The Old Dog Asks: Do You Really Know Your Area? Steemit Can Help You! Thank You Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

  No matter where we live, sometimes many of us get into a rut. Perhaps we always go to the same places and do the same things. Last Sunday I realized that sometimes if you change one little thing you change EVERYTHING and you become enriched. Steemit has made me change things! Let me explain.  


     

This is Villa Olmo and I didn't even know that it was there! This shot is from Pixbay all others taken by my son!

  

For the past 17 years I have lived about 20 minutes from the city of Como and quite often we drive down to the city, park in the same parking garage and go for the same walk along the lake. Of course it’s great being by the lake and having a good Italian cappuccino or a gelato! Last Sunday though we decided to change it up and we parked about 5 minutes from the city center and saw or visited some fabulous Villas that we didn’t even know were there! 

I Changed My Routine Because I'm Now a Steemit Blogger And I'm Looking For New Experiences, Challenges and Stories!


 The Villa that you see here is Villa Olmo. Since it can’t be seen from the main road you don’t even know it’s there unless you take the time to walk down to it. Since Steemit always has me wanting to see and experience new things we headed down to have a look!

  Here Are a Few Pictures Taken From The Expansive Frontal Gardens 


    

     That's the beautiful Lake of Como. This Villa is free to visit and enjoy both inside and out!


    

    There is so much space here compared to the city of Como (5 minutes walking distance). People were jogging and        walking their dogs. The grounds were full of statues and fountains. What a fantastic resource and all FREE!

                                    A Little Bit About Villa Olmo  

  The construction of the villa began in 1797 and it was designed to be a summer retreat for the aristocracy. It was named after an elm tree planted in the middle of the ornate gardens.  

  Villa Olma was acquired in 1924 by the municipality of Como and today is open to the public and the lakeside gardens are freely accessible during the daytime. What a great resource for the residents of and visitors to the area!


                           Here Are a Few Pictures of the Inside


       

       At the main entrance looking up to the upper floors. Lots's of detail to take in!


      

      Amazing craftsmanship and artistry over this door which leads into one of the main rooms!


     

      I wonder if the painter of this ceiling got a sore neck?


       

       Chandeliers and painted ceilings seemingly without end!


The Gardens at The Back of The Villa Were Another Delightful Surprise!


     

      So much space in an area where I didn't think that there was any! All open for the public to enjoy!



     

     We're a family of die hardtree huggers. Here's my wife, @lellabird60 giving some love to this beauty! 

                                 Another Spectacular Discovery!  

  Once we were down at the lake we realized that the lake-side promenade was flanked by several other very impressive villas that we didn't know were there. It was a lot more beautiful and less congested than the walk that we habitually take and we went home uplifted and enriched. I can’t believe that I missed it for 17 years.  

                     A Lesson And a Big Thank You to Steemit!

Explore a different area of your village, town or city. Take a different route, go to a different restaurant. Change things up. Maybe your little neck of the woods has more to offer than you ever realised! I did just that last Sunday and was blessed with a wonderful experience! The funny thing is that I may never have done so without this newfound Steemit blogging hobby of mine! Thank you Steemit!


I hope that you enjoyed my change of habit which lead to this visit of Villa Olmo.


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Tibetans believe that you should go visit, at least one new place every year in order to deal with the sedentary tendencies... I'm glad you had such an epiphany and encourage us all to get out of our own "rut"! Namaste :)

Good advice from the Tibetnas!

Looks great... Maybe if you do well on this article you'll be able to live there one day, lol

Hahaha! Me and about 100 other Steemers!

That is a well-made point. No matter where we live, there is so much to discover. I am still discovering things in my own yard, lol, after 20+ years. Is there a tag for this sort of topic? Something like #mytown.

I love your tag idea. When you're foraging for those mushrooms of yours your bound to discover a lot of nooks and crannies!

I better start taking photos while I'm out and about. #mytown : )

@kus-knee "Do I really know my area that well - hmmmmmmm
no, I could get still get lost too many to discover still.
As for @lellabird60 am glad you mentioned her here, I was reading her story on mobile - power woman - salute!
I hope she keeps flying!
as for the pics on this post - what can I say - beautiful all of them! Thank you for taking me to Villa Olmo - I haven't been to that part of Italy so keep touring us please!

Enjoy your discovering and thanks a lot for your kind words!

What a great post! Thank you for sharing!

Thanks a lot!

This is so true I think for many people. Steemit has encouraged me to do more things with my camera as well as read more varied topics. It is a great way of motivating people to get out there and do things.

Also your photos are fantastic!

Thanks a lot, much appreciated!

You're welcome. Great shots and great observations too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64