I FINALLY Got My Family To Join Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

woman-2200021_960_720.jpg
I've been on Steemit for over a year now, And I've been annoying my family like crazy to join Steemit. Finally, it's starting to happen.
My brother's girlfriend Trisha Who is @Treeshaface joined first.
I Was surprised how open and excited she was about Steemit!

I also got @lauralemons To join! She's easily the most active person I got on here! Laura Is a long time internet friend that I've had. We met each other online through our art!

My sister joined a while ago But hasn't written yet, unfortunately. She's scared to start writing (Perfectionism at play!)

My Brothers Best Friend Scott also joined. His username is @sjensen

My Brother Wrote His Intro Post Today!

And Now my brother Mike! Also joined. He actually wrote his first intro post today, If you want to help him out :) @woundedknee

Lots of my Facebook Friends Also Joined!

I am trying to get them to post more! But it's amazing getting some of my old school pals, Fellow coloring book artists, And colorists all to join Steemit!

My boyfriend @mahikaru Joined.
Some other people I helped get on the platform:
@lovewild @terishermansart @Anxietygirl @Badxwolff @Mystina83

@Artsygoddess (I can't take credit for this one)
big-waves-2193828_960_720.jpg
There are other people as well, But I don't have their usernames. Sometimes they don't ask for my vote Or send me their posts. So It's hard to know exactly how many people joined from my relentless posting on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. As well as mentioning Steemit On Instagram.

The Hardest Part

I'm finding that it's really hard for Steemit to "Stick" on people. I get people to sign up, And they don't write, Or they only write a couple of posts.
The whole blogging thing seems intimidating for them. Which hopefully we can figure out a way to make it less scary? I'm still promoting Steemit in everyway that I can! Hopefully I can later get hundreds or thousands of people to join later on.

Everytime I post, I still get a little nervous. I'm afraid something in my post won't sit right with people, That I may mess up my words and write something offensive. I feel like that fear resides with many of us here on Steemit, But we have to ignore it and take the risk. Luckily Steemit has the nicest community ever! I feel like so many of us are understanding and down to earth! I wish people weren't so afraid to post!

Just post it!

BY THE WAY! I FINALLY HIT 73! REPUTATION SCORE! It took forever! But I'm so excited to have earned a new number <3

mountain-2143877_960_720.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks lin!! I love this post!!

Finally.
You can create a new group to support each other so they would at least have one post a day.
Like you said, some of them didnt even ask your vote or help. Maybe they dont really start it yet.
You could gather them all like a tiny steemfest on the weekend and motivate them by voting each other for starter.

Don't be nervous, just be real and let people sort themselves out if they don't like what you post! Keep annoying the world one person at a time! Those that mind don't matter and those that matter won't mind!

Agreed completely! Being real is easier anyways :)

Right? So True! Hehehe

LOL You referenced my shirt XD hahahah you are amazing!

I told you they crack me up!

you are so right about family! following you now... ;-)Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 7.56.36 PM.png

wow, seems like you had a hard time convincing people to sign up on Steem. Love what you are doing. Followed!

That is really a very good news and congratulations to you for achieving so much here. We all know that it means a lot and I personally feel that it's going to take forever for me to gain so much reputation here. I'm new here and am really worried what will happen next. By the way, congratulations. Happy for you.

This is all fantastic news! I have an idea for you and yours.

I played with the Steepshot phone app one day. Since I'm far from being a woman of few words, I found the app frustrating because it only posts one photo and the Title field. And I used the Commenting section to my advantage.

Today I saw someone post a title that was more like an informational tweet when he used Steepshot.

Soooo it might serve as a gateway app to help your more shy friends and family,

Congrats on bringing in companions!

Wow really I'll look into that! Thank you .

You're welcome!

To me, it seems Steemit.com can be persnickety about displaying jpg as thumbs. I've taken to using an image converter app also. There's several available.

The app I have also allows me to reduce the image size and do quick, fast crop and rotate.

I use the converter for all posting from the cell phone, actually.

Enjoy have fun

Good for you. The more people we get on here that can post the better. I guess it is scary for beginners to post. I know I was. Then I let my cousin read what I been posting and she really liked it. Well if my cousin wants more than I would try to give her more. After everything I blog I email her the link. Maybe we just need someone that encourages us to write more. Well it worked for me.

Hey @kaylinart , I totally get you ! I've got a few friends who joined ... did 1 or 2 posts ... got caught by Cheetah (lol) and went back to Facebook because they didn't place the efforts of engaging. Sooner or later they'll come around ... I kinda want to buy a hat or a t-shirt that says "I TOLD YOU SO" . Cheers and always great to read your posts.

Congratulations on hitting Level 73 :) The only other platform I see this being similar to is YouNow (I use that for livestreaming). The first 30 levels were easy, and then level 40+ became so difficult. Here it's like once you get to the 60s I'm guessing it takes an insane amount of rep from whales to move up. But that's good! 73 will definitely help out. Also fantastic to get family to join, the word of mouth is helping the app and everybody big time. I'm excited for the community to hit 1m+ next year!

They are related to an awesome author! Glad to heart that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54