100 days of Steemit – Invest in friends, not followers!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been waiting patiently for this day – celebrating 100 days here on Steemit and getting to say just how happy I am to be part of this community. And, yes, I no longer feel like a newbie! With 1100 posts and comments I feel like I've earned my right to be here.
21733776_1627137914017067_608403483_o.jpg
Inception - home within home

So far, my journey here has been the exact opposite of my experience on Facebook, where I had to unfriend people I actually knew because I couldn't stand their poisoning my day with stupid things. Here, on Steemit, I've been lucky to find people I can relate to, people whose ideas and values I share, people who have something to say.
And this brings me to the what I wanted to share, especially with those who are new here:

Try to make friends, not simple followers

friends.jpg
Take a minute to think about your real life. Who are your friends? What brought you together? You maybe like the same things, have the same hobbies, love to watch movies together, listen to the same music.

Do the same thing here on Steemit!

Find people you can really talk to, subjects on which you have something to say.
As I was writing this I checked the Hot posts and found one about vegan breakfast recipes. Should I try to befriend the guy who wrote it? No, I don't care about breakfast, vegan or otherwise. I've got nothing to say on the subject, so I scroll down to find something that I can talk about.
True fact: It took me almost three months to realize I was following a Chinese blog! God knows why I followed it since I don't know Chinese. Mistakes of youth!

Steemians are not dumb!

One of the worst mistakes you can make while starting out is to assume people are stupid and you can easily get a few cents with a quick comment. Sure, it might work once or twice. Problem is people here sometimes check, look up all your comments and they'll know if you're spamming.
I wrote a post yesterday about the possible assassination of Donald Trump and some new member commented 'this is great news'. No, moron, that is bad news! Older Steemians would flag such stupid comment instantly. (Look up what flagging does to your reputation.)

Steemians are humans, too!

When you read a post, try to ignore the name of the author, the reputation or SP. Beyond all these, the authors here are real people! They write about things they care about, things that bother them, things that are on their minds. Listen to what they have to say and try to answer like you would in a real life conversation. Offer advice, bring your own point of view on the topic at hand, show some sympathy if that's what is needed. Above all, be genuine, be true.

Sometimes I stumble upon dialogues between first generation Steemians and they talk like old friends. Reading each other blogs they know who they are, where they live, what their worries are.
friends-2019068_960_720.jpg
They're FRIENDS.
If we take time to know each other, next year we can be just like them. No, we won't become whales, not next year and probably never. But we will become stronger and the new users will look at us with respect. (If by any chance you're a whale reading this please don't laugh, minnows are allowed to dream, too.)

Upvotes are not Likes

If you're coming here straight from Facebook and Twitter, keep in mind Upvotes are precious and not unlimited, as the SP drains easily. If you post crap, don't expect upvotes. People might laugh at the meme you just posted, but will keep that upvote for someone who actually put some effort in their post. A friend of mine, @giuatt07, posted yesterday a drawing that took 4 hours of work!! So, no, some quick copy/paste won't earn you much money or respect.
Steemit is full of smart people who put a lot of work and research in their posts, if you're not ready to sweat it you don't have a chance.

Sleep on it

If you've had a bad day and your hard work was ignored, don't, under any circumstances, vent your disappointment in a rambling post. Specifically not in a ranting 'I accuse' post. If you cannot stand the pressure and the competition, you can always leave. That's about all the answer you will get.
If you absolutely must, whine to your friends. If they're minnows like us, they'll understand and offer sympathy.
Best of all, turn your computer off, take the dog for a walk, get drunk, get laid, go home, sleep it off. And don't forget about the dog!

Thanks for reading

rebecca-516397.gif

Images: Pixabay

Sort:  

Yes! And i get how the system of upvotes is made and why it is made this way....i still sometimes dislike it. :) I can honestly say: there was noone on FB i actually followed, but here there is so much great stuff it is hard to sprinkle that voting power...sometimes i feel like jesus dividing the fish. :D

If you have trouble with the fish, maybe you should consider turning water into wine...I wouldn't mind :)

Congratulations on your 100 days how did you work that out???

Thanks. Check it out on https://steemd.com. Create an account and you can see everthing that's happening.

Nice post. I'm pretty new trying to start over after the art community website I'd been building my following and friends on went defunct =( sucks starting over not knowing anyone

Well, there are plenty of artists here and a lot of contests. Good luck.

Rebecca, I wish I could've said this as well as you did in this post. I resteemed it I liked it so much. Follow what you like, talk to people you get and who get you, and enjoy a chance to share what you create and have to say, simple as that. Best post I've read on this subject.

Thanks for the resteem. And, yes, on Facebook you need to be friends with anyone you've ever met, then you discover many of them are unbearably boring or irritating. Coming here I didn't know anyone so I got to choose who I want to be friends with.

I agree about the situation on FB. I have unfollowed, unfriended, etc there too. But it got to a point when I said enough was enough. Thank goodness Steemit came along. Not only have I been able to open my friends' circle, but I've also been able to get back into writing and blogging.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ladyrebecca to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

I'm gradually coming to the conclusion that being a whale may not be all its cracked up to be. There are pros and cons, for sure, but I figure it's kind of like real life. Those that use all of their time and energy to acquire riches rarely find satisfaction and contentment when they get there, and if riches is what they focus on then they miss out on the joy that can be had in the journey.

I really do enjoy reading your posts.

This is a great guide to Steemit success, many people get sore after their copied and pasted meme does not get recognition. I understand that there are many unappreciated authors here but all it takes is perseverance.

nice blog

I wrote this post for people like you. Too bad you didn't read!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45