W̲h̲y̲ ̲I̲t̲ ̲I̲s̲ ̲I̲m̲p̲o̲r̲t̲a̲n̲t̲ ̲T̲o̲ ̲W̲a̲r̲m̲ ̲W̲e̲l̲c̲o̲m̲e̲ ̲N̲e̲w̲ ̲U̲s̲e̲r̲s̲ ̲O̲n̲ ̲S̲t̲e̲e̲m̲i̲t̲

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We have all been to that situation: We are joining a new website and we know actually nothing about it at the beginning. Some of us may have signed-up on Steemit.com because of the rewards, and some us us joined Steemit because of the awesome community.

I see so many new post under the "intoduce yourself" category, as Steemit is a growing platform which is currently trending everywhere on Earth. Those new people who post under the "intoduce yourself" category are new to this platfrom, they know nothing about it and they really don't know how it works, unlike us. We are very familiar with how Steemit works.

Actually, it was very complicated to me to understand what the hell is Steem Power, Reputation on Steemit, and the main cryptocurrency, Steem. You may think that it's easy to understand what it is all about, but for new users, it may be really difficault to understand how this platform works.


Image Credits

So, what can we do about it?


We can be more useful than you think for those new registered users. When they post their introduction post, we should all be there for them. It is really important that they won't feel alone here. When we welcome those users warmly, especially users who have a high reputation score, it gives the new Steemers a feeling that they are wanted and welcomed to the family of Steemit. The new users will feel like they can ask questions everyone and they will feel more connected to everyone on this platform

I use to welcome warmly many new Steemians by the way.


So, what will you get from welcoming new Steemians?

It is actually more beneficial to you than it's beneficial to new Steemians. 

When we welcome a new Steemer, it makes him feel impressed of your kindness, and he will probably visit your profile page, and follow you. This method can be really useful to gain new followers on Steemit. You may probably be thinking now: So what does it help me if they have only ~70 SP? Will they help me receive a higher payouts for my posts?


Well, the answer is very simple: At the beginning, they won't help you a lot to get a higher payout for your post. However, you have to remember that every Steemian on Steemit wants to become a whale. It means that every user here wants to have a lot of SP, Steem, and Reputation. Those "Unworthy" new Steemians may not increase your payout at the beginning, but after a few monthes, they may be some of your MOST IMPORTANT FOLLOWERS. They will remember your warm welcome from the beginning, so they will probably be your loyal followers.

In addition, those new Steemains help you a lot by upvoting many of your posts! WHY? 

Because they don't follow many people usually, just a few. So there is a high chance that they will see many of your posts and upvote it. This will help you to gain Reputation more quickly than you think and you will level up faster!


So what should you do now?



Simply go to the INTRODUCE YOURSELF category, and start welcoming new users. This will help the community to become much better. Don't let those new Steemains feel like they are here alone!

I'm shouting out some awesome Steemians who use to welcome warmly many new Steemians, keep up the good work!


 @robrigo   @jerry12  @gringalicious 

 @igster   @gtg 

 @kotturinn  @daveks 

 @dragon40   @lukestokes 

 @etcmike  @drprepper 

 


 

Did you enjoy reading my post? Don't forget to upvote, follow, and resteem! Follow me now for future posts! @lazariko12





Sort:  

Ok so can we start to defend the #introduceyourself tag then? I'll go there and browse and see that half the stuff there isn't new people introducing themselves.

This tag gets abused frequently (like most tags).

  • Watch out for scammer pretending to be someone else.

Thanks for calling attention to this @neoxian. This is an incredibly important tag to SteemIt, as it helps us identify new people. PLEASE DO NOT USE IT if you're not introducing yourself. It makes it even more hard to filter. I don't flag people, but I have considered doing so if this tag is abused because it drowns out actual new people. This hurts SteemIt!

I agree with it, @steemquestions!

Good point, @neoxian. I used this tag as I really think it's important for this post because it's actually about this category. However, I see many posts which are not related to that and their authors use the #intoduceyourself tag.
You are so right!

errm @neoxian, can i use introduceyourself the second time once my friend @oluwoleolaide that dragged me here shows me how to do an introduction properly for steemit?.....he told me to navigate all through first, i just thought i should explain the reason for my username.

Welcome everyone with wide opened arm :-)

Yeah, this is really important!

Thank you so much for your great support, @glowbeauty!

Welcome! It was a useful article :)

Great post @lazariko12, I think this is a very important habit to develop. Each time I log I try to head over to one of these tags and spend a few minutes welcoming new people. I am finding some very interesting people to follow.

Yeah. Good point, @eroch. In addition to find followers to upvote your posts, you discover some awesome new profiles on the way :)
Thanks for your comment!

I did enjoyed reading thus upvoted.Cheers!!

I missed my warm welcome! Just kidding, I joined yesterday and I totally agree with what you wrote. Personally, I had to follow some youtube guides to understand everything better, but it is still hard to be user-friendly for targets like my mother could be! :D

LOL, what do you mean, @tizswa? :D

I meant, the structure of Steemit and how it works it's not so intuitive from the first usage. I'm a web developer and I use a lot of different social networks, but even me, I needed to watch some tutorials.
If the target of this social is to include every possible kind of user, like for example my mother could be (she uses already FB without any kind of problems), it still has to become easier to understand, otherwise could be a problem for the future..

Yeah... I agree with you. It really needs to be easier and more friendly to use.

Have you guys seen https://busy.org yet? It's built on the Steem Blockchain, has the same content of Steemit but with a really clean user interface.

Yeah. I saw it. I have been using this website for a long time. Even though I still like Steemit more than it. Thanks for commenting, @stev0lution!

Hi I am new yesterday, but I agree Steemit is not very user friendly to us older non tech people, I am still trying to work it all out

As a relative newcomer here I make it my mission to visit the new tab and seek out #introduceyourself posts by newbies. I have also started sending a small tip to their wallet. It's not much but they will remember me...I hope

That is an awesome way to engage with new Steemians, @gmuxx!

Thank you for posting this . I started a few days ago. and a lot of people has made me feel welcome and that meant a lot to me . :)

This is awesome! Exactly the way it needs to be ^^
Thanks for commenting, you are awesome, @wasterngurl!

your welcome , more so Thank you @lazariko12 :)

thanks a lot for sharing, i think i have to start welcoming newbies to steemit as well

Yeah. I really encourage you to do so. It will help this community and it will help you to grow as well!

thanks for sharing....

my second day on this platform and I love it!

You have a great reputation score for your second day on Steemit, @log1c ;)
Keep up the awesome work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54