Facebook Exodus - I'm leaving Facebook for Steemit Permanently - FOLLOW ME THERE

in #steemit8 years ago

 

Everyone has seen people throw rage quits on Facebook. Rarely do people truly stay away.

"I'm leaving Facebook for good and never coming back"

Up until now, I have not found a viable alternative to Facebook for sharing my thoughts, research, photos, writings and travels.

That was until now.

I have now found Steemit.

Steemit is a new social media platform that pays the writer rather than the social media website.

Think about it this way. For years... Some over a decade. People have been the main driver for use of the platform called Facebook. Facebook has heavily capitalized on this use. They should of course, it's their website.

But there is a dark side to Facebook. This dark side is their algorithms that censor content that politically does not fit their views. Their algorithms also censor pages and only promote those willing to pay premium fees to reach their own audiences.

I used to have the reach of millions of people through my Facebook pages. I now have the reach of a few thousand if I am lucky. Unless of course, I pay the fee to reach the people who like my page.

 I do not see a financial incentive to continue on facebook.


Steemit doesn't make me pay a fee. Instead, I get paid for good content. People up vote what they like just like getting Facebook likes. They comment and agree or disagree... And their comments get paid too. 


Plus the people are a lot more friendly than facebook.

Part of what you get paid is Steem Power to vote other good blogs, articles, posts and comments. This power gives YOU the power to award good content.


The best content creators are leaving Facebook for Steemit and it has just begun.

Gone are the days of trolls and spammers since there is a reputation system which awards good content and comments.

You can have a poor or incorrect post and someone can get paid more than you for their comment on your post. That is simply amazing.

Gone are the days of giving away your thoughts and ideas for free on Facebook.

I am seriously done with Facebook. I was using it only for Steemit recently... But now I am done.

It's time that my friends, family and followers leave Facebook. You won't regret it. If not, at least give Steemit a try. 


If you want to continue with me online you can find me right here:

https://steemit.com/@keithsmih

Facebook is the new Myspace and no one knows it yet.


I would be careful. Facebook will soon take notice of Steemit and start deleting anyone that posts about it. It's going to be censored for Facebook's own survival.

Prepare for the mass exodus because it's coming. 

Sort:  

Great article. I've only been on for four days and told many friends about it over the last few days and already many have said, "Why go on FB anymore?"... Steemit could snowball VERY, VERY quickly. And, I also agree, I am waiting for FB to censor any posts with links to Steemit.

Exactly. I told people that once the content whales come the fish will follow. Facebook is to restrictive and Steemit allows me to reach people and share my life better than Facebook. Plus I don't have to pay Steemit, I get paid. Great articles by the way Jeff. Glad to see you on board along with Larken and Luke!

Part of me wants to say that's unlikely, but dammit Jeff, the other part of me has to acknowledge that the fact that ideas like ours - which are so definitely NOT shared by Zuckerberg, his company, and the power brokers who he serves so eagerly - have propagated so rapidly thanks to Facebook means they wouldn't be sad to see us go, to the point they may offer us a boost out the door.

I agree with you jeff i see a bright future for steemit and steemians.

The censored Tsu links, so it is just a matter of time if they feel threatened in any way.

Two observations...

  1. I hope you're still posting links to your Steem posts on Facebook, to draw more people here.

  2. Facebook isn't going away. You were using it as a blogging platform apparently, but I think 90% of FB users are on it to keep in touch with IRL friends.

I have done a lot of arguing politics on Facebook, but that's not really the reason I'm there... so going forward I'm going to try to keep the political arguing here. Facebook is for friends, not politics!

For me Facebook has become a negative cesspool reddit unfiltered... I just don't need it in my life anymore. I will reach far more people through other venues than Facebook. Facebook is dying whether people realize it or not. It's just not dying as fast as MySpace. This is my last post to Facebook and u am keeping it up for family but I have deleted it's apps and don't feel a need to go there. Only takes five mins and my blood pressure starts rising.

I used to use Facebook to get exposure for my artwork to encourage people to visit my website and sign up for my newsletter. (Which is my primary means of selling my work and keeping in touch with my collectors. I keep them informed of interesting experiences, provide insights into my creative processes, notify them of my exhibitions, send images of new work, etc.) Try as I might, this didn't work very well. Even paying fees to FB didn't help much. People would "like," "share," "wow," and comment, and little else. After several years of this, I finally figured out (several months ago) that I was simply providing free entertainment and getting nowhere. I got off FB even before I heard of Steemit. I had the same experience with Twitter (although I never paid them anything), LinkedIn, and other platforms.

I believe Steemit provides a great environment for creative people of all kinds to share their content and make worthwhile connections. This is what excites me about Steemit, and I'm glad to be here.

I know what you mean. "free entertainment"

This isn't the worst idea. On the one hand, I have so many meatspace friends still on Facebook. On the other hand, most of them are statists that I rarely - if ever - see in the wild.

Best of luck to you, and best of luck to the rest of us who are toying with the same idea!

I am doing exactly the same and getting rid of facebook !

@mrgrey

Great article , i have never been a big fan of facebook.

Yep, Facebook is toast. I'll spend the majority of my time here rather than there now with the feed feature added.

Going to facebook feels like going to the post-office really.

You sir... I wish I could upvote this 100 times

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61