You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get Ready For The Eco-Train! Finding Imaginative Ways to use STEEMIT as a tool for cooperation and empowerment.

in #steemit7 years ago

I tried to get involve din a project to do something similar. Gave my time on unpaid vacations to get the place started with just me and the owner of the land, but he was too new agey believing in following feelings and being a devils advocate to be a contrarian to logical arguments as inferior to feeling. Anyhoot, I didn't stay, but we made a Reciprocal Roof Structure as a basic landing zone area. Anyways live and learn and make sure you align with people where it matters before getting involved in something big together hehe.

Sort:  

"make sure you align with people where it matters before getting involved in something big together hehe."

oh sh*t yes! I am literally learning that same lesson this month in a BIG way!!

you flag me. your video all copyright. your photos all copyright. don't flag go on. note. you crazy dog.

Knowing how to make a recip roof is a good thing.> That roof usually takes a big chunk of the budget.. Recup roofs are nice and cheap and you can make them look nice and rustic. These skills we can take with us wherever we go!

you flag me. your video all copyright. your photos all copyright. don't flag go on. note. you crazy dog.

I'm curious what you think of the Eco-Train idea. It looks like you've been here for a while and im sure understand the Zeitgeist here better than me!!

you flag me. your video all copyright. your photos all copyright. don't flag go on. note. you crazy dog.

Well I'd say if people want to do a Zeitgeist thing voluntarily go for it. I don't trust centralization much.

Sounds interesting, you said you were still writing up stuff. Maybe I'll have more to say then. I'd be into doing that type of things again, but the trust is what he wanted to. The thing I have with that is that if I want to do something else after I put in the time to build a house and develop the land, I don't own it to sell it. We work, spent time, and buy houses. Time and work is required to pay it off. Then people can sell their houses and have that time money invested there regained. In a trust, all the time and work cannot be recuperated as I can't sell my home. If issues occur where someone wants to get out after years of being there because things are going bad or something, they would be leaving with nothing but knowledge gained for their time building their home, etc. What can you say about that?

Hey Krnel!
Did you know we got the ecoTrain up and running!?

If you are interested you can see last week's highlights here! I think you might find a few posts that you like.. We got pretty varied and interesting passengers on board!

https://steemit.com/nature/@eco-alex/posts-and-highlights-from-the-ecotrain-or-13th-july-19th-july

hope you are well!

Thanks ;)

Nice questions! You're thinking about it!

I would say that what is being offered is basically a free home with no rent! Instead there is an exchange and a continued input from the people who are a part of this pretty close knit community. Those who embark on the journey will have to be committed.

That said, the full length grand plan is that there will be many communities with different flavours in many countries (eventually).. They will all be quite small. When you are a part of one community, you become a part of all of them. SO it will be possible to swap with other people to try a new place out if one isnt working. It could also be possible to use this idea to just have holiday home swaps etc..

How does that sound?!

The most important thing to me is not allowing re-sale or any perception of ownership. That perception causes half the problems in the world my opinion and leads to many other problems such as resale, price inflation etc.

And you don't own the land anymore? You don't accept ownership of the work you do? Who controls the trust? What is the decision making process? Thanks ;)

you flag me. your video all copyright. your photos all copyright. don't flag go on. note. you crazy dog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26