Can Anybody Help?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

A few days ago I transferred $100SBD into Steem. It said that it would take a few days and it showed that the $100 is being converted. I've just looked now and seen that the conversion is not there anymore, but I also have 0 Steem in my account (instead of the $100 that should be there). Has anyone else experienced this before? Does it take 24 hours or something for the Steem to show up in my account, because if not $100 has seemingly just disappeared from my account...

Thanks in advance, I'm not very good with computers at the best of times and this is beginning to concern me

Sort:  

Aiiii you didnt convert though the currency market right? But just in you wallet?

You wont get the fancy $7 SBD rate most likely :((

I wrote a blog also earlier in the week about being fucked over by this

Yeah I got the $1 rate, and they then proceeded to buy $2 Steem coins with it. Good job I don't know how to get it out anyway. I've read countless blogs and just as many people tell me what to do, but it's like people are speaking to me in Swahili. I just don't get it... I suppose it is money and its not going anywhere, so I might as well just leave it as it is just numbers on a computer right now...

Currency market... fill in there the sbd.. and its on your accout immediately.
I had a blog saturday with 10 profit. 5 sbd and 5sp. Convert the 5 sbd with a x7 rate.. =35 sbd.. and steem to 1.75 so all of a sudden my 10 dollar blog is worth 50 bucks.. crazyness

But essential: go to the currency market in the right upper corner pull down screen

What, you mean the button that says 'Buy Steem'? And then just change the SBD to Steem like I did before? I still have over $100 SBD, but for obvious reasons I'm a bit hesitant to try something again in case it fucks up again

See, why can't other people explain it like this and not talk about algorithms, blockchains, and other confusing words until I'm lying in a corner rocking? I've resteemed your post you legend. Consider yourself known around my household as 'Lady Karinxxl'...

Hahahhaahahaha ooow djeeeezz!!

Bump. I am new too so this will help me understand things better

Look at your wallet. It clearly states that it is on conversion where your steem dollars are posted. Give it 3.5 days. It is the internal market. It is safe.

Is that what it says on your computer when you look at my wallet? It used to show that but it has disappeared on my computer. If you can see it though then it must be still converting, but for some reason not showing on my computer

Wait, it will appear soon. Same thing hapend to me last night. 😉

Good to know, I just had a feeling I'd visited the bank of South Park:

Hahahahaha... Nice! 🤣🤣🤣

I have no any idea about your problem

Thanks anyway :-)

It should take 3.5 days if done on internal market

Yeah that's what it said when I converted it, and it said that in brackets underneath, but it's not there anymore

Want me to take a snapshot?

When I look at you wallet, I see it.

Yes please. I mean I believe you, you obviously have no reason to lie; but it would be interesting to see what other people can see when they see my wallet.

Thank you. That's what used to show on my screen but it is not there anymore. Thanks for showing me :-)

I am on my iPad and I can’t copy/paste the picture here. I am making a post called answer to Lewis. See the pic there.

Convert is not the internal market.

Explain that please.

The conversion feature converts SBD at a rate of $1SBD instead of current market rate. Convert should only be used when SBD is trading below $1, if at all imho

Oh, man.... it's a direct conversion. I friend of mine did the same a few days ago. The rate of conversion will be 1SBD =1Steem.
The conversation will take around 3 days. Use the market next time.
https://steemit.com/market

It's faster and it's more fair. Now 1 Steem is around 0.2 SBD on the direct market.

So what does that mean? Does that mean I could have traded it for 5 times more if I traded it on this Steem market instead?

If so, that's an expensive lesson...

Yup, this is what means. Sorry :(
I'm not sure why this option even exists. Maybe is case if the Steem will be high and this would make SBD irrelevant. Don't know. Maybe it's written in the white paper.

Shit. I know very little about cryptocurrencies at the best of times. My mate told me to change it to Steem as that was going to go up. So I did. I didn't change it all in case I lost it. @nedspeaks says he can still see the conversion, which is good because that means I haven't lost the money entirely (I can't see it, but if other people can for whatever reason it means it is still there so I've no need to stress. Well, until the next time I try and figure this out...)

I can see it as well. It's strange that it doesn't appear to you.

You should NEVER use convert when SBD is at a premium, I did a post in this a day ago to help people out. You need to sell your SBD and buy Steem under the market function. Essentially you cost yourself quite a bit as the SBD will be valued at $1 and not the market rate. Sorry dude!!

I have a feeling I've massively fucked up, but I literally have no idea what you are talking about so I guess my ignorance is saving me here...

You could have sold your SBD for approximately $8 and then bought Steem. Using convert you sold your SBD for $1 and then bought Steem.

ALWAYS use the market feature when selling SBD and buying Steem when SBD is at a premium.

Good to know I guess, but I won't be doing this again...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78