What Steemit means to me.

in #steemit7 years ago

What Steemit means to me

It is with an open-mind
and good intention
that I learn of things
that I fear to mention

Most of society
Just can’t understand
They won’t believe anything
Unless they have seen it first hand

But by first hand they’re saying
Heard from media - mainstream
The most corrupt in the world
Yet we are all taught to believe

So they buy all their stories
And believe they’re all true
Ordinary people,
Like me and like you

Others have knowledge
Who are not on the TV
But the platforms they use
To allow others to see

Get filtered, posts deleted
Speaking truth becomes crime
Corruption finds conquest
Our prosperity declines

This power is centralized
So even if we’re aware
We could only choose to accept
That this world is unfair

But technology has advanced!
And now crypto has landed
This blockchain phenomenon
The worlds now been handed

It can take all the power,
Domination and greed
Away from moral perversion
And watch good people succeed

To a safer existence
To a better place
Watch the world work together
Each stating their case

With creations like Steemit
We now all have a chance
To release our productions
Watch our own lives advance

Time, passion and effort
Is what Steemit requires
People free to express
Their work, thoughts and desires

Using upvotes and comments
With frown or with smile
Make the most of this platform
I think it’ll be a here for a while.

  • Laura Bean July 2017

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

Sort:  

@laurabean,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I really enjoyed this Poem! I'd love to share it with the @ocd team, Please reply if that is ok! Thanks and keep up the good work!

Yes that's absolutely fine, I feel honoured, thank you. I will take a look at the project.

That's awesome, I'll let you know if your post makes it to our daily compilation! Thanks!

Nice poetry. For me it's a better way to get connected as well as enhance the learning in so many topics.

Thank you. I agree, a much fresher approach to social media.

Great poem. I like the excitement that is evident throughout. The blockchain is certainly changing the game. What a time to be alive. Good write.


If you like this, check out some of my other stuff.

The Web
Progress
A Strange Kinship

Thanks @moeknows - I shall take a look. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63974.07
ETH 3426.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54