Why do not we see Historians post on #Steemit? | #CliotheMuse

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Where are you_.png

How many Historians do you follow on #Steemit?

You have already know the historians supposed to be those researching and writing the history of our society. Our History, right? And we have been doing it pretty well. But what about the last history book that you have ever read. If you read one. Do you know who wrote it? Was he/she a historian? Probably not. I bet it was a journalist or someone but a historian.

And what does it mean?
It means that we, historians, are losing field.
That's right.

I know how hard it is to elaborate am academic research, or even a paper, either long or small. It takes time, months, years even, lots of reading and writing. Until we get it right. But who is going to read it? The academic pairs of ours? There's one odd thing in all of it. I have amazing professors at my university and even theirs papers are almost not read at all.

Design sem nome.png
Photo: pixabay.com

Again I ask you.
Why is that?

I've been studying a little bit of public history the last couple of months and I discovered an amazing power. We do CAN be an academic historian and at the same time reach for the people in a way they all will understand and enjoy it. When I say "understand" I'm not saying that not academic are not able to read a paper or something like that. What I mean is completely diferente then that.

I believe we can write in a different way, in a different pattern for not academic people. Without those exhaustive list of bibliographical references and an quotes from authors to prove erudition. Because if they want to know that, they will seek for our papers and theses. Right?

But most of the time, they want to get to know things about history, or even they want to go a little deep (but not so deep) on thinking about the critics they read on newspaper, or watch on television about a war, a financial crisis or a medieval theme. And we can provide that. We have the knowledge to write that even better then some journalists. But what do we need to do? We must learn to stop think we have to write only to the academic pairs of ours and start to write for everybody else. It does not mean we have to write easier, because people are not stupid. But we have to change a little how our mind works. That's it.

Design sem nome (1).png
Photo: pixabay.com

I have an important request for you!

It's a big favor. If you may help me so.


Please, I'd like you to tag me - @leodelara - all over the #steemit, in every post about history you can find. If it is about medieval history even better, because that's what my research is about.


What my goal is?

My wish to get together some historians, or people who what to write about history, in some kind of hashtag, if it does not have yet. If it does I'd like to join them. I know I'm new here on #Steemit, about 10 days or so. I'm still a Plankton III, as it showed up on my profile the other day. But I've seen the potential of it. And I believe it can work as some sort of laboratory for public history or something like that. For now the temporary tag is #CliotheMuse or #MusaClio in portuguese.

Well that's it for now. I hope you enjoy the reading and decide to help me.
Thank you so much.

barra clio chronos.png

The good historian is like the giant of the fairy tale. He knows that wherever he catches the scent of human flesh, there his quarry lies.
(Marc Bloch - 1886-1944)

I wish you all a great week.

Assinatura - Ingles.png

Sort:  

Good luck in your search for historians. Thanks for making a good content for us.

Thanks you guys for the warm welcoming!Logo-50.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LeodeLara from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article.
You received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis and wrote in the category of "history".

To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-4

Thank you so much for the upvote and for this comment. It means a lot. I really wish I can find more researchers on Steemit to interact to. I'm glad you found me through this post. I'm going to get in the Discord to talk to you guys better about join in. Because I'm still new on Steemit and I'm in the middle of writing my dissertation. But it is not an excuse not to post. Maybe for while I'm going to post in portuguese just to be easy for me. But as soon as possible I want to start posting in english too about history and especially in medieval history.

Thanks again for you upvote and comment. I hope to see you soon!Logo-50.png

Por mais história na blockchain!!!! Estou contigo :)


projeto #ptgram power

eeeh!!! Isso aí... Que todas as áreas estejam presentes na blockchain!!! S2
ˆ!ˆ
Obrigado por seu comentário!

Inundar de saberes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83