I am powering down but I am not leaving steemit.

in #steemit8 years ago

I imagine I am not alone in my current position.

The simple fact is, I need the $1200 my account is worth. Badly. It is actually perfect timing and will make it so I can pay rent, upgrade my laptop, and focus on my next two adult coloring books. However, I have not lost faith in the steemit platform. And even if I were just blogging and posting my art for the sake of reaching out to a community that'd be fine. So, after my power down is complete I will continue steeming from the ground up.

It isn't the easiest decision to make as I enjoyed having at least a bit over 1k as my account value.

But it simply too perfectly timed of a boost for my professional endeavors . Since becoming chronically ill a year ago (which actually my health is improving since quitting traditional work/reducing stress) I decided to become an artist full-time and have thrown myself ambitiously at many projects. My momentum is at an all-time high but my equipment was out-of-date and ramshackle. I just raised money from fans to replace the thinkpad I was using as a drawing tablet that had such little memory it froze constantly when trying to make art in GIMP and now, with this steemit money, I will be able to hopefully upgrade my laptop. (If you know of any good laptops for under $500 let me know, I need to be able to run adobe suite). Oh yeah, and I will be switching from GIMP to Photoshop and other adobe programs using my patreon money. Things are looking up!

And I am forever thankful to steemit for playing a part in making my transition both geographically and professionally much, much smoother.

images drawn by me for my steemit illustrated love story

Find me elsewhere on the web:

Facebook: facebook.com/theeLauraLemons
Facebook Artist Page: https://www.facebook.com/LauraLemonsArt/?fref=ts
Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/lauralemonsart?ref=hdr_shop_menu
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/lauralemons
Steam Name:Fullofbooks

Sort:  

i havent seen anything wrong with your deeds and like you said you arent the only one. You will definitely be back strong. you have to take care of yourself and develop your profession, thus yourself to come back strong. i have questions though, when you say the entire worth of you account is around 1k, how do you get all the cash. do you sell your account, how does that work. i didnt know estimated value of account as seen under wallet means much, i would normally think the only things to look at is steem and steem power and steem dollar?

The account value is a rough estimate of how much money you would get if you converted all your Steem / Steem Power / Steem Dollars back into USD at the prevailing exchange rates. I think the estimate is based on an average of Steem prices from the last several days.

When you power down, you are converting Steem Power (which is basically locked to your account and not transferable) back into Steem. This process takes some time as you are only allowed to convert a set percentage per week. Once you have all your Steem, a typical course of action is to transfer it to some exchange service outside of Steemit which can then convert it into USD and deposit it into your bank account.

hmmm, thank you, i am learning a whole lot in a short time, thank you. i see the estimated value really fluctuating, like days ago, i was getting close to like 130 usd estimated value but currently, it dropped to 114 usd. did steem price drop really drastically recently?

Yes, Steem price has fallen quite a bit in the last several days. Check this site out for a nice price graph: https://poloniex.com/exchange#btc_steem

It shows the price in terms of Bitcoin, not USD, but a USD chart would be somewhat similar so at least you can get an overall impression of the movement from this (I'm a cryptocurrency investor so I think almost exclusively in terms of how much Bitcoin something is worth).

are you findable on steemit.chat?

Yes, I'm on there under the same username.

I am powering down which now only takes 13 weeks after the hardfork so my account value will be paid out to me via transferring with blocktrades. I am definitely not selling my account. :) I will still be actively blogging, just cashing in on my steem and converting it to bitcoin.

i have questions about this, some more. thank you for helping me understand. so powering down will give you the estimated value of your account. how do you convert your steem to bitcoin. me for instance, do i already have a bit coin wallet. when i check portions of my account, i see a bitcoin address, what can that be used for?

I use blocktrades to convert my steem to bitcoin. You can go to blocktrades.us to do that, select to convert steem to bitcoin and itll ask for that bitcoin wallet address then itll give you a memo to use on the transfer page on steemit to transfer it to the blocktrades acct, you send them steem and they send you bitcoin.

I think we need to stop the idea that simply because one is powering down that they don't like or are leaving steemit. I've been in power down mode before, and it was never my intention to leave. So times you just need cash.

I agree. I have never intended on leaving steemit. Some folks are poor and need the quick buck even if they know it'd be more lucrative to invest. :>

Good luck with your endeavors, hope it works out for you!

While I understand that some people like to justify power downs to their followers in the interest of transparency, I don't think you should necessarily feel like you have to do that. There's no shame in powering down. If nobody powered down, nobody would ever actually realize any profits from the platform! It's all just numbers on a web page until then. So I view powering down as a natural part of using the platform, and not something that should be discouraged in any way. If you need the money for living expenses or whatnot, then by all means go for it and don't feel guilty!

