You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Managing Expectations Can Grow the STEEM Ecosystem

in #steemit7 years ago

Luke, what do you think of hiding flags? I've stopped flagging accounts (and posts) since the last batch I did...I got harassed by a couple of them.

My current struggle is cleaning up my feed....I guess it's going to be a struggle for awhile, as I wouldn't be able to mute that many accounts at once (and at the rate they are being created!)

Sort:  

What do you mean by hiding flags?

I would suggest not stopping the flags. If we don't stand up against bad behavior to protect this community (even if we get harassed), then we will all lose out. For more on that, see Flagging. Someone has to do it. If you think your downvote is justified, the downvote and leave a comment explaining why. I do that in the comments of my posts, and it works fairly well.

As for dealing with harassment, NVC can help.

Whoops! I mean hiding the 'flagger'.

Ah, that makes sense. The problem there is flagging abuse. Some people flag because they simply don't like the author, not because they have a rational reason for the flag. That type of abuse happens and leads to flag wars and causes some users to leave Steemit. If we don't have visibility on who is doing the flagging, then we can't as a community communicate our intentions and stand against those who are being abusive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50