Selling Votes

in #steemit6 years ago

Recently a lot of people have been sending me SBD or Steem with links to their posts. At first I thought that is was kind of fun and I started voting for the links.

Very quickly my voting power went down and a virtual torrent of requests started coming in. Not wanting to disappoint anyone I tried at first to keep up with things but it became apparent that so much was coming in that there was no way that everybody would be happy if I voted for all of it. My voting power would go so low that no one would benefit from it.

I’m really not sure what a fair way to handle this is. Additionally I’m not sure if this is all that good of a thing to be doing for the Steemit platform as a whole. It feels a lot like self voting to me if I’m always just voting for people who send me SBD or Steem.

Contrary to what appears to be public perception, @lightsplasher is not chained to the keyboard like some programmed automaton. In fact @lightsplasher is prone to long periods of introspection when all things electronic are shunned or minimized, hence the long periods of time between postings. (Now you guys have got me talking about myself in the third person like @papa-pepper LOL. ;)

108Prostrations.jpg
Wood piece that is struck by a mallet, I took this picture when I did 108 prostrations – click for viewing full screen

Trying to refund all of your SBD when I know I can’t or don’t want to vote for your posts takes me a lot of time and is prone to error.

I actually really enjoy just looking at random content and voting for the posts that I like or of people that I have made some connection with. This isn’t always an easy thing to quantify. Sometimes I like butterflies and flower pictures and sometimes I don’t.

I can see many people are making some really good content and I like to be able to vote up as many as possible without having to feel an obligation to vote just for the people who have sent me SBD. I try to give back to people who have done things for me as much as I can but things can’t always be ‘fair’ in a way that trades equal value for equal value.

In short please stop sending me SBD with links to posts. I think this will be better for everyone. If anyone wants any amount refunded from amounts sent to me please let me know in the comments below or through wallet messages and I will gladly refund you.


Thanks for reading! Please let me know what you think. What are your thoughts on selling votes? Picture was taken by me with my Galaxy S7

Sort:  

First I dont pay any attention to those micro payments to get attention.
Second, I have never bought a vote. Its not something I personally want to do. However I have friends that buy votes and think its fine. Im still friends with them, but its just not for me!
My rule is I do what I enjoy doing. This is supposed to be fun. I have been on YouTube for years and learned this lesson early on. If you dont do what you enjoy, you will get burned out. It is your blog and your stake, do what you enjoy and dont worry about it :) Hope this helps a tiny bit.

It helps a lot, thank you for your comment. Some of us have to learn the hard way I guess, LOL.

I agree with @old-guy-photos. I Like to share what I love to do!

This is so incredible lord @lightsplasher
I will do if it can happen but if you are not willing or unwilling then I will not do it.
It's all up to you to master just how good it is..
Thank you sir

Thank you for your understanding.

I read your post, many people send Sbd and steem to you for votes, but the power of yours has decreased,I think everyone will understand after reading this post, Thanks for information.

Thank you. It is a hard thing for me to be fair about. It would rather all of you kept your SBD and I will try to vote for as many people as possible.

Once I see my profile and follow me then I will be very happy @lightsplasher

Incredible @lightsplasher
maybe they all want to like you masters if it is pleasent please sir, it's all there to you. Everyone would want the best in this steemit world and everyone want to help including you sir its intention to keep helping newcomers. my language is wrong.
Thank sir

I'd like to help as many newcomers as I can. I know it is very tough to get started.

I strongly agree with your opinion.
Good luck my friend.
Thanks you

I do not know what i have to say @lightsplasher. Its rarely and i never find it before. What do you say about tis @lightsplasher ????

SBD is hard for many people to earn at first. I would rather everyone kept theirs. This will help out the system because their votes will be worth more and the wealth will spread out to many more people.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

You are right @lightsplasher. Im agree with you

You are right @lightsplasher, i am agree what talked to me. Im my self hard enough in collect ing SBD

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Might be some of them looking for kindness of yours my friend. It must be wrong but sometimes wrong can turn into right.
But thats all yours to decide whether giving or not.
What can I say, sometimes it ok to break the rules

In a way we all make the rules. I will try to be kind to all that I can. It is a tough thing to figure out what is best.

wow beautiful post dear @lightsplasher
I #love your all post
and your wonderful photography dear
I #resteemed your all post dear

Thank you for your support. :)

welcome and thank so much dear @lightsplasher

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Thank you so much dear @rewardpoolrape
#love you dear
and @love you dear #lightsplasher

Hi @lightsplasher! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

I am glad that I never did that sending SBD thing to get a vote from people.

However, I understand how you feel.

It was okay and fun at first, but as time went by more people keep coming and did that to you and you weren't unable to handle or enjoy that.

Thanks for being honest and stand with your pride. Let's not make steemit as a vote bussiness. Let's socialize ☺️

Thank you much! I'm very glad that you understand. I think socialization and good content will bring out the best long term value for everyone.

Oh sorry my dear @lightsplasher actually i visit your wallet and i seen to your well people send sbd so i send you i don't know it i am sorry?????

No worries! Please don't feel sorry and thank you for all your support and gifts. It has just become hard for me to keep up with the large number of people that have sent me SBD.

Ok my dear @lightsplasher i am very fear for your post thanks for comment and thanks for your support i am very happy you support me?? Go ahead brother i never forget your venefiting????????

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99