What Should You Write About On Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

pexels-photo-247287.jpeg

I've been getting this question a lot. Newbies are afraid to join Because they don't know what kind of blog they would have.

This is a hard question because the Steemit community isn't as big as Reddit, or Facebook.
But at the same time, it's easy to answer.

What do you love?

It's obvious, you should write about what you enjoy and what you love.
While some subjects obviously do a lot better than others on Steemit, You have a chance to "dominate" certain niches with your writing; You'll be ahead of the game. And later on, you'll be more profitable.
So this is a good long-term strategy.
So what is a short term strategy, If you want to build up your Steem Power Now?

Write About What You Like.

This may not apply to everyone. If you LOVE Cryptocurrency, Then writing about what you love is a great short term goal for you and a great long term goal. But if you LOVE to teach Painting, Sometimes painting posts won't do as well as other posts. So if you LIKE art, You can go for more of broad niche while the Steemit community is small.
Then as the Steemit community grows, You can make yourself stick out by going deeper into the topic.

Should you jump around subjects?

As you can see, I jump around a ton! I write a little bit about everything, Self-improvement, finance, Minimalism, Art, Some journal-like entries.
There are benefits to this, But there are also "cons".

The benefits!

  • You'll reach a larger audience!
  • You'll be able to relate to more people.
  • You can determine what works for you, And what doesn't.

The Cons

  • Getting "authority" over one niche later on will be difficult. People won't know where you stand.
  • Your followers will be spread out over a variety of subjects instead of being passionate about one specific subject. Which once you go for a specific niche, You may lose some followers as a result.
  • People may be somewhat reluctant to follow you, If they don't like the bulk of your topics. They are more likely to be "Surprised" about what you write, Where as if you write about the same thing all the time, They'll be accustomed to it.
    pexels-photo-132982.jpeg

Something for you to decide!

For those of you afraid to get started, Just do it. Don't expect your first post to be perfect. If you look back at some of my first posts, They sucked LOL! I was originally going to write nothing but Adult Coloring posts, But not a lot of people who enjoyed coloring were even here! Also that got boring for me real quick.

Make Steemit Goals

Just like everything else in life, You need to make goals. How big do you want to grow your blog? What type of audience? Will you try to respond to all comments? How will you use your upvotes?
Will you spend your money as you go, Or try and build up your power on the platform?
There is no right or wrong way of doing it. There are a lot of people who do a variety of methods with great success here.

I upgraded my badges! Some of them are a little early! But I know I'm going to have them soon :)

Thank you @elyaque for the awesome Badges!

Sort:  

You don't even need to write to make money on here. I ask them if they get likes when they post stuff on Facebook, if they say yes than anything they are posting there is valuable on steemit. So anything they already post on FB can be posted to steemit to make money. Like random photos of that squirrel in your backyard, or pictures of your meal, and all that useless crap people post. Why people don't get this is beyond me. Of course the mainstream fed sheeple are dumbed down and programmed by society and they eat GMO's which cause them to be so chemically imbalanced and mentally ill, it is scary. They will use FB because "everyone else does" regardless of how pointless fb is, or that steemit is a much better alternative.

I agree and don't agree with you. I don't want this site to turn into "paid" instagram. Where people post bland selfies all day, and lame ass photos.
Unless of course they include a blog with it , Then I'm okay.
But I understand what you are getting at. A lot of people are mindless sheep who will never join Steemit until everyone else does, and by then it will an extremely competitive place where it can be hard to make money.

Yeah I agree with what you are saying. I don't want steemit to turn into that either, I think Instagram is a waste of time. However, the average person I interact with always says, well "what would I write about" then that ends the join steemit convo because they are not creative enough to do anything more than take selfies and pictures of the GMO food they are indulging in. So if we want to bring the average person here, then we have to let them know how easy it is to be on steemit. Their selfie posts should not do as well as a well written blog, and the decentralized nature of steemit will hopefully make it so. The articles that are well written will likely still get pushed to the top by people up-voting them.

Peace. Thanks for responding.

So true! I like your mindset on that. I think your right, We may have to focus more on just bringing them here. Maybe we can get them to blog later :)

Your post is a wonderful way to encourage newbies. It is inspiring and positive, great job kaylinart

Thank you :)

Agree.... ! :)

Thanks :)

2 things. 1: I almost wrote a "write what you love post" this morning and then changed it. Great minds think alike and apparently so do ours :) 2: This post has some new gifs/badges that are cool. You may want to take a peek.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@juanmiguelsalas/9-animated-gifs-with-the-steemit-logo-to-use-in-your-post-or-to-promote-steemit

Thank you! Those are way cool!!! I love how they were designed hehe

Before I joined Steemit a couple of weeks ago, I had the exact same thoughts - "I don't know what to write about"
Now that I have joined, I feel good writing about topics that interest me and also getting some form of recognition for them. It builds up confidence to go and write another.
Hopefully I'll get better writing skills as I go along.
I enjoyed your blog!

Exactly!! Thank you for your comment :) I'm glad you are getting more comfortable! It happened to me too. I felt lost and confused on here when I first joined.

Same thing here when I joined last July 2016. But when I started to write, ideas started to flow towards my head.

Exactly! And if you feel brain dead one day, You can review your idea list, and have something to write.

Correct. Because ideas mainly comes from reading. If a person wanted to write and dont want to read, his ideas are limited or close to nothing to write at all. Unless he has a lot of experiences to share or possesses a good imaginition skills to come up with fictional ideas.

@juvyjabian yeah things that would never enter my head to write about, I am writing about now.

Great. Keep it up

Great post @kaylinart.
Do you have a scheduled plan for when and what you are posting, and do you set any milestones or objectives to reach?

No, I do have an idea of what I will post though. I often prepare a list of topics in advance. But I do not actively post at the same time each day.

I like the idea of a topics list, I have thought about it as well. So maybe I will try it out. Thanks for the input :)

You should :) That way if you get 30 ideas one day and only 1 the next you can use that list to help you.

Nice post, I haven't really started posting yet, but it would be cool if users could create multiple blogs in their account that can be followed. Cause if I want to write in german and sometimes in englisch it sucks for the german people that follow me and vice versa.

Hi @kaylinart, great advice. one thing I think that can be written about is about our lives. People are always interested in other people lives as long as the post is written well and interesting and with plenty of pictures. I am still struggling with this as I am wary about revealing too much online because I am a very private person. i do not have FB or other social media account as a result. Though joining steemit, I have been more open than usual and now considering whether to open up more.

Life category is the most popular category in the community.

Makes sense... good post

I didn't worry about this when i joined ,but later on when i saw that my post got pennies instead of dollars :( .. i decided to go with a rather taboo subject, i have not regret it yet .

We just need to focus our attention to the content that we are producing and not the rewards, because you will never notice that you are already.

Exactly! It's all about doing what you love and getting rewarded for creating a positive affect on others

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47