IMPORTANT MAJOR BUG DISCOVERED : turned to be a small glitch which apparently have no permanent effect

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So I found this bug, Which I have not abused I promise. I had to test it a bit and barely gained 1$ SBD from it while testing it to see if indeed it was working. I believe it should be addressed ASAP.

So I was in my blog posts looking at my upcoming payouts when I stumbled on one where I had to wait 4 weeks to get. No problem here, so I notice the upvote isn't blue since usually I upvote my self and earn a small cent from it 0.01 SBD.

I noticed my upvote sign wasn't blue, so I though well I never upvoted myself. Let's give it a go.

While upvoting my balance went up from + 2 cents, but my upvote sign remained unmarked.
So I clicked again and it went up again giving me the following message each time

Transaction failed: false: Cannot vote again on a comment after payout

Even with this message my balance keep going up for a few cents everytime I press the upvote button.

I think this could be gamed by a lot of wrongly intentioned members and should be addressed as fast as possible.

ONCE AGAIN, I DID IT ONLY TO TEST IT!

Here is the screenshot before and after

You can notice how after many clicks my balance went up from my own upvotes!
These are done with click, and have nothing to do with price going up or down, this seems to only work on 4 weeks wait payments.
I could have recorded it but im in a hurry and have to go out drive my nephew to his soccer game!

Sort:  

Since the transaction failed, it was never added to the blockchain, which means it could not have affected any payouts.

If this was a true bug, we would be able to see many duplicate votes on the same post from your account here: https://steemd.com/@kuriko

This could be a UI glitch, but more likely just slow fluctuations in price. Even if the vote fails, it may update the current payout value, giving the false impression it was you who made the payout change.

Fair enough! I just think it was worth mentioning , I'm not technical enough and if this turned to be a real bug it would have been worth the mention. The thing is, this only seems to work on 4 weeks upcoming payments. Anyway I hope I was wrong there! Thank you for clarifying it in detail.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.0 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

You know the price changes during the day based on the market right?

This has nothing to do with the market. My clicks are barely 1 second apart and everyone of them makes the reward go up. Please read fully I've clearly stated it had nothing to do with the market.

Oh I didnt read the whole thing since I wasn't interested. Why dont you keep upvoting it, did it stop yet?

I did around 15 clicks in a row netted nearly 1 and and every single time the error message appear. But then you have the market price kicking in which could bring it back down but the results are still there. Upcoming payments due in 4 weeks seems to be affected by multiple own upvotes. Unless the market price updates it self in real time and does it Everytime I upvotes it. But it wouldn't explain why it continuously goes up after each upvotes. Market goes down and up but my own upvotes makes it only go up.

My post which also has a pending payout was increasing all the time earlier, which it does according to the last 7 days average price.

I think it has probably said the error "Transaction failed: false: Cannot vote again on a comment after payout" but maybe you haven't been able to see it, and when you upvoted it updated to the current value of your post. Try just reloading after a minute and see if it changes even though no new votes have come through.

It's hard to tell because you can't know if it's going back down because of the market price or because of the bug updating it self back. You see what I mean?

You can check here: https://steemd.com/@kuriko if it upvotes it more times than once, if not its probably just a visual bug. But I still think its just updating depending on the price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50