JPGIMG_2019.JPG
IMG_2113.JPG

And a food stockpile that is well stocked with canned and dry foods

IMG_2220.JPGIMG_2222.JPGIMG_2221.JPG

So I think we are well prepared... yes my stockpile includes plenty of batteries and of course something that you can't forget about:
image.jpg

Yes! We have plenty of ammunition and yes! It is necessary bc when shit hits the fan, people will do anything for food or water.

Are you prepared??

Sort:  

Congratulations! You've been resteemed by my Cat-Bot because you posted in one of the followed categories (#steemit)!

You also get a small upvote from the bot (I'd make it bigger, but with so many great posts in the category I'd be out of voting power in no time) to thank you for your contribution.

If you're interested in this category, you should consider following this bot to see what other posts it finds!

Since this is still in Beta mode, I'm afraid the unsubscribe is manual... so I may be a bit slow, but just reply to this post with UNSUBSCRIBE and I will (sadly) leave you and your future posts alone. (I really don't want to spam people, I promise)

However... if you want to HELP make this service better, you can upvote this comment and add to the power these bots provide... or even be awesome and make a transfer donation or a SP delegation!

Or... you can do nothing, and we will happily keep on resteeming and upvoting you every time you hit one of our categories!

Whatever you decide, thanks for steeming and keep on being awesome! This community needs a solid stream of great content like yours!

Just a suggestion you should put something at the top that says original content below the article. When I first opened it I was was surprised to see you doing copy paste but then I scrolled past the CNN article and saw all of your original work which made me happy again. People not familiar with you might not bother to look further down assuming it is all from CNN.

Anyway you look very prepared although I hope that is not the normal storage area for your rifle. :)

Thank you so much for your input. I will do that and yes, i do keep it on top of my closet shelf loaded and ready to go at all times. There is no way for my toddler to reach it the top of the shelf. I have a case with a lock but what's the case if it's gonna take me 5 minutes to get it in case of an emergency? No worries, I'm safe 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51