Scheduled Posts On SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I would love to see the ability to schedule posts into the future; That won't count on our "four posts a day" Payout decline.
On somedays I have more time for post writing, So I'll write a ton of quality posts, While others I don't' have as much time and can't write, So Having my posts "post" on those days would be fun. Plus while on vacation, I could have things posted as I enjoy my vacation days. A nice "hands off approach."

This would benefit others who are at work most the day, and may want to post their post early in the morning, Late at night or in the afternoon. They'll have flexibility on that.

Of course, we'll need to address the cons to "timed" posting.

Cons to Scheduled postings

People don't necessarily have to be on the site to post.

Which could lead to weird "active" numbers? We could see people not come on at all to comment, Or curate other posts, But instead "bulk up " their scheduled post list.

- Great for spammers.

They could do all their nonsense spamming in one sitting, Heck they could schedule posts to post every ten minutes. It would be harder to stop them once they have it neatly set up ready to go.
Maybe this addition could be given to people with a reputation of 50 and up, Or some kind of number like that.

Pros to scheduled posting

Great for active people who want to have more control of the time they post.

Later on in Steemits future, We may have a follower base that will expect certain posts at certain time. In real life this can be hard to do, Posting consistent posts at the same time each day or week, The person would not feel as "rushed" because they could write their blog early then post it the hour they want.

Vacationers have leverage

My schedule seems a bit crazy, I often go on long vacations, And I don't always have access to internet. I also get motivated randomly to write a lot in one day, where as I can't post more than the four posts in the 24 hour period, Or I'll lose my curation rewards. This would let me move the access to other days. Right now I store it nicely in my Evernote, But this is a bit inconvenient at time.

Facebook pages have "scheduled" postings.

As do other websites, It seems to work for them. Especially if we have a good blocking feature, This will allow us to block those spammers Or others who are being obnoxious on the Steemit Platform.

What do you guys think of this? Do you think Scheduled postings should be a thing?

Looking for Steemit Gear? Get a New Steemit Shirt from Amazon for only 10.99

Sort:  

I have seen a few say they write on the days they can, save the text in notepad then post on days they can not write. Not a perfect solution but in a way it gets around the issue of the 4 post limit inside the day you are able to write and creates posts to add on the days you can not write.

That is exactly what I do, I don't always have the freedom to sit and write every single day. Running a business is top priority, as well as, posting on Steemit. I hope to also have a scheduled posting sometime in the future.

Agreed @sunscape I have the same craziness lol.

Yes I do something similar using Evernote! I would rather get it ready to go on steemit lol.

The problem with this addition is that you are looking at it from a other blogger platform, single database perspectives.

But, this is painful to do on a distributed blockchain.


Doing this is from your computer extremely easy if you know how to talk to the block chain. If you are on a linux machine you can tell it to do it at any time you want. You just write a script, and viola, done. (see piston)

From a decentralized point of view, this is a pain in the ass, almost unsolvable problem.

As in, where do you store it?

  • on the blockchain
  • on your computer
  • on some server you have control over.

If you store your post on the blockchain, everyone can read it. Why would anyone wait? You could write HTML code that would not show posts that are supposed to be in the future, but that often backfires on the developers. (if you have your computers clock set wrong, it shows no posts, type of problems)

So it can't go on the blockchain, so where does it go? It goes on your computer, or on some server. (that server not being steemit) If it is on your computer, you can just have a cron (cronological system on linux/ does something at a specific time) job execute a script and upload your saved post. But if your computer is turned off at that time, it won't do it until you turn it on again.

You could do the same thing on a server. Hostgator minimum package, and you run the cron job there. That server is almost always on. But that requires you to push your text file up to the server and start a cron job.

Now, an interface can be created for all this. It is both easy, and painfully long to write. There are so many piece that need interfaces... and then you have to port it to all the platforms...
The part of the interface I would have the hardest time with would be the what will it look like when uploaded. This is trying to hit a moving target as steemit modifies their display.

So, where do you want to store your posts for the future?

One such server that we have control over is steemit.com

Does anyone know how much storage space steemit.com has access to?
When editing a post, is it stored in a database on steemit.com?

Another way is to set up a server such as SteemWriters.blog
And copy over the post editing page along with more tools.
Does anyone have a good knowledge of steem -> bitcoin -> webhosting?

I wish for responses. These are not idle questions.

@kaylinart, this is something I wanted from the beginning. I was a power seller on ebay for years and I used the the option to post into the future all the time.

Steemit really just needs some sort of draft page in the back end I believe. I am sure down the road scheduled posts and queuing of posts will hopefully be options, but for now, let me draft more than one post at a time!

I'm sure it will come out eventually! I'm way excited for that.

@kaylinart this has been possible for months now with Piston tool. See http://piston.readthedocs.io/en/stable/app.html#posting. You can use cron to schedule posting at any specified interval. Perhaps @xeroc (chainsquad) could also develop a frontend UI for this tool.

Nice thank you for the tool. Will look into it soon.

Thank you! I had no idea! I'll look into it hehe.

Link is dead. You have this archived or another source by any chance?

Great suggestion. Again, you are a very smart/intelligent woman.

Steem on!

Lasse

I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE THIS
great idea

Sounds like a great idea. Love the bunny.

Thank shehe.

That is certainly something I would like to see too:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47