What Had I Done So Far? - My Steem Adventure #9

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It has been 305 days on Steemit whereby I learned a lot from the platform. I started this unexpected journey from 2nd of August, 2017 with @cklai.

9copy.jpg

Here are some of my personal Steemit achievement so far (as of 3rd June, 2018).

ComponentsValue
Reputation60.336
Accumulated SP1,401.4 SP
Followers1,405
Total Posts Count326
Total Comments Count4,026
Total Vote Given6,816
Supported Witnesses30
You can check my details on Steemworld, which I found is a great site to know all the activities we had on Steemit.

I would like to look back and reflect on my growth at this platform.

Projects that I am on right now:

Archisteem

It had been an amazing experience starting Archisteem. It all started with me and @cklai and @funtraveller talking about doing something more than focusing on our individual growth. We want to form a community that we can share our ideas, learn from other professionals and also form potential collaboration to realize some crazy ideas that we come across.

Being an architect, we are trained to imagine, design and build spaces that benefit the community. From a small hut to a home, a community center, a high rise building, a transport terminal and even to space, the only limit we have is our own imagination. Realistically speaking, we are still bound by the social context, cost feasibility and also the currently available technology. Thus, some of the crazy ideas may not be able to realize now. However, this never stops us to explore and brainstorm.

In Archisteem, we want to form a community that upholds this kind of spirit.

Archisteem Discord Channel

In order to allow easier communication, we set up the Discord channel for the enthusiasts and contributors to engage with us as well as the other community members. In the channel, we set up 3 main sections: official announcement, QnA and also collaboration. In official announcement section, we will use that to announce all the Archisteem related news to the community which will be done by the admins. In QnA, this section is open to everyone. Anyone is welcome to interact by throwing questions, picking up some interesting topics, have a discussion on some current trends and so on. In collaboration, we open to anyone who is interested to throw us potential projects that want to collaborate with us. When we talk about collaboration, we do not limit ourselves to the Steemit ecosystem but also in real life. We think that the value created in the virtual ecosystem should extend to the real world too.

Here is our Discord Invitation Link

1001 Places to Remember

1001 Places to Remember is the first project that we started under Archisteem. At first, we started Archisteem and imagine that the community will form naturally. However, it did not turn out this way. We found that a community needs a lot of proactive engagement done by the founders and also the solid execution of some interesting program to empower others and have fun in the ecosystem. Then, the founding team brainstormed and finally decided to start something with a scale that the team can handle. So this is how 1001 Places to Remember came to life. So far, we had gone through 2 seasons and collected near 60 submissions from the community. We will continue the contest until we accumulated 1001 qualified stories.

With that being said, we would like to take this opportunity to promote the Season 3 for 1001 Places to Remember which already started! S03 officially starts now! We welcome people with stories to join us on this project!

To know more about the project, click here.

The project most recent report.

In order for this project to increase its impact and widen the exposure, collaboration with different initiatives is a must. That is why the team collaborated with @funtraveller's @photocircle and @aaronli's #citystory (who is under @sndbox Cohort 1). The collaboration enabled us to learn from each other and also share resources in terms of publicity, audience and also submitted works. For the contest organizer, we can get more exposure while the contributors/author can benefit from submitting a single content for two or more contest!

Here are the details of our collaboration:

Photocircle by @funtraveller

#photocircle is a curation program started by @funtraveller (also happened to be the co-creator of #archisteem) to curate photography submissions with the #photocircle tag. One of the themes for the photography curation program is Architectural & City Photography which is aligned with the 1001 Places to Remember project as well as #archisteem.

We decided to collaborate under the theme Architectural & City and share the prize pool as well. This is a mutual relationship that will help both programs to thrive and to reach a larger group of audience.

This is our collaboration post:


A City A Story by @aaronli

This contest is a weekly contest initiated by @aaronli. The intention of starting this contest is to encourage more people to share about culture and stories of their hometown or their cities. This could help to promote the place’s uniqueness to a larger audience and in another way, to express our personal love to our beloved hometown and cities.

