My First Day Of Self Employment (PART 1)

in #life8 years ago

I’m like a little traumatized child that lost their parents, In a crowded grocery store.

Where the F*** is my job?

Wait! Are you saying my job doesn’t exist?

After being fully employed starting at the age of 16, I thought for sure I was trapped. Working until I’m in my 60’s. I’m 23 now and I just ended my employment at my job. None of those articles you see ever tell you this stuff,
I’m in absolute shock.
Things haven’t been getting done lately. I feel like I got punched in the face twenty times. Today is about being happy, about celebrating. But I’m in this weird state of shock.

No work Monday?

Are my bills going to get paid?

Keep in mind that I didn’t end my employment until I started bringing enough money in from multiple income sources for about 6 months straight, So I’m good! I may struggle a bit. But I know a couple simple ways to make some quick money.

And by quick money, I mean 10, 20, 30 dollars or so.

Which can last me quite a few days being a cheapskate.
Although I’m mostly worried about my business expenses and my online store.
I order things off Amazon for people and I have to BUY the item for them initially. But then I get my money back later in a random time. Sometimes it piles up on my credit card and almost maxes it out… Scary stuff! But I like to take advantage of the cashback/miles I get. I never pay interest because I know a couple tricks… I can’t openly admit them, because they aren’t very ethical. Not illegal though.

I just accomplished one of the biggest goals and dreams I’ve ever had in my life.

Now I need to figure out the “now what”
What does Kaylin Watchorn want out of life?
I know I want to start traveling, I’ve had a very sheltered life, I was forced into the Mormon Church at a young age. (I’ll write more about that later).

I also have parents who are very close minded & disgustingly old fashioned.
I want to branch out from that and life a free life!
This is my attempt at getting it all out of life. But I feel like I’m on a really scary and risky road, If I fail, I could lose everything.
If I succeed I could get everything.

Is This Really Happening?

I left my job that gave me amazing health insurance, I had to pay NOTHING out of pocket, This job was only part time. I made 12.70 an hour, and I got 3 weeks paid vacation, paid option days and sick days. Also it’s a union job, So They had my back on any issues that came up.
When I quit I gave that all up, All 4 years of seniority.
I decided to take that risk…

Did you see my other post for today?
How to HACK your Confidence!

Sort:  

You're a brave person and it's a great thing. You've said it all. "If you fail, you lose everything, if you succeed, you get everything".

Don't let the negative stop you from doing what you've set on your mind and heart. Nothing great is easy so the fact that it's tough now or you see that it's going to be tough in the future is a good sign that you're heading for greatness.

Ofcourse, when we all set out to do something we haven't done in our lives before, it's always a daunting task.

My message is, based on your story, keep on the path you're heading. It's a great thing you know how to make money to keep you going.

That's extremely important. Not having money can set you back big time and actually cause you to give up on your hopes.

So to be able to do that, is great. You mentioned amazon so i thought of telling you about amazon mechanical turk, which you can do basic jobs for money. Use that and add to your income stream.

Even though it's not a lot, I'm hoping it can at least make a difference for you. Very inspiring story and a story that has the potential to set loose others to achieving their dreams. Know that, it won't be easy.

But also know that, with perseverance and relentlessness, you can do everything. You've got a great family here in Steemit to help you along the way. All the best of luck.

Much Love.

I wish I could upvote this 4 more times! hehe What a great comment!
I agree with everything you said and it's such wonderful advice!
I hate when people say that money is never important. Because it really is, Without funds you become somewhat trapped and there is so much you can do to get yourself out.

Awww it's fine :) My little words being able to add a little bit more push on your vehicle moving for greatness is enough satisfaction for me.

I'm glad if it helped you. And yes, no matter how strong you are. Not having money to support you a little, has the potential to stall you.

You can do it kaylinart.

Little drops of water make a mighty ocean.

A journey of a thousand miles begin with a step.

Remember these great words and know they're true, even Scientifically lol. Again know it won't be easy but don't let it discourage you.

Rather, use that knowledge to drive you on. I wish i could see you in person and encourage you on. I'm happy when we're all doing our best to make the best out of ourselves and life as a whole.

We've all been through a lot and because of that, we're strong, experienced and knowledgeable people. Count it all joy! You're strong no matter the circumstances, good or bad, rain or shine.

Do your best , be proud and know you always do and are giving it everything! :)

Aww thank you! I wish the best to you too :)

Thank you very much :)

I'm finishing my first week of a 2 week vacation. I'm thinking about going to work Monday and telling them I'm not going back next Monday! Here's the thing, I think I won't be able to go back to work Monday. I made so many money this week with Steemit. I would be really silly not to try to make it on Steemit. Good luck @Kaylinart! You're an inspiration!

Yeah I know how those comments feel! Keep on the good work!

The best rule for a self employed is too keep some money on the side ,like for a month ,good luck steemete

Exactly! I plan to save as much as I can

Hopefully it works out for you! I've done the same in the past and had both good and bad experiences with being entrepreneurial and striking out on my own. As you say, the initial shock of "O-M-G I don't have a job" is quite different from the sense of freedom one might expect.

Right now I'm in the process of working a steady full time job while starting an indie game studio on the side, trying to get the best of both worlds, and truth be told it's very difficult (though not impossible) to do well in two things at the same time. What you're doing may ultimately lead to greater success, but of course also carries the greater risk.

Well done at being brave enough to take the leap. People can bring out their highest level of ability when their back is against the wall to produce results. Best of luck with it.

It is! No one told me about the initial shock. I've been trying to run more, and do things to help me relax my brain so I can think clearly.

Game studio! That is amazing!! It does sound difficult, It seems like there are less resources for that kind of thing.

You are very talented. And, this is an amazing statement ...

If I fail, I could lose everything.
If I succeed I could get everything.

Hopefully it will be in the intro to your movie/screen play. Fingers crossed.

Thank you! I didn't think about that hehe!

You are brave but you do have a talent so I am sure you will be good ;)

Thank you! It was very scary to do ! I'm going to keep practicing and sharpening my skills.

For sure. Looking forward to part 2 and any others.

I should be posting that soon :) I added the finishing touches hehe.

I love your art. It's sad that you broke out of your cage but are still trying to stay in the zoo though.

If you really want your creativity to spike, you might want to try giving up on being dependent upon money. Once the cortisol from all of the stress goes away and the ghrelin from being hungry sets in, you'll be way more creative!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghrelin
I'm joking about being hungry. Since I went freegan, I've never been hungry except for fasting on purpose.

Anyway, these links changed my life.
http://www.moneylessmanifesto.org/
http://zerocurrency.blogspot.com/

Wow ! Why I didn't see this before! It's a very interesting way of living, Thank you.

You're very talented. Keep it up!

It's also really awesome that you now have an income due to the steempower you collected. So now your life is in your hands. It's something a lot of us should strive for.

Yes I'm way excited about that too :) But its best to not keep all your eggs in one basket.

Good atmo here, helpful and welcoming

Congrats on your success keep living your dream!

Thank you hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57