Question About Tagging -- when to tag with a topic, when not to tag with a topic

in #steemit8 years ago

I received the comment "not #photography" on my post How to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse by the Sisters Grimm. 

I'd tagged it as photography because there was one artistic photograph in the post (the one of Rapunzel by  punziesshiftedworld). Obviously, the whole post is not about photography, though. So, does that comment mean I shouldn't tag it for photography if there is only one good/interesting photograph included in the post? I'd also tagged it as art because there are several pieces of art in it, too.  

In other words, how to tag, when to tag, and are there rules? Help a girl out!

Confused | by Guudmorning!

Sort:  

#photography is for posting photographs ... however ... I've posted some of my photos an hour ago and they got pushed down very fast by posts not containing any photos ... maybe you're right and I'm wrong ;D

ps. I'm just trying to minimize the number of posts like this: https://steemit.com/photography/@dicov/shoot-i-do-not-why-not-displayed-photo or
https://steemit.com/photography/@bithost99/a-song-of-ice-and-fire which have nothing to do with photography ... I hope you'll get my point ...

Don't be afraid to flag such posts if necessary.

I think it's a gray area. I see your point, especially with your posts in the below example. I'll give it more thought. In the meantime, I took the photography tag off my post, but left the art tag.

I think you should tag art, only if you make the art itself..I guess. Or photography if the whole post is about photography.

But that doesn't really work for curatorship. For example, a post about an artist, with links to their art, and examples, is a valuable thing to curate. So I'd expect to find it tagged under art. Someone doing a post about the Pre-Raphaelites and how they impacted their life, along with example pics, would be found under art, yes?

You are right. If you are making a post about art and put links in it it should be in the art category.Maybe it's not as black and white as we see it.

Tag the general idea of the post. A zombie makeup tutorial would fall under beauty or makeup.
Photography is more a collection of photographs.
The tags do not really have descriptions so it is a lil ambiguous. I personally dont think it is a big deal. Once I enjoy ur content, it's all good.

Well,everyone else seem to be pretty confused as well,when I click on a tag,the majority of the posts seem to be on a different topic.I want to read about basic income and I get travel blogs or whatever,lol. I actually quite like to read things by topic,but,alas,it is not to be.

Yeah that "tag-spamming" will get a huge problem soon when they will not fix it. Last days each of the top10 topics was full of unrelated content and introduction posts. I wrote today a post about it:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@hastla/topic-hijacking-or-tag-spamming-it-is-a-pain-steemit-need-an-update

Anyway awesome content you produce.... will follow you in future (as discovered you today) - Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47