We found that both of our projects are well aligned and decided to collaborate and to make things bigger with more exposure! Participants will now get a chance to win both prizes at the same time, making the prize pool larger than before!

This is our collaboration post:


Personal Steemit Journey

Throughout my Steemit journey, I was lost and lucky to have known a few Steemians who guided me through the maze. I remembered the first time @cklai introduced me about Steemit. I was kind of skeptical about the idea, but I thought of trying it anyway since I had nothing to lose. After waited for a week plus, my account finally got approved and I started writing my personal thoughts and shared some photography shots (which I used title Daily Thoughts for my personal thoughts and Kimzwarchshot for photography).

When I started, I had no idea how to engage with the community neither did I have any idea of what kind of tag I should use. So, at the first 3 months, I was really lost and posted a different kind of posts and almost ‘spammed’ my own page with photography and resteemed posts, thinking that I could attract people to drop by and by any chance upvote my post. However, it did not appear so and I was kinda desperate.

Luckily, I came across the #cn community under the lead of @tumutanzi (now @justyy) who was very supportive that time on my posts. I also learned a lot through their Wechat channel and informative posts by @tumutanzi, @justyy, @oflyhigh, @deanliu, @fr3eze, @ace108, @rivalhw, @dapeng, @skenan and so on. Then, I also came to know some #teammalaysia members like @bitrocker2020, @littlenewthings, @elizacheng and @zord189 who introduced me to the local Steemit community. Not to forget about @a-alice from Vietnam who supported me when I was still a little plankton which I found her fighting spirit is strong until now.

Besides having my personal improvement going on, I also want to expand my contribution to a larger group of communities like #teammalaysia, #utopian-io, #qurator, #ocd-resteem, #curie and #steemitbloggers. No doubt, #teammalaysia is the closest community to me with so many enthusiastic Steemians and passionately started different initiatives like #steem-cartoon, #steemitmamas, #dailyfoodphotography, #makemesmile and many other more. As for #utopian-io, @cklai and I started to contribute in terms of logo design which we found was quite interesting for us to explore extra means of expressing our creativity and earn some extra reward. While #steemitbloggers is a platform initiated by @jaynie whom someone I respected because of her persistence and helpfulness to the community. I am lucky enough to get invited in by @zord189 during the starting time and I had learned a lot from the community ever since. Although I am not much involved in @qurator, @curie and @ocd initiative, I found that their effort and commitment to curate quality contents are phenomenal. They did a very great job in searching for great contents that are undervalued and bring them to the limelight for more exposure. In the meantime, the chosen contents were also rewarded with a large number of upvotes. I was lucky to get chosen for some of my contents and felt indebted to them for helping me too! That is part of my reason to start @archisteem to curate contents under a niche area and help the minnows to grow as well, a similar cause that is upheld by these other platforms.

The next community that I want to thank is @sndbox and its subsidiary: @creativecrypto and @alpha-sndbox. They had supported me in the initiative @archisteem and also my other posts that related to creativity like their Monthly Sndbox Newsletter Thumbnail, infographics and also personal posts about architecture. Surprisingly, both founders of @sndbox, @voronoi and @hansikhouse are in the same industry as me, designer and architect which prompted me to respect them more. I also came across their Steem Park program which inspired me to do something alike and that was what inspired me to start @archisteem as well. That is to bring ideas from the virtual Steemit community to the real life and possibly funded by cryptocurrency (as an extra alternative source!). I am excited to know that they will be opening for their cohort 2 soon to incubate new batch of Steemians which I want to be part of it.

