Sort:  

75% of the money goes to you, 25% to your curators. Of your 75%, half is allocated to Steem Dollars (which can be immediately liquidated to fiat via an exchange) and half is allocated to Steem Power (which are tokens that increase your influence on Steemit).

And while I have your attention, the more steem tokens and steem dollars I have, the more I get? I see in my wallet that every day I have more steem tokens. And powering up is turning steem itself into steem tokens?

I believe you're earning more STEEM tokens because they're being held and interest is accruing.

the interest rate for holding steem power is 90% per year

How is this even possible? Where is value coming from?

If you made $10000 post. $5000 of that would be SBD which you can change into steem in the local market on steemit (partnered with Blocktrades) and then you could send that steem to bittrex, poloniex or anywhere else and convert it to bitcoin (easy to do), or some other currency that you use a site that will let you sell the bitcoin for US Dollars or whatever your currency is and deposit it in your bank account. Different places report different time frames. 3-4 days is common.

I haven't done this myself though I have been researching it. I want more steem power so have mostly reinvested into that. Plus, I haven't landed any monster posts. :)

I have bought some things with bitcoin that I purchased with SBD. :) That works quite well.

The other $5000 will give you steem power based on what the current value of STEEM is in US Dollars. So if each STEEM coin were $2 your $5000 would give you 2500 steem power.

So in a $10,000 post you'd get $5000 SBD which you take steps to cash out immediately, and you'd get 2500 steem power (if in the example STEEM was going for $2/steem).

I hope that helps.

EDIT: This was also based on $10000 being the amount you received AFTER replies, votes, etc had received their cut.

I've done quite a bit of trading of Steem and Steem Dollar tokens. $5000-$10000 is not that hard to sell. If you had to do it right away you might have to take an extra 5% haircut or so. If you did it over a few days you could sell it with hardly any extra liquidity cost.

Yeah, I won't really worry about it until it happens, but I just wanted some quick info so thanks to both of you guys for giving it to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65