You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Proof is in the Pudding (Part Two)

in #steemit8 years ago

Thanks for the reply with the link. At the mo, I'm not getting to see half my feed each day, so it might have taken me a day or two to come across it.

As @reddust said - Steemit has sparked my creativity and got me writing again. My websites had been sitting languishing for years. But for me, I think Steemit is a playground, where I can share more of myself than I can (or think I can) on my other sites. Any $ are a bonus that I think of as a long term investment (hopefully!).

As far as ongoing views go, I still hope that new Steemians who find me will go back and read the other articles that may help them. So I put links to similar articles at the bottom of each post. But I realised after reading this that views from "outside" - I want them to go to my websites not Steemit.

I've already started copying across the articles that fit into my other websites. Three of those are information sites (health & nutrition info / recipes / doing the GAPS diet in NZ) that are supporting and hopefully driving traffic to the sites for the two businesses that are our income (my health practice / online health food & supplement business).

So I will definitely use StumbleUpon, but will direct them to those. I can still monitor how many views they're getting and report back periodically.

Then I can still keep playing here and still keep using my row of pretty pictures (yes, I noticed that gentle little dig), post self indulgent posts about my favourite music, blather on about whatever crosses my mind as well as the nuggets that will find their way elsewhere.

Thanks for the StumbleUpon info - I think that's exactly what I need to drive more traffic to my existing sites.

Sort:  

Well, at least you got something out of it. I have more tricks, but like I said a few days ago... without the support of the community there's no point in spending so much time writing out detailed information. Remember, for many, the selling point was being able to write and get paid. Only some people are allowed to write and get paid, the rest do the work to help feed their economy.

I don't have websites of my own, no help on the outside. I use existing models as a base and work around that. I'm not taking stabs at people for making half of their articles credits and accomplishments, I just put myself in the outsiders shoes. Since I am an outsider anyway, that stuff looks strange to me, but I'm familiar with the culture and know how people like to borrow from each other.

I got my start here, so now I have to find ways to make something of the time I invested. I'm not afraid to be honest. I'm never going to fit in with a lot of the strange practices here. I'm just an independent writer now using steemit to get my product out. In the future, I'll probably just keep things to myself. I really did think a lot of people would be interested, I was wrong and wasted my time. I'm still glad you got something out of it. Maybe in the future I'll share a little more, but only if people ask and probably in private.

For me, this is becoming embarrassing watching these pennies roll in, looking over and seeing a very select few with high payouts and 20 views. Nobody even reads their stuff.... people read mine, they want to see what the hell I did this time. The attention economy phrase gets thrown around, but that's now how it works here. Anyway, I'm too tired to be on here. Have a good day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50