You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just a Steemian Concerned About Art Theft- A Short Rant

in #steemit6 years ago

I have found my own art work on other people's websites, used to illustrated their articles or whatever. I contact them and ask them to give me credit for using my work. Facebook is FULL of artwork that people don't even bother to identify. One guy who used one of my murals on his printed calendar that he was selling said I could sue him if it bothered me. It's always a battle.

Sort:  

GGGRRRRRRR! You must spend many hours on your paintings. Your work is amazing. That guy's attitude is frustrating too. Facebook is out of control.

There is a guy I always see getting jacked on facebook. He makes really great drawings and he portrays his concepts in a very unique and understandable way. So it is easy to see why so many people like it enough to steal it, but I feel bad for the guy. He is eternally dealing with it.

But this thieves out here might be telling us that we, as artists, are not taking advantage of the t-shirt and calender business. ;)

I don't really worry about it much. Remember the saying, "imitation is the most sincere form of flattery". Nobody has yet made a fortune on my art work, and if somebody does, believe me, they will have me to answer to! Actually I have mugs printed with my art work, and pillow cases too. Am planning to add shawls.
I spend about 2 and a half months on each painting. I love enriching the surface, layer by layer. Happy painting to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68