Some people smoke weed, I do amphetamines

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm happy to see how open minded steemit community is. The #marijuana topic is now n.2 on the list, however I am not going to talk about that today.

I would like to introduce you to something I fancy: amphetamines, more specifically, ADHD medications such as Adderall and Dexedrine.

You may be wondering, why do I take these drugs?
Simple answer is: To get shit done.

I get more stuff done on days I take amphetamines than during an entire week of non-amphetamine use.

How?
Amphetamines help me break into the flow state, and stay in it for much longer.

Flow

Its that elevated state of being, when time slows down, and speeds up at the same time.
Its when you completely immersed in what you're doing, only to regain awareness by noticing 8 hours have passed since you've started.

Flow is the best thing in the world. It feels great. It feels like genuine happiness.

Rules

My main goal is to enjoy amphetamine usage without addiction, or brain damage due to accumulated neurotoxicity / lack of sleep.

I have developed a paranoid system that works very well for me.

Avoiding tolerance buildup and addiction

The base dose is 10mg for both Adderall and Dexedrine.
My goal is to never exceed that dose in a 24hr period.
Also, I only take extended-release (XR) versions of the drug.

Do NOT follow doctors advice
Unfortunately, they don't know better. The drugs industry wants you to be hooked and consume more and more of their product.

These drugs are prescribed to be used on a daily basis.
However, after following this model for a year, I found myself pretty addicted.

If I didn't get my daily fix shortly after waking up, I would become a zombie. Have absolutely no energy, or drive to do ANTYHING at all. I would just lie in bed all day.

Furthermore, the brain builds up tolerance against dopamine and norepinephrine stimulation. So you need more, and more and more to get the same effect.

Avoiding Brain Damage

Research results are mixed on this topic. Most of the research is sponsored by the drug industry itself, so its conclusions are to be taken with a grain of salt.

To be on a safe side, I employ a Rest and Recover schedule.

Average adult needs approx. 8 hours of solid sleep per night. My rule is, that I never re-take amphetamines unless I've had 12 hours of sleep since the last dose. This is 1.5 nights of good sleep.

Usually, I can't sleep much after taking these pills, and thus, I employ 2 day off periods.

Example Weekly Schedule:

DayTakeDo
MondayAdderallWork, Work, Work (16hr+)
Tuesday-Eat, Sleep, Exercise, Read Books, etc.
WednesdayCoffee?Light Work, Read Books/Research/Study, Meditate, etc
ThursdayDexedrineWork, Work, Work (16hr+)
Friday-Eat, Sleep, Exercise, Read Books, etc.
SaturdayCoffee?Light Work, Read Books/Research/Study, Meditate, etc
SundayDexedrineWork, Work, Work (16hr+)

?: Only drinking coffee sometimes. Coffee is very addictive too!

Bonus tip

Avoid consuming sugars and simple carbs on work days.
I usually start a day with a high fat meal, comprised of things like eggs, avocados, nuts, cheese, etc. This allows me to have plenty of energy for rest of the day without spikes and crashes.

Also, don't do amphetamines without having had a good nights sleep.

Benefits

Being strict with my rules allows me to enjoy the drugs at their full potential without lowering their effectiveness or causing excessive harm to myself.

By limiting their addictiveness, I am able to go off completely at anytime (ie. for travel).

Also, Just to be clear, I do have a prescription for ADHD medications.

#drugs #work #life #changedlife #expertise (I don't know if it counts, but thats the most personal thing I've written so far, so #introduceyourself as well).

Sort:  

This is a very interesting post. I have no experience with these types of medication but based on my addiction to caffeine I feel I should never try them. The marijuanas I inject daily are enough to feed the beast inside me that hungers.

Wow good on you for having such a responsible schedule with drugs. I feel if the issue of medications/drugs had been approached by current society with a more open mind then more people would find the right choice and schedule to enhance and maximize their personal potential.

I have experienced that flow state but getting there is very tricky because I'm always getting distracted by so many things. It seems you have found an answer for that, very awesome!

Thanks for the feedback. I plan to experiment with different nootropics as well, however I don't feel like people are really interested in these kinds of drugs.

well ok then spammer bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66