Credit Where Credit Is Due - Steemit Running Great Lately; More Info Extension Still Very Useful

in #steemit6 years ago

Stinc 1.png

Despite recent drama stemming from the Steem/EOS feud, Haejin blog, voting bot abuse (plus anything else I missed,) there is one critical area in which Steemit has improved since Steemfest a mere few months ago – site performance.

Those who were blogging in the month running up to, throughout, and after Steemfest will know that Steemit was often borderline unusable for anything more than viewing. Posting articles and comments would regularly be either rejected by the server, or simply eaten by the form and disappear into the ether. Many a pained author only realized after submission that posting a draft to publish cleared the auto-save as well. Normal operating procedure became to save articles separately in word document archives (or at least hold them in a separate tab as a duplicate) until submission could be confirmed.

Step9.png

An unpleasant entry from the archive.

Night mode, another long-awaited and relieving addition, came around at approximately the same time. I'm sure I'm not the only one expressing relief at that particular feature.

Another feature I lobbied strongly for (to the extent of writing and submitting the code to accomplish it), autocomplete in the wallet transfer field, has also been implemented which I am sure is helping to cut down on transfer mistakes and fraud.

The bottom line is I'm pleased with what I've been seeing recently from the Steemit website. Frankly, we are all lucky to get even basic security features in many cryptocurrencies, and even holding larger market cap ones can end up with you getting "Bitconnect'ed". Steem has rather good security options and a highly functional, and recently, reliable website. I often get bogged down in pointing out what isn't work, and it's a relief that Steemit is not currently one of those things.

One area that has seen huge improvement, but only thanks to the "Steemit More Info" Chrome extension, is the "Following" interface. It's now vastly easier to sort followers in order to remove them all from a central page, instead of having to load a page for each individual unfollow. There is also more data available for you to make choices with about who you want to remain following. This would be a great thing for Stinc to integrate in the future. Check out the "Steemit More Info" Chrome extension if you want this functionality now.

Stinc 2.png

I would still love to see a "filter resteem" button, though...along with more detailed values on votes on posts and comments in the drop-down box. I do not know of another way to see all votes on a post with many votes without the Steemit More Info Mod.

Get "Steemit More Info" here: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/steemit-more-info/dcbpmclnlapbkgkddhencielibcjogcf?hl=en-US

Try SteemFollower today and get rewarded for every vote!
See my explanation of SteemFollower here.

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 5000+ active user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Almost 80% of Steemians do not vote for witnesses, who secure the Steem blockchain! If you wish to make me your witness voting proxy, I will attempt to vote in Steem's best interest based on the information in my witness reports. You may set me as your proxy by clicking here and scrolling to the bottom of the Witness Voting page. Proxies are instantly revokable at any time, and witness voting does not use your voting power.

Proxy.png

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Copyright: Steemit, More Info Extension

Sort:  

I do have to say that since I am still new and only aware of how things may have been in the past because I heard or read about them (in other words, did not experience them firsthand), that it's easy, with all that is going on here, and with all the expectations of things future, to forget that Steemit is still in beta.

I suppose coming in nearly two years later doesn't help, since I've had a higher expectation of what should and shouldn't be. Like many of us here, I come from the outside social media world where things always mostly generally sometimes okay, mostly don't work the way you would like them, too, either. :)

I guess I'm saying I need to be a little more appreciative of where things are at relative to where they've been, and be a little more patient with what I hope will eventually be.

It's a good to remind oneself every so often that things could be a lot worse. Keeps things in perspective.

Having said that, this is certainly the longest beta period I've ever heard of!

I agree. Also, I've been wondering that myself about the beta. Now I'm wondering if we'll be out of beta when Velocity drops. If bringing people aboard quickly is the goal, I would hope Steemit could put it's best foot forward.

Great to see you posting again regularly, man I remember how messed up steemit was a while ago and I was really having my doubts about the platform.
I have to agree how great it is that it's running so smoothly now and the steem coin and SPD's (whats up with that?) have shown great strength.

(autocomplete in the wallet transfer field, has also been implemented which I am sure is helping to cut down on transfer mistakes and fraud.)

I love thet improvment! I think the bots are broken,they dont pay off as good as when SBD's were a dollar. Any advise on that other than the bot tracker app?

