You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit - Realistic Observations After 6 Active Months

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you for your insightful post. You give voice to many of the thoughts (and some frustration) I’ve experienced since I entered the Steemit society in November 2017. I regarded Steemit to be a democratic platform with quality content and supportive members - and in addition, a place where one could earn some money from posting quality content.
I try to work seriously with the content in both my posts and comments to other’s posts. As a non-native English speaker, translation is also an issue (and time consuming). Therefore, it disappoints me to experience very little responses and up votes on my posts and comments. In addition, it’s demotivating to observe that a post with (what I regard as) poor content (and some flashy pictures) earns a huge amount of USD from votes. Authors of such posts do neither bother to reply to comments. To me it seems to be an “elite” of whales, with a lot of steem power, supporting each other and making themselves richer – but with little or none interest in supporting quality content (from minnows). I don’t like this attitude.
Please forgive me if I’m wrong. I’m still unexperienced and quite new to the society, and I hope I got this wrong. That’s why I will hang on.
I also want to point out an important reason for continuing with Steemit: the exceptions from my above description, all the good folks I have “met” posting interesting content and caring for others contributions. E.g. @steemmatt ‘s #fitnesschallenge
I know that “Rome wasn’t built on one day”. Wanting to climb the ladder one must add a dose of patience.
Thanks from @kristihh

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing and also for all of your translation work! You speak very well. Right now, early adopters have the leverage. In time, we may also be early adopters, but with more values and respect for the overall community than people who were fortunate enough to be here before us to shovel in Steem Power from the rewards pool, mining, or dirt cheap prices (although those that bought early did take on high risk). Just keep working on growing your follower base and fostering relationships so you develop your fans. Keep posting about your passions so posting is fun and easy for you. The people will come and then the rewards will follow.

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. I will try to follow your advice. I still enjoy writing, reading, replying and up voting good content. Unfortunately, I don’t have much time to engage as much as I want on Steemit. The work week steals most of my time (and energy). But every time I find a moment, I really enjoy this society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70