Delegate. Delegate. Delegate. Delegating STEEM Power to @minnowbooster; my upvotes are diminshing as a result, by about a thirdsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

This one will be short, as I just performed this operation around two hours ago. Tomorrow I should have the initial metrics on how it's performing. Although, I'm not sure if they pay out "every 24 hours after user signed up", or if it's e.g. "midnight every night" -- so it might be in two days that I'll do a follow-up post.

Delegate (think of an INXS song)

I delegated 10,000 SP (which for some reason it turned into 10189.214 SP on the next page!), which took effect immediately; now I only have 15,237.308 SP of voting power (the full 25,399.853 SP in my account can be used for witness voting, I've read but don't know much about). So, my 100% upvote at 100% voting power was worth around $3.65; now, it's only worth $1.69 at 73.43% voting power (the current value), which I think converts to 100% at $2.30. That is 63% of $3.65, meaning I've lost a little over a third of my upvote strength.

Just wanted to let people know, in case you're wondering "He used to give $0.14, now I'm only getting $0.09, what gives?" I'm still giving the same 5% upvote :), just, I've delegated some power.

Question

That leads to a question: when you upvote others, do you generally do a certain percentage? Or do you try to achieve a certain dollar amount? The web interface doesn't tell you what the dollar amount will be beforehand, so the latter might involve upvoting, seeing what it did, reversing your upvote, and then upvoting more (or less) to try to hit the target dollar amount.

Myself, I generally give a 5% upvote to everyone who comments to me (apart from obvious bots, or negative comments), and 100% upvotes for close friends.

Upvote testing: got my first self-goat! :)

I'm also testing their upvoting process, which I'll document here. They have two voting types, normal and "stealth" but the latter isn't described anywhere, including in their intro post. So I'll just do a regular one. Current stats, from https://www.minnowbooster.net/:

Current Voting Power 61.46%
Current Vote Strength of Normal Votes: ≈ $1.844 per SBD
Current Vote Strength of Stealth Votes: ≈ $1.229 per SBD

So, if I spend 1 SBD, I should get 84.4% more back. Let's try that on my most recent post, about hitting the deer.. The process: from your Wallet page, send SBD to @minnowbooster, with the comment being the URL to the post to upvote. Let's test it: okay, sent that at 1:30:30 pm or so (Eastern time).

Note that I see two popups every time activity happens in my wallet. Is this a Steemit bug, or have I told it to accept notifications from multiple browsers or something?

The article currently has $2.06 worth of upvotes from 18 votes. Refresh and I see 19 votes, with $3.98 total. That's a $1.92 difference. But their comment (which I upvoted at 5%, currently the $0.09 mentioned above) only says it upvoted me by $1.58, so perhaps more votes came in during that time? I didn't record who had done those votes, only the total. Looking at https://steemd.com/@libertyteeth I see that @minnowbooster upvoted and commented three minutes after I had sent the SBD; and, I also got an upvote from @upgoat and @geneeverett after I had sent the 1 SBD, so the math discrepancy makes sense.

So it wasn't quite the 84.4% back, looks like only 58% -- but, it's still a better return than what I spent!

And, I see what the "stealth" option refers to -- the comment it left said "@libertyteeth, you got yourself a self-goat!" :) Apparently the "stealth" one doesn't indicate that I've done it, at the expense of a lower upvote (22.9% above, compared to 84.4% for non-stealth).

I'm still learning, hope this helps you!

INXS: Mediate!

The word "delegate" doesn't appear in the list of cards he's throwing in the industrial setting, but this song still came to mind. :)

Sort:  

Hey! What return are you getting from them for 10k delegating SP just I was going to delegate 5k and leave it for a few years

Sorry for late reply, I did some math on the past four day's returns and it looks like around 22% annually, if this continues at this rate. Did a post on it today:

https://steemit.com/life/@libertyteeth/delegating-to-minnowbooster-progress-so-far-after-four-days

Thanks for the response mate! Will check it out! That is around 2% per month then sort of!

Yes, much better than banks! I like your new avatar image, and just curated a little on your posts. Cheers!

Thanks liberty. . Will support back! 👍🔝

dude people should be happy you give.. honestly if you went down to 500SP I would t care. Generosity is generosity.

