HF 19, the voting power and you! (especially for newbies)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We have done it! Hardfork 19 (HF 19)! But what does that mean, especially for new users?

What everyone cold see at first glance is that most posts have increased their payout by several magnitudes. The reason is (I guess) that old votes are counted as if they would have been done under the new 4x voting power. These votes are still valid though and should keep their $ if I am right.

But what is that voting power everyone is speaking about?


pic CC0

Your voting power can be described as your ability to give $ to posts you upvote.

For so-called "whales" with a lot of steem power - steem power or SP is the basis for your voting power - that means tens of dollar per upvote!
But if you are very new, you may not see an increase at all! Be busy, wrote good (or even better: great) articles, make good comments and upvote posts yourself, and you will get followers and upvoters, promise!

Voting power is not indefinite!


As you may have guessed you cannot go around just upvoting everything you see. Your voting power has a maximum.

Before HF 19 that maximum was equivalent to 40 upvotes per day. If you were a normal person and upvoting things you liked and that was all, you would likely never touch that upper limit, "wasting" a bit of your power to decide on the payments (other's votes just got a tiny bit more important).

After HF 19 the potential voting power you can use has increased by 4 times. That means your upper limit for voting is now 10 votes per day at full power.

Does that mean I cannot vote more then 10 times a day?

No, you can vote as often as you want. But your voting power will go down. You can see your current voting power for example at steemed. Just replace your user name with mine: https://steemd.com/@lennstar

Here is my voting power:

voting power.jpg

As you can see I have voted more then 10 times with full power in the last 24 hours, so my voting power is down to ~90%.

That means that my next vote will only give 90% of the maximum $ I could have given with full power. If I go on voting faster then it regenerates, the voting power will go down until an equilibrium is reached.

That means you do not really have to worry about the numbers of your votes. The system adjusts. It just means that when you vote 20 times, your maximum giveable $ per vote will be 50% as if you would vote 10 times a day.

Voting power slider


If you are new you will not have one. You need about 300 SP (some say 400 or even 500 SP) until you see it. It will appear magically every time you click on vote. It looks like this:

The slider allows you to manually adjust your voting power for each upvote. (That is why I talked about full voting power above.) Just go after your feeling - how useful was or how much did you enjoyed what you just read?

Steemers may now need to get used to use the slider or think more about where they place their vote. I would prefer the first ;)
For a great, long, elaborate post, take 100%. For an informative, but short one maybe only 20%.

For Botusers

You may want to set your votes to 1/4 of what they were before, that should lead to the same result as before the hardfork.

Resteem???

If you are new, you may have seen this word and not knowing what it means (Don't ask me how long it took me to figure it out). Re-steem is sharing - you place the post in your timeline as if you would have written it. Your followers see it like any post you wrote in their "home" tab and you see it in your personal area under blog.

Let's have a look at what you can find under each post:

postbar.jpg

From left to right: payout (author + curation), number of upvotes, number of comment, resteem button, time since post, name of poster, category (first tag).

Click on the resteem arrow to resteem, very simple.



I hope you now know more!

Let's use this new knowledge of yours to upvote and resteem this post! ;)

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Great information thanks. I like the way steemit has these hardforks to address the balance of power and tweak the system, in what seems like a very democratic way. If only this kind of thing would happen in the real world.

thanks a lot this sharing this article @lennstar
it seems everybody little confused about HF19 ~!
I just can give all new steemers the advise to take the time
reading articles like your BEFORE they start posting, commenting, etc

thank you for this great explanation. you are really clear. i learnt a lot. cheers. i am going to read other post you suggested also

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@siddartha/what-should-minnows-and-newbies-do-now-that-hf19-has-been-implemented-minnowsupport-project-whaleshares-whalepower-and-more

I really want to upvote you but i was depleted by my stupid trail which i am thinking of quiting.

I will get you tomorrow, this is a great post for right now. Resteemed. Check out my latest post if you have time, starting a new community :-D

thank you..will RS for my new followers :)
Even I can understand it much better now!

Happy to help!

If you found that post interesting you may want to look at this seconds younger post about how minnows can get more votes (bots, whale sharing).

Great analysis @lennstar. I'm a week old on Steemit and am learning tons from all the blogs on here. My 3 cent vote turned to 2 cents after 10 votes, then to 1 after another couple (didn't count). Going to https://steamdb.com/ and entering your name in the top right search field gave me a good insight into my SP and genreal profile activities. My SP is regenerating slowly... back up just over 50% now after my little experiment. Learning as I go.... Thanks for the post.

We live and learn... every day, every second.

Always be open to new things, confront your fears, and you will never stop growing!

Indeed. Thanks for the encouragement. When we stop learning, we stop living.

Well done, thank you. Everything a newbie needs to know about the update.

Nice to hear that I hit my goal! :D

Thank you for the information. I have one question - does vote power decrease when you upvote comments (not posts)?

The voting system - as far as I know - makes no distinction between posts and comments. So if you vote 100% on a comment it gets the same $ as a post you voted 100% on. I admit for minnows that may prevent you from voting on comments not after HF 19 as long as you don't have a slider. We will see and learn.

There was (or is) a discussion about giving comments an own $ pool, but I think that will not happen.

Thank you for your reply

can you please give the reason for decreasing reputation level? is that yesterday I have 34 and now only 9 ! what is the reputation actually matter?

Reputation matters. If it shrinks under 0 your posts get greyed out and people need to click an "I want to see" to read them.
The higher your reputation, the higher you can influence the reputation of others - I think it only works when you rep is higher then the targets.
It is a measure of trust on this platform.

Lowering reputation happens when someone flags you (for whatever reason).

Looking at your last post (which is hidden as I wrote above) you have 2 flags (if you click on the votes-popup you see + and - votes=flags).

2 users have flagged you, one of them is @blacklist-a a bot that "hunts" for plagiarism.
Cheetah is a bot looking for such copied content and announces it in the comments.

If you are of the opinion that you did not plagiarize, you can go to the chats. I don't know the exact details, but here might be good start https://steemit.chat/channel/steemcleaners-public

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64789.68
ETH 3498.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40