My full experience with blockchain & cryptocurrency as a newbie. Where to now?

in #steemit8 years ago

This may be a bit too honest but maybe also helpful. Today I really want to talk about my direct experience with Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies as I have learned about them all over the last (almost) year. And I want to emphasize this is coming from a non programmer/developers side and also someone who is not an investor (I wish). I really want to know what other newbies have learned and experienced by telling my story so far. Or what experienced blockchain users/developers think because maybe my focus is in the wrong place. Well here we go...

Go back to January 2016 and I just learned what Bitcoin was and I bought exactly one, and I got it at $508 Canadian. Right after I purchased my one coin it dropped in price...about $100. This was my first experience with purchasing something with a volatile price, or at least what I thought was volatile at the time (I didn't know about other crypto markets yet). But I was going to hold my one little coin for the long term even though I was choked about the drop. This was my first moment dealing with emotions that come with trading, I wanted to sell my coin back in fear of losing more but I didn't! Don't get me wrong I know it is not a lot of money, but for me at the time and even now, it is. The price was basically my rent. 

Why I did it sell even though I got a bit nervous was I just wanted to get involved. Having that coin made me hopeful and excited. That I was part of some new movement. I would tell people about it and even if they didn't understand I felt like I had this amazing thing that represented all these new opportunities and ideas. I really truly felt like I made a good choice. Unfortunately I needed the money a few months later and had to sell half of it. 

But wait what? There are more block chains and different coins?

This blew my mind. Soon after I began researching other blockchains coming out and what they could potentially do, is when I found Ethereum. Smart contracts, the Dow, what is all this? I learned and came across it all right after the price went up, which happened really fast compared to Bitcoin. That was the first time I felt like I was at the right place at the right time but still missed the boat. I didn't feel like that with Bitcoin at all, I knew where it had come from since 2009 and was excited either way. I may sound like I am in this to make money, and I am because like most people I am excited about the opportunity. Ehtereum was my first lesson on deciding to do my research and stay current with new ideas, coins and projects when they are starting. I didn't want to have something that I thought was great pass me by and not know about it again. 

Well that didn't work... I finally got onto trading sites after Monero blew up and I have missed the boat ever since. This sounds doom and gloom but it is just what has happened and has been a learning experience. Every time I don't pay attention for a bit something big happens. I am only looking at a year and who knows where any of this can go but I feel like I am constantly running behind. Its also a little more tricky when you don't have much money to transfer into crypto trading and investments. I added myself to trading sites but couldn't trade with my sacred one (now half) Bitcoin because I told myself I would keep it. 

But then Steemit happened for me, I wrote an article and did very well on my first one. I was ecstatic... I watched as I got more and more votes over and 24 hour period and was thrilled. My boyfriend couldn't believe it either, this was the first time since getting that Bitcoin I saw that opportunity again. It re lit my crypto fire and I was so intrigued at the idea that you could make coins by creating content people liked. I was like whaaaatttt? Actually though. I began getting involved in the #steemitphotochallenge, posting my own photography work, and about a month ago started posting Before and After how to's of how I edited my photos. I have been a little MIA lately though and I must fix that immediately. I still think Steemit is awesome and I always tell people and get excited about it. 

Here is where I think I messed up though and got discouraged... I was brave enough and was learning enough I decided to try trading cryptos, you can get really caught up in that. I thought well I could turn my x amount of Steemit to Bitcoin to whatever into more Bitcoin. Well lets just say holding what I had with the price of Bitcoin today I would have been better off just keeping it like I initially intended. Being on those trading sites I got a bit greedy and was still too uneducated on it, and believe me I was not dealing with large amounts. But the bit I had that was important to me... I lost a decent amount of it. It also became more about money and less about why I liked the blockchain technology in the first place, because I believe in it long term and what it can do. I wish I would have left my Bitcoin and Steemit alone, but hindsight is always 20/20.

I haven't fully decided why I am telling you guys all this, but I think in under a year of learning what Bitcoin is, to following cryptocurrencies, to trading them I have learned a ton. What I want to do, what I don't want to do again, when emotions get the best of you, and why I am doing this in the first place. 

The picture above I took when I was photographing a cottage by a lake just recently, I just felt like it was appropriately calming. I am not sure how I want to be involved with this anymore, but I want to be. I don't know how other newbies and non programmers/developers feel when they get into the crypto world but I am curious! And where to go from here? Besides post and support Steemit of course. 

All the love,

Kristylynn

p.s. Steemfest looked awesome, I hope there is another one...

Sort:  

Thanks @kristylyn I think many here have had the same ups and downs... but some good for you on this Friday eve, check out https://www.xbtfreelancer.com/

As a photographer you may be able to earn those bitcoin bits.

Thank @kyusho! I will check it out now. :)

There is many great projects, I always think rather than making money I invest thinking in not to lose money, that saved me many times.

Research a lot and then shoot!!!! Be aware about this, someone calls to buy because he wants to sell/others call to sell because they want to buy, research the project that you like and bang!!!!!

Yes I agree, find projects you believe in and stick to those. I totally agree with that and will be more focused in that direction moving forward. Thanks for the comment @ozzy-vega.

@blocktrades is right, it sounds like you got caught up in the trading side of crypto, and for 95% of people that's just a way to spend time losing money...

Of course there will be another SteemFest, hope to see you there!

Yes same! You went @demotruk?

Indeed I did. Great fun.

Thanks for sharing your experience! You have a new follower :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thank you for sharing, Kristylynn. Trading is just one side of cryptocurrencies and just like trading other types of financial instruments can be extremely stressful. I hope you find out how you can still be excited witin the cryprocommunity and keep it on the positive side. Steemit looks to be a good outlet for that :)
-Anders

I agree! Steemit is. Yes lesson learned, I am glad I have experienced it because now I know. Thanks for the comment @nevergrowupmag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29