Here are some of my previous writing on my Steemit journey:

  1. My Steem Adventure #1: Embarking into The Unknown Sea of Open Source
  2. Why is Steem giving out free money? - My Steem Adventure #2
  3. Who Am I in 2018? - My Steem Adventure #3
  4. Steem Just Shot UP! - My Steem Adventure #4
  5. A Guide for Malaysian to Cash Out from Steem/SBD - My Steem Adventure #5 [updated]
  6. How to Earn Just by Delegating Steem Power? - My Steem Adventure #6
  7. The Social Mobility on Steem - My Steem Adventure #7
  8. Despite The Rough Waves, Steem On! -My Steem Adventure #8

What I am looking next

Fundition Proposal


My team will be planning to launch our project – 1001 Places to Remember to the crowdfunding platform @fundition. We are planning to segment the project into a different phase and parts so that it will be easier to handle and more feasible to realize. Ultimately, we want to collect 1001 stories from the Steemit community and make it into a publication that will be recorded with a website (linked with Steemit data), an e-publication and also a physical publication.

For the physical publication, we estimated to produce an A5 size booklet with an estimate 1015 pages in total, including cover for the contributors and backers. Each of the contributor’s story will get a one-page coverage with details such as photography, story summary, location, and also a QR link to our website that host all the publication full story. All of these will require a certain amount of budget which my team is currently working on and will be publishing soon for crowdfunding.
In the meantime, we will be opening for collaborators for website designers, editors, and graphic designers. For that, we will be making a more thorough write up on what we need and post along with the crowdfunding proposal on @fundition.

As of now, anyone who is interested to work with the @archisteem team, do approach me by commenting below or through Discord.

Collaboration with Steemitworldmap for 1001 Places to Remember

I found that @steemitworldmap with the tag #travelfeed has a lot of great contents that aligned with the theme of 1001 Places to Remember. Plus, the final product of the project will also pinpoint the stories to their respective location for the readers to relate and refer. Naturally, it is wise to work with @steemitworldmap to have access to their open source data library and see how to link other non-registered stories to their database as well.

In terms of collaboration, we could work out different possibilities like contest, product that is based on our collaboration (1001 Places to Remember publication), curation and so on! For this specific collaboration, I will be contacting the moderators of @steemitworldmap to know more about their works and see how we can work together.

Set up Archisteem’s community support bot

By visualizing the @archisteem community grow to a more than 50 active users’ capacity, it will be impossible to support all the users with upvotes and feedbacks. Therefore, I had approached @superoo7, the brilliant bot-maker who happened to be the creator of #teammalaysia support bot and other amazing bots (like for the Philippines). According to him, the cost of starting a bot is not as expensive as I imagined, and the maintenance cost is also reasonably affordable.

Thus, the next step after the launch of @fundition proposal, the team will plan out the supporting system for the @archisteem community and approach @superoo7 for the execution of idea. I am totally thrilled about this idea that one day the community that I built has become those communities that I admired, helping the minnows to grow and create a fun and more connected community.


image.png

Want to know more about #archisteem?

A new tag that is to curate our existing built environment and also future built environment development. Want to know more? Read here.

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


My referral link for @smartmarket & @smartsteem

image.png

Find me at @kimzwarch

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @kimzwarch! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the great advice there :) will keep in mind!

Beautiful .. You are lucky good for you
Thank you for sharing your adventure with us
Great post done well‏..

great effort buddy !!! keep it up !! Shout out to @cklai and @funtraveller

Wonderful initiative! Wishing you all the best @kimzwarch

Thanks @kchitrah! Do drop by time to time for some Archisteem 😂

@kimzwarch Amazing Sharing on TTS. The project seems​ very interesting

Yeah, thanks for dropping by :)

Welcome to Steemit kimzwarch. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

That’s very kind of you. I will let you know if I have any inquiry ;) cheers!

Thank you for your contribution bro.

Thanks for your support bro!

My pleasure bro. Cheers.

Hi. Very interesting article. I'm new here. Would love some more followers. Will definatly follow you!

Thanks! Will drop by ;)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51