Proposal for options for a partial slider for sub 500SP accountssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I have mentioned this several times in recent discussions and I felt that it deserved a post by itself.

The reason why these accounts cannot have the ability to vote this often is because their Steem Power dictates that they have only a limited amount of 'bandwidth allocation' that will lead to excessive posting causing the witnesses to respond to attempts to exceed it. It shows up as "Transaction Broadcast Error" and I think I have seen this thing before in my own account on rare occasion.

The solution I am proposing is to simply limit the scale for the minnow votes. It could be changed to 3 degrees, 33, 66, 100, or 4 degrees, 25, 50, 75, 100, or 5 degrees 20, 40, 60, 80, 100.

Based on these you can also assign notional labels to these 'agree, like, love, mindblown' or some scheme like this. But even simply just sticking with the slider, but changing it for the minnows to the number options I listed above.

Sort:  

I don't fully understand, but you are saying its a technical reason for new minnows not having a slider?

Yes, that's exactly it. Steem has a rule where your right to add data to the database is proportional to your Steem Power. Votes are the most overhead-laden transaction, they have all the same data in the container it is wrapped in, but only the URL for the post/comment, and the amount of VESTS that are given in the vote. Thus it can become excessively spammy very easily compared to the stake of the user.

I have weighed in on that thread regardless of it being past payout to make reference to this post and briefly explain it in more technical terms.

It's great to collaborate!

It is a good suggestion. There are several people though that are opposed to new users having the vote slider right away, because it adds 'cognitive load'. There is a lot of feedback from new users that the platform is extremely complicated. While it is easy to argue that a vote slider is not that complicated, there are people that feel the complexity outweighs the cost. I know you and I are both technically minded, so the thought of something like that adding difficulty is almost foreign, but I do see the point of view from the people that argue it.

If you can get consensus for it and would be willing to submit a PR for it, it would be worth running by Sneak. I suspect you will probably be unable to get consensus for it though, because of the people in the camp opposed to it.

Right on!

The key component to how this works is raising the minimum vote size, which thereby limits the total number of posts still, while giving the new users 'training wheels' instead of the current 'wheelchair' as I have described it.

The obstacles that getting consensus on this faces are the reason for #project-smackdown because it will get EVERYONE talking about it, which means resolution will come sooner.

The change would be to the great benefit of the community as a whole, in further accelerating the rate of adoption and thereby, raising the value of Steem in the economy which benefits us early adopters, as well as making the platform increasingly interesting to people and expanding the potential use cases. See my latest post about my prior work on Dawn and how I think this could be used to facilitate further expansion of the Steem Community's power to make an impact on the world.

maybe just lowering the threshold to 250, currently voting seems both pointless and confusing.

There is a pull request to lower it to 125. We'll see if it gets approved.

Hi @timcliff ,

You may want to hear from me because I come from the sub 500 SP community and I am not able to upvote content as generously as the above 500 SP slider holder people can.

I invite you to read our concerns in the post and commnets about the frustrations for minnows after the HF 19! and see for yourself how much we are suffering.

I request you to support this cause please. Thank you.

I do support lowering the threshold for the vote slider. I actually submitted a pull request right after HF 19 to lower the threshold from 500 to 125.

https://steemit.com/voting/@timcliff/condenser-pull-request-submitted-minnow-vote-slider-vote-slider-threshold-update-to-125-sp

Thank you so much for all your concern and support. I will vote you for witness if I haven't done already.

Cool, thanks :)

I feel like there is a huge gap between -500 SP accounts and the other steemians. I can give 100 votes per day worth 1% and I still be able to distribute 4-5 cents with a single 1% vote, as sub 500 SP minnows have only 10 strong votes per day. This way their interaction with the platform is much harder and can be frustrating​, in my opinion. Now minnows​ have to work even harder to get noticed, so the old players just keep on growing. It's really important to support the minnows and make their visit more appealing​, not the other way around.

The Truth Has Been Spoken

My minnow, sub 500 SP upvote for you for speaking for us. I have been writing about the frustrating times for minnow! and how nothing seems to work.

It also leads to another dangerous community destroying trend which is self voting!

After having discussions with @l0k1 and some other great Steemians, and now reading this comment, I am satisfied that people in power here are concerned and I think it is the beauty of this community. Thank you very much for making Steemit a beautiful platform.

I'm sure that soon enough this situation will be resolved, as with many other challenges that​ preceded​ it. An easy solution is to lower the 500 SP limit in the next fork. I'm sure there are also other ways.

I am very hopeful too and having been here for just under a month, I already see why this community is better than any online community out there. I have almost left Facebook for giving my time here to this platform.

Finally!

The Most Logical Proposal

I fully support the idea of giving minnows (sub 500 SP) a slider with 3 to 5 predefined options which they can not change. It will give them freedom from the limitations imposed by the Hard Fork 19 and save their voting power. Meanwhile, they would be able to give more votes and the trend of self voting will be eliminated.

This post and the previous ones too are rays of hope in the frustrating times for minnows!. Thank you very much for raising your voice!

I was granted the gift of the talent to rapidly take up new information and resynthesise it in order to directly put it into application by dint of my fortunate mixture of genetics and epigenetics, and the burden of this talent (the word is originally ancient hebrew for a unit of measure used for money) can only be released by me finding ways to use this talent to benefit others.

This is the unique contribution that I am capable of giving back to the community for their support over the last 10 months of my time here on the Steem blockchain, and it is as satisfying as scratching a life long itch that I could never before reach.

I can only say...

Thank You!

I voted to every good content with the open mind. I have been voting a lot every day lol I think about 10 to 20 voted. 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

Thanks for being generous. We need more people like you! :)

With the platform recently enjoying a bout of explosive growth, especially from those more used to other social media styles, this will make Steemit more accessible/acceptable to the (dare I say) masses.

I agree. People are coming here in flocks and I am responsible for bringing in hundreds of my fellows here who are becoming and active part of the community and loving it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81