"I think the bots are broken,they dont pay off as good as when SBD's were a dollar. Any advise on that other than the bot tracker app?"

I think you're just seeing the result of heavy competition for them. I rarely get a bid in on a bot anymore that isn't negative ROI after accounting for curation. This is actually good in a way, as it makes it more difficult to use the bots for abuse, but the only way to make them regularly profitable now is write high enough quality content that the promotion pays for itself in upvotes from other users.

I agree Steemit is running pretty smooth nowadays and some of the UI improvements are nice.

But... I can't help but wonder why many features that add-ons offer aren't in Steemit itself yet. Like being able to see your voting power, or the upvote amounts, or access to a slider at lower SP amounts (500 SP is quite a lot nowadays).

I'm also curious what's going on with the 'Steemit Communities' development.. haven't heard much about it lately!

The answer to both is that everything that is not mission-critical for daily operation is back-burnered while the team finishes SMTs.

I hope it will be worth it!

I hope so too! Been wondering what's up with the SMT's too. Will be interesting to see how they affect things

You can view your complete history here, what you are asking for is all there.
https://steemworld.org/@ (put your username here)

I know, but I feel these features should be on Steemit itself instead of having to use 3rd party tools and software :)

I'm so glad I was this post. I did get the Steemit More Info extension a few weeks ago and I really love it. But I had no idea of the sort for followers. I am going to make time to play around with it now. I'm sure there is much more that I do not now.

Thanks so much for the tip and the reminder of the dark days of October. I had all kinds of tricks going to avoid losing posts. I'm so glad that is over and steemit works great for me now - pretty much always.

Happy to help! The followers sorting is a real lifesaver - that process is so labor intensive otherwise as to not be worth doing.

In eight months here I have never looked at my feed or my follower list. I visit people who make good comments on my posts and/or upvote me regularly. And then I use steemnow to find new posts of interest 1-2 times a day. I don't have time to do any more visiting than that.

I follow anyone I see who seems to be posting well or makes a good comment somewhere and then never look back. Somehow this way I am following over 3K and over 3K are following me back.

I think it is interesting that I have followed so few people since I make a habit of seeking the good ones on big posts. I will go through comments on a popular post and follow as many as I see that look good. I think I should be following many more after all of this time and effort. Where are the other people, I wonder?

Hey. Yup, night mode is a real savior for photographers like me (although I would ULTIMATELY prefer the ability to select from the basic color palette (like Twitter used to allow for profile pages) for EACH post, to coordinate the color scheme with a photo. Didn't realize that the auto-fill in the wallet was a new feature, but agree that it is GREAT, and appreciate you facilitating its implementation. If you could TRY to facilitate a basic ability to choose from all/some of the basic RGB colors that would be much valued by the creative types... https://www.rapidtables.com/web/color/RGB_Color.html

It is frustrating that "Night Mode" doesn't do a good job of remembering your preference if you use multiple tabs at once.

Ah yes. That's another issue. But I still think that having the ability to set RBG would be a MAJOR step forward as well...

I faced a lot of problem last month while publishing my post with the Transaction Error notification, but I see that's sorted now. I am sure there will be lot of enhancements coming up in future

I must have missed those issues. Glad it's sorted out now.

I agree with you all the way. These developments are both crucial for the survival of steem in this cutthroat crypto market and beneficial for steem users. Love to hear improvements in your next posts.
@lexiconical

I remember you advocating for the auto save message in the wallet. This feature just came in time when I started to give out payouts to lots of people for my contests.

Yes, Steemit is improving everyday. We will get there!

In the meantime we whenever something is not right I know some strong people will stand up to this! wink wink

"people will stand up to this! "

Not always a +ExpectedValue move, unfortunately.

excellent update and am more than glad in all the improvements too. i remember vividly how i lost my post, infact i was scared it vanished after taking forever to perfect the post, i went to steemchat to inquire why and was told the bitter truth! had to start investing and readin up other posts on same issue. but thank goodness the days of saving on word( now used to it) is over and many features as you pointed out are working well. Good one as always. keep it coming

Glad to see you stuck around despite the hassles from last year.

Sure.
Happy valentine 👌 and let's keep steeming hot

That true the little time I've been hear there have been a lot of improvements and new things for us to use

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01