Is Steemit Having Scalability Issues?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

It sure seems so, or something else is up!

Posting, replying, claiming rewards and even upvoting all seem to take forever these days. I get error messages, timeouts (man haven't had one of those since I was a kid) and a host of other delays and malfunctions.

Just as I was writing this after yesterday mornings post (which took 3 tries to actually go through), upvoting the replies (or trying to and after one minute of waiting, this came up:

TypeError: Cannot read property 'previous' of null

It is maddening as there are better ways to use our waking hours... now I am not complaining as new things have bugs or unexpected issues to refine, but whoa it brings up questions with the future throngs of adopters sure to come.

Is it just me or is Steemit Having growing pains?

And a further question; if Steemit is slow now, what happens when mass adoption occurs, or the SMT's Release (of which I would love to incorporate into my website when they release)? Will it affect Steemit as well as the websites and other social platforms and businesses using them?

And that also brings in a question on the future scalability of EOS when it releases.

As a co-founder of Steem, Dan Larimer is applying the same protocols to EOS as he did with Steem (and the team of Ned Scott and any others working it), will it handle the huge scalability issues it states it will?

I leave you with this thought:

Should Steemit rework it's shell before it really grows?

I see scalability as the number one issue forthcoming in the crypto space... now I am not a tech type person and am learning just functionality in this space for personal and small business use. But when it hyperdirves into that mass adoption phase we best be ready.

And for a great coincidence after writing this, I saw @officialfuzzy 's post:

https://steemit.com/eos/@officialfuzzy/porter-stansberry-puts-500-000-eyes-on-eos#@kyusho/re-officialfuzzy-porter-stansberry-puts-500-000-eyes-on-eos-20171023t103348478z

Things sure are moving fast and picking up speed! Just some rambling thoughts... for the morning.

.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credit: @ledbedev, moseskumar

Sort:  

Steemit have some Scalability problems. These days always delay and very slow to use, I got error messages & bad timeouts.
Need to correction this problem and if update system for any issues pls provide before to users.
Great conversation @kyusho.

It is on my PC, on eSteem and iPhone web browser... it may be due to the work on @SMT , I do not know but it seems something is amiss.

Everyday struggle my connection with steemit. cannot reply comment, upvote or resteem every time delay with error msg occurred.
So steemit committee need to develop their networking, if not or late reply lot of users will be disappoint.
Thanks for giving me opportunity for discussion.

Well I am glad it is not me as my PC and Network are ok... however it is slowing my help to others.

These days the steemit works slowly, I lost a post that I wrote 2 hours. I know how you feel. but I believe in the steam because it is a unique idea - a project - will make better options. @kyusho

I am sure they will rectify the problem...however it has been a while and is not getting better. Maybe more people like yourself talking about it will do something to quicken the response.

I want to look only positive, I do not have any benefit from the nervousness. @kyusho

Of course, I am not nervous... the word is more frustrated as it slows a high energy day.

Yeah ! Sometimes steemit having a issue of scalability and occurred error msg while commenting or voting.

So it brings in the big question, is it the work on SMT's or will the release of SMT's cause more traffic jams.

Really very cool post and knowledgeable love it

I just wish I knew why it was so unresponsive... and when it will resolve.

yesterday i cannot upload post or make comments for more than five hours. sometimes facing bad gate way or time out. there is some work with browse extention, and steem more info and voting boot is really helpful for steemit users. but main fact is we want to use it without hassel and smoothly. thanks for waving the arise of problem.

For me it is also hit or miss, sometimes it is normal, but most times not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39