Save up all the SteemPower you can! Steemit needs a middle-class

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

One of the posts that has existed here on Steemit as long as I have been here (which is quite a while) is the post about how the lousy quality of the other posts are going to ruin the whole Steem idea and undermine the value of the Steem token.

In a virtual world of egocentric self voting whale investors, bot-armies, scammers, votebuying and much more i do understand the frustration even though I always have been rather stoic about it. Easy come easy go, right? But what can one really do about it?

I am here for the money, but not the easy money. Here is what I do

  1. I power up all my earnings
  2. I vote for quality profiles that interests me
  3. I stand up for people who I feel gets mistreated even though it might cost me
  4. I try to comment as much and as good as possible
  5. I vote for my own posts (but never for my own comments)

EDIT: 6. I don't sell or buy votes!

Sounds like a square, decent little middle-class man or woman, doesn't it?

Steemit needs a middle-class. Whales can be fine, but thousands of dolphins would be much better. This is why I think that as long as the system allows it you should upvote yourself. Empowering a decent chap or lady... or queer or whatever like yourself is going to create much better voting patterns, communication, flagging and posts.


Image based on #cretivecommons image by Paul Townsend

See the brilliant @paulag's post about why it is a good idea to power up:

How Can You Increase SP FASTER and Earn more Liquid SBD? STEEMIT GROWTH HACK

I will also mention this:

One of the finest examples of a middleclass Steemian (apart from myself of course) is @steevc. He lately got a punch in the nose by the highly sensitive and highly aggressive selfvoter whale @haejin and as money quite literally is power here on Steemit there was not much to do... except writing a song :)

Go listen to it here

Sort:  

I know you have strong opinions on self-voting and some may disagree with you. I also self-vote but only on posts, but I vote a lot on other posts and comments too.

As regards powering-up, well I'm trying to catch up to the middle class, but started rather late. Steem was down again today so I took advantage and powered up again. I have yet to take anything out. However if 5000SP is Middle class, then im not even halfway yet.

What would you consider a Middle class value in terms of SP?

I wouldn't say I have strong opinions on self-voting. Until recently it did so automatically on posts.

My opinion is that as long as the bad guys'n'bot are doing it it will be wrong not to strengthen yourself. It is a power battle whether you like