I really just wanted people to know I wasn't planning to actually leave steemit and would still be around after the power down as many people power down because they want out. :)

Thank you! ^_^

Isn't it great you had it to use as a back-up. :)

It really is! I hadn't factored it in at all and it was such a pleasant surprise. Now I can stress-free bang out a few more books! :D This combined with replacing my drawing tablet just really makes me happy. ^_^

Sounds like a win to me. :)

Sounds like a win to me too. ^_^

Hey, I wish you the best of luck with your future projects and I am glad you are doing better... do keep posting and I will keep voting you up!

Thank you. I am indeed doing much better lately. :) And I will keep posting. ^_^

That's where I'm at, I'm so broke coming out of school but I'm just holding on as long as I can. I too have also considered a power down to help pay bills so I can totally dig where you're coming from. If I do pull out I'll be throwing real money steems way in the future when I'm back working.

Good luck I hope it all works out and we can always help build your account back up too.

Thanks and yes, if I become stable and not so desperate and scrounging month to month I would certainly invest in steemit and will invest with my time and steem in the future. I plan to build my account back up and not power down again hopefully for a long, long time after this time. But, can't say no to replacing this laptop that I am scared will fuck up at any moment causing me to have 0 income. O_O

Good luck with you too and I hope you run into some wealth yourself. Good luck on completing school though! ^_^ It'll pay off for sure.

Hey no worries totally do what you gotta do, I've followed you for the last few months since the beginning, you put out some awesome intriguing content so by all means I'll support you till the end :-).

As for me, I'm gonna be fine I have an excellent career and live in Alberta, I'm merely biding my time until I work again and then I'm back to rolling in six figures. Steem will be getting a solid boost from myself in the upcoming year. I love creating and giving out money so the more I can create and direct the more I will invest to make that goal happen.

Steem/most cryptos > legal tender any day :-)

Yeah if I were in an awesome career NO WAY I would pull out money right now. And thank you, I actually intend to get back to blogging more regularly. Took a bit of a break while working on my books but I am enjoying being back. ^_^

I am glad steemit got me into learning about crypto, still a newb but enjoying the new learning experience. :)

Please don't hurt yourself in a couple months when the price is $1 / steem.

I won't, it's a bit irrelevant considering I desperately need money right now. I know staying in would be lucrative but steemit isn't where all my eggs are right now and I need the boost.

I understand, selling just before busy.org launch is a bit silly though when you could sell your other eggs no? That's not the choice I would make anyway. To each their own i guess

Sell my other eggs? No I have no other eggs to sell. I have a business I am building. Everyone's life and resources and bills are wildly different so what you would do doesn't really matter to me. I was letting my followers know I am staying on steemit not trying to justify my actions. :>

Answering here due to post limitation.

So I guess the logic is I need to pay rent and eat RIGHT NOW. :)
Financially, I have no eggs, which is why I am pulling out

I understand better now. I think if the situation is pretty urgent you will certainely not regret selling now, hopefully you will get the money in time.

Yeah, I didnt really want to go into deets on the main post about just how urgent the situation is but it is indeed urgent. The relief I felt when realizing I could now get this money in 13 weeks was HUGE. A lot of the stuff I work on to make it slows down around holidays so it's been extra hard.

Glad I cleared things up. :) I hope to be around on steemit for a long, long time so hopefully I can still invest at a smart time in the future when another change happens and I am less in need.

I know staying in would be lucrative but steemit isn't where all my eggs are

To me this sentence implies that you also have money saved elsewhere, if not what does it mean? I could have misinterpreted it who knows..

And yeah as you said you can do what the heck you want with your damn money, just trying to understand the logic.

I meant it as I wasn't putting all my expectations/work into the steemit basket. Financially, I have no eggs, which is why I am pulling out. (er pulling out my money, but not leaving :) ) Like, as in, I have been short on my rent and unable to buy groceries poor so I literally need this money or, trust me, I would stay in. :> I may have used the "eggs in a basket" saying wrong.

So I guess the logic is I need to pay rent and eat RIGHT NOW. :) I can understand the confusion as it is a silly time to pull out for most people but I was seriously anxious about how to make my rent the next few months. I am slowly building up my residual income with publishing books but I don't yet have enough books out to live on so things have been rough. I am chronically ill and unable to work a standard job. For me, powering down right now is a blessing.

I literally need this money. I am struggling. If I didn't I would stay in.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.78 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35