Thanks, I feel the same way. I don't go "chasing whales"; if I happen to bump into them on my posts, or while curating, it's a bonus. Someone upvoted one of my posts by around $70 (which dropped to $65 or so by the time payout happened, just a fluctuation of the STEEM price there), and also upvoted two comments (by others) on the same post by around $25 each! I thought that was really generous -- and followed the voter, but didn't communicate otherwise.

So, FYI: at 8:23 pm, I received 7.178 SBD from @minnowbooster. So that's for about 7 hours, which is how long ago I created this post. So that's around 1 SBD per hour, or, 24 SBD per day.

We'll see how this plays out over the next few days, whether this is accurate or not.

Cool I love INXS! - by the way they stole this video idea from Bob Dylan!
"Subterranean Homesick Blues"

Thanks for all the detailed info on @minnowbooster. Some vote followers come in when you purchase minnowbooster so that could be the discrepancy or possibly when the price changes the comment is not always updated quickly enough.

Haha neat, hadn't seen this before! There's a typo in there: "20 dollar bills" on the sign, but he sings "A man in the coonskin cap, in the pig pen Wants eleven dollar bills, you only got ten", then the next card was correctly "ten". :)

Thanks for sharing!

Yes, I noticed the 20. By the way, the dudes behind Dylan on the left (I'm pretty sure) are Allen Ginsburg and William Burroughs.

Neat! They look like hobos (which I just looked up but couldn't find an origin). I looked it up because it's similar to "homeless" -- but then in reading about it, found that they were traveling workers, not slouches!

Well that just changed my mental model. :)

The ability to delegate Steem power on the platform is a very cool aspect to me. It opens up a lot of opportunities for people to help others or help a larger cause and even invest in voting bots or other Steemit investment opportunities. I think it really adds to the overall uniqueness of the platform. I couldn't be more happy about a month in here. Super excited about to future. Good luck!

lol and how to bee your close friend :P aint have visa right now to come closer :P but yeah from heart i can :D

very good friend @libertyteeth
you have shown tremendous growth in the world of steemit and you are very useful to others

Actually I saw a couple more typos.

And the ending -- I used to watch MST3K (Mystery Science Theater 3000), and in one of the movies the character was saying something about a handle missing, and one of the robots (Crow, I think) yelled out, "The vandal stole the handle!" :) Cracked me up then and still does.

I also tried it, but I didn't get a more valueable upvote.... but cool that you support it with delegeted SP! So it can grow and be better.

just want to say i used many times minnowbooster and usually i got other numbers than you see in site, in stealh around 30 cents not 1$, but still its great for minnows to use minnowbooster:)

Interesting, thanks! How do you perform a "stealth vote"?

meaning is free bonus votes, like u receive 1$ from minnowbooster and 30cents from upgoat, sheep,anomaly trail what he got :)

Thanks -- but how does one request a "stealth vote"? I didn't see instructions for it anywhere in their intro post, or on their site.

its free you dont need to request, if you order upvote from minnowbooster upgoat and sheep will come and vote as bonus

I found the answer, FYI: add a capital "S" and a space before the URL to make it "stealth".

Then there's no upgoat or sheep, but the reward is also less. Enjoy!

I'm still learning too. I just upvote. I didn't realize you could assign a percentage. I thought it was based on your power meter. So I've learned something. Im still a minnow, but I have delegated a third of my steem power as well. I think this site works better when we work together to promote good contact while policing the abuse ourselves.

Hi, sorry for the late reply -- you can only change the percentage after you've obtained 500 STEEM Power. Before that, every upvote is a "100% upvote". After that, you get a slider so you can select the percentage.

I'd prefer if there was also a text box, as hitting the exact percentage is sometimes difficult. I'd also prefer if it showed you the dollar amount your upvote would be worth if you clicked it at that moment (one's upvote changes over time, but it should be very close to what happens when you click the upvote, because it should be using the same algorithm).

Additionally, if you use the eSteem phone app, it will allow you to change your upvote percentage, even before you've obtained 500 SP. However, when I tried to use it, I got an error -- I think because it was doing fractional percentages, which this desktop version doesn't allow (it goes from 1% to 100% in increments of 1%).

Oh -- and, you are correct, it is also based on your power meter. So, a 100% upvote when you have 100% voting power is the maximum you can reward someone.

Very cool that you're delegating! I agree, work together. One thing I could do more of is to try to "convert the enemy" rather than just downvoting and complaining. That Bernie jerk could be a future ally, like @sift666 now is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43