Why I love steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Why I love steemit


This is not the thousandandfirst posting about the enormous potential of steemit. And this is not going to be a how-to-be-successful guide for this wonderful invention. Most of us know the opportunities of this unique social ecosystem. But tonight I got something like a little "enlightenment" and I just wanna share some thoughts with you.


After a hard working day at the university I came home and felt a bit empty. Actually I was too tired to cook for dinner and my head was full of stuff that needs to be done until yesterday... you (probably) know what I mean. Good time to go directly to bed. But there are days like this, that shouldn't end just like an exhausted hamster falling down after 1 million rounds in the running wheel. My brain needed some distraction, but not that sort of what's on tv. Maybe I needed some "soul food"...


Barefoot in nature, collecting delicate beauties.
Image Source


So, I came to steemit tonight and looked what’s new on my home-page. And I discovered for myself: beside providing own content, I am enjoying my time on this website more than on any other website. I am surfing here, clicking through the postings of others and spend my time selecting topics that attracts my attention. I didn’t even know that I am such a “consumer” of good photography for example. Steemit shows me amazing people and their crazy talents. I just have to click on a #-tag and a new microcosmos is unfolding in front of me.

On Steemit I can switch to “observer mode”. I can post, upvote, resteem, follow - or not. There are no “recommandations” who should be in my friendslist, because I allowed somebody in one of those 1000 terms & conditions to search my private adressbook. Steemit is discrete. It is offering me nothing but pure content. It is silent and not intrusive. Full freedom is correlating here with full self-responsability. What’s the difference to FB? FB is the observer! FB is…nah, let’s forget this.

Yes, there is good and bad content here. But what I find boring is maybe funny as hell for someone else. I have always the decision: I can follow and unfollow without stress. I can waste my votingpower on flagging useless postings or spend it wisely on people's content that deserve it. And when my votingpower goes down, this intelligent system “forces” me to stop just clicking and start engaging more by writing comments. When I can’t vote any longer and I have the urge to show my appreciation, I have to say “thank you”. Isn’t that genius? ;)

I admit: I was wrong

Recently I wrote a critical post about the reward system of steemit. This was in the beginning of my experience here. I was still influenced by the common known difficulties of earning money for something. Steemit isn't about money - at least not for me. I just don't even know if I will ever be able to buy a sandwich from my exchanged SBD ...xD. But this isn't also about altruism. Such thinking I would call naive. I am absolutely honest about my feelings, when I receive 0,001 $ - I am feeling like in an amusement park. Hey, LEVEL UP! ;) Steemit feels like gaming and I am aware of that. But the difference is: I don't waste my time in virtual fights (although this can be entertaining sometimes too ;) ).

The highest value

The highest value of steemit is: spending part of your lifetime with great satisfaction. It's not like on FB where the content is filtered by my google searches that I did 10 minutes before, because FB "thinks" I am not intelligent enough and need some help. I am completely independent here.
On steemit I get a different perception of the value of money. Earning money is nothing to be ashamed of or to be greedy about. It's life energy exchanged by people and made visible in form of numbers.

Life is short. It can be over in a second. "Time is money" they say. No, time is more than just that. It is even more than the highest rated cryptocurrency in the world. Time is incorruptable. The clock is ticking merciless for everybody in the world – no matter how rich or poor.
So I should stay wise and give away this most precious "currency" to people and things that I love, that keep me growing and that push me forward.


"The love that you withhold is the pain that you carry" (by unknown)
Image Source

In the end: what is it all about?

This moment bears the perfect chance to recall our innocent desire for positive vibes. Thank you steemians. For your creativity, for your courage to try something new instead of bashing the old system. Steemit is a model for the future, a blueprint for countless new ideas to come based on blockchain technology.

Steemit may have a UI design of what we remember some years ago. But it provides a ready-to-use environment for us which we can finish in the "do-it-yourself" style. Its just like a house without any furniture. I decide how I decorate, how I wanna build it up, in which direction I open my windows. I won't complain about "user experience" with that funny markup editor. I would even write in plaintext without any markup, just to pour my thoughts into this world. You read it now. Congratulations. And thank you for your emotional engangement. When you read until here, you proved to be a deeply sensitive human being. But my feeling of thankfulness is stored forever in the blockchain now - no matter what.

--- **Thank you :) ** ---

Sort:  

I love your post so much I am including it in upvotable 35 along with at tip! I found your post because @vj1309 recommended it in upvotable 34

Thank you sooo much @jerrybanfield! 😇

Loading...

lovely post! thank you ;-)

I interrupted my no upvote phase for you and gave you my thubs up, but now I'm gooing to sleep again. My chrome browser plugin says that I have to stay idle two more days to regain 100%.

How can I manage this without the distraction on steemit? Can I go back to my life without steemit, which was just about two weeks ago btw...? Well I could use my energy to create more good content here on steemit. :D

But if I really continue my upvote break, what will I do in seven days, when I don't get any curation rewards at all? What will I do without gaining 0.001 $. It's really ridiculous how happy I am about all this tiny tiny tiniest rewards I have gained here. (Like you also wrote in your article.)

0.01 EUR on the street? "Little daughter here is money for you! Pick it up!" But I would not bow down to pick it up. Here on steemit I invest 15 minutes for comments or post that will not even be worth this penny.

You have captured my own thoughts so well here! I've upvoted & followed you.

I'd also like to invite you to visit the Steem #promptparty some good friends and I recently started. The prompt this week is about time and it seems like you have a lot to say about the subject :).

This is a very nice blog and I really enjoy your style of writing , it has the scent of sweetness like nectar on a late evening breeze.

upvoted. see I am a man of my word. lol @steveblack

This post has received a 6.50 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @laylahsophia.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69