Adventure story

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

adventure4.png

Today, taking the suggestion of my friend @midlet I thought I would share with you all an illustration I did recently for the Cartooner game project. This is for the card representing the "Adventure" theme and the client suggested a girl looking for treasure underwater.

adventure.png

I usually start with a drawing, just like most people. One thing I have found over the years is that it helps me a lot to move the picture forward if the drawing is fairly precise from the get-go: this forces me to think in terms of specific details and also makes the forms less generic. When you start with something very rough and nebulous as you average it out the result often ends up being predictable, like the thing you see everywhere else.

I think you can see the lighter first layer underneath.

adventure1.png

After that I start "guesstimating' color on a transparent layer. I might get into some of my ideas about color in another post but for now I can say that I use a big soft brush and I am mostly trying to make the pallette work as a whole. I think of colors I will definitely need and arrange the rest to match -or at least not disturb- those.

Also for lighting effects in particular and to create lighter or darker harmonies of existing colors I use Overlay and Hard Light layer modes. You can then adjust the layer opacity and hue/saturation. This gives you a lot of control over the strength and precise hue of the effect, allowing you to get very close to the way you want it to feel.

adventure2.png

After I got something I'm generally OK with, and/or if the temptation to start painting opaquely is no loger possible to resist, I start using what I currently have to define and lock down separate areas more specifically. By "using what I have" I am referring of course to using the ALT button to activate the eyedropper and color-pick from by canvas. I try to remember to not rely exclusively on this feature and continue introducing new colors as I go. Otherwise things start looking really dull really soon.

adventure3.png

In the end it is time for minor adjustments, such as playing with contrast, adding saturation to certain areas, painting the character's other leg...

I am thinking of posting more of these cards. If this is the type of content you would like to see more of, please upvote and comment with any suggestions you might have, and thank you for checking in.

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform. There seems to be a really awesome group of creatives growing here. Exciting stuff coming up. Oh and great work!

Thanks @stevestrange yeah I'm def hoping to see something like that happen

Now we're talkin ;)

Amazing works! I do like this kind of post, I always love to see the process behind the art. I would love to know more about the tools that you use also. And i would love to know about the breakdown of the creative concept too!

Cheers, mate! Looking forward for your upcoming posts!

Thank you @gibic . The program I use is called Clip Studio (the software previously known as Manga Studio). It is a very versatile and customizeable piece of painting software and imo is really designed with knowledge of good illustation workflows: I highly recommend it to anyone. I will talk about tecnique in future posts. Cheers!

Super cool! I'll wait for it.

This is awesome dude! As i read the content, the things you've written there seemed to dance in my mind and it is really enough for an art process. The final output as well is really cool!

Thanks man, I am happy you find it interesting. If you like this kind of stuff, you might wanna check out my friends @midlet and @sisler003, I think you will find their stuff pretty inspiring.

wow beautifully made. I love the colors, it's so refreshing to the eyes. :) I may tr this one day.

Thanks @robiney let me know how it turns out ;)

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I really love your work and love the way u described how u made it. I can feel your heart into it. Keep doing the awesome work @klumsyk
Resteem and upvote

🎉 Congratulations @klumsyk! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Love it.

Feels like a kids story book I would have lost myself in if I was a good 20 years younger. Regardless, I still want to know more of the world and her story! It's really great. Do more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49