Mental Health Vending Machines in Sydney

in #steemit7 years ago

So this popped up outside of my work today, as part of a year long City of Sydney's Art & About project throughout the city. This display is created by artists Elizabeth Commandeur and Mark Starmach.

These are vending machine that instead of dispensing chocolate and snacks, provide items for the brain instead of the stomach, with proceeds going to local Mental Health organizations.

The packages include:

  • Friendship
  • Imagination
  • Reassurance
  • Connection
  • Belonging
  • Bravery
  • Spontaneity
  • Purpose
  • Chill
  • Structure

IMG_0373.JPG

IMG_0372.JPG

IMG_0371.JPG

IMG_0369.JPG

IMG_0370.JPG


I am not sure what is inside them as I haven’t bought one [and cant seem to find much info online!] I do like the idea but at the same time it makes me slightly uncomfortable – I believe a lot of the ‘items’ in this machine have to be earnt or learnt, it’s a shame everyone thinks everything can just be bought these days [for $2!]… but the intent is good 😊 and its something different!! What do you think?

Kenj xx

Sort:  

That’s an awesome idea...
There should be more of them.

It's a shame it's only an art project at the moment but it could expand!😊

I agree completely. Some things, especially, those mentioned on the machine can't be bought. However, I think it is funny. And probably better then candy and and soda pop machines. I hope you have a nice day down there. And thank you for sharing. It got a good smile out of me. 😀

It brought a smile to my face! Definetly better than junk food vending machines😁even better to see it had sold out by the end of the day too.

You have a wonderful day as well! 😊✌🏼

Hi @kenikat, @mfxae86 mentioned you to me. I would like to invite you to join Team Australia. If this is something you are interested in, please check out the instructions in this post and get back to me when you're ready.
https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-28-03-18-and-what-is-mattclarke-up-to-now

I'll check it out, thanks!! 😁

You got a 6.82% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @kenikat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64