Whaleshares Curation Show Recap & Why Do I Select What I Pick?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

20170827_100020.jpg

The Black Sea, Crimea

A few months ago @nikflossus, our kind host, invited me to join the Whaleshares Curation Show as a curator. And I have been scouting around for the original content that just didn't happen to attract attention of the Steemit whales ever since.
Even though each post that's been picked up by one of the curators is rewarded with 100 Whaleshares upvote, I still would like to go through the posts that I selected for tonight's show to hopefully help the talented Steemians to get a bigger audience and rewards they deserve.

My first pick was @cooper.crow's post called I am the future artist.
She is a young lady from Belarus that I met on Golos blockchain when I joined it last spring. Amazingly she quit her job in finance to become an artist, you can track her progress by the posts she makes here on Steemit or Golos. @cooper.crow has a unique way with words and is a great story teller, you can tell reading her Russian writings. In this post however she's sharing her drawing progress, but also takes us on a journey, which is a date with art as she calls it, please go through the steps she provides and you will see what I mean by that. Each step is a different stage of her romantic rendezvous. Pretty creative, if you ask me! So check her out!

My second pick tonight was My Persona 5 Review - Rekindled My Love For JRPGs by @naysayer. It is actually second time in a row that I picked a game review by him, @naysayer is really good when it comes to reviewing games, it is a solid and professional post that is definitely worth more than $1 dollar considering the work he puts into it. I feel like it is up to us to make sure talented people get support from the community and fair rewards.
As always, this is a very well structured game review, gameplay, visuals, audio and story have detailed explanation and rating, it is a great review for anyone who is considering to purchase this game as long as people who beat it.

20170827_103718.jpg
The Black Sea, Crimea

Let me tell you a little bit more information about the way our show works. Every Monday evening myself, @nikflossus, @lindahas, @kubbyelizabeth and our guest curator select undervalued and top quality posts from #postpromotion channel in Whaleshares discord server, we present them during this live curation event and they get awarded with 100 whaleshares upvote upon the night (sometimes it may take a few days).

I often get DM-s sent to me on Discord, people are wondering what kind of content we as curators like, or if there's anything they could post to attract our attention to their blogs.
We are all human and we like different things. Yes, it is a very subjective decision to pick one post over the other, maybe it was a beautiful picture that caught my eye, or perhaps a great story someone shared. Personally, I am not looking for anything in particular when I browse the #postpromotion tag. And even though I do pick certain posts more often than the others, I do try to make my selections different and fun instead of presenting something over and over until it gets so stale people start to hate hearing about it.
My advice for anyone who is curious about those kinda things is to make posts about whatever it is THEY are interested in instead of trying to create something only to meet other people's expectations, it is just a waste of time. Do something that makes you feel good, something you're happy or sad about it, be honest, be real.
I am always excited about learning new things, rediscovering old ones, making friends and being cool with everybody.

If you are interested in learning more about the Whaleshares and community around it, please get on Discord and join Whaleshares server. The admins @akrid and @krazykrista would be more than happy to help everyone get their Bitshares wallet, provide useful links or answer questions.

U5dqqe5cWfunB568FkpSLYV3xYnV8oP_1680x8400.png
Logo by @revostrike

Sort:  

I totally agree! If you write about something you are truly passionate about, the feeling alone is rewarding! It doesn't even feel like a task at all. It's fun and exciting to talk about the things we are really interested in right?

Exactly @ablaire!

Boy do I feel special :P
I had kind of given up thinking nobody really reads my stuff.
Thank you for picking my posts will put more effort into my work.

I love your reviews, very clean and professional posts, I hope more people learn about them as well :)
Great job there @naysayer!

Very informative posts! I think I'm gonna give this #postpromotion thing a try. Now I just need to think of what to write about that's worthy. haha.

You should! And I think your posts are good as they are, and it's cool you always provide Japanese translation, I am sure a lot of people would like that :)

Thanks! Yeah, I try to reach a wider audience by posting in both my languages. I will give it a shot!

Sounds good! :)

Your work is very noble. This work makes our platform more friendly to new users.

Ваш труд очень благородный. Этот труд делает нашу платформу более приветливою для новых пользователей.

Большое спасибо!

всегда пожалуйста.

Hello how are you? @kotturinn I'm a little lost from your blog the internet in my city is very bad because of problems of light

Beautiful images, I love cooking and I publish so that they can see what I do even if I do not have a camera phone.
Thank you for watching us, thanks for the support

Hey, I'm doing pretty good, how're you?!

What is it you don't understand from the post?

I'm fine, suffering with the internet in my city
Are there some rules to participate in the post you select?

By the way I think you're a great person helping others to grow

There are no rules, but it is also not a contest, but an initiative, there are 4 curators + a guest one and each person picks 2 posts from the #postpromotion channel on Whaleshares, discord.

Well thank you, you're too kind :).

I understand then if you posted a photo and I want to participate, should I place that label?

No, you can do whatever you want.

I almost missed this. Then I realised I wasn't following you. Oops. Oh, and for anyone wanting to know what kind of posts @kotturinn picks... one word: CATS!

:0

Cats are my weak spot indeed haha sshhh!

Im going to quote you in my post. I took some notes during the show about everyones picks! So glad you wrote this post.

Oh cool! I will keep an eye out for it! :)

I didn't know about the Whaleshares program until now! You chose great posts and I'm looking forward to future editions. Joining the Discord channel as well!

Awesome! It is a solid community, I hope you like it :)

great to share and thanks update steemit information.
upvote

Thank you :D

wow...very nice post...
i like you.......and follow you..
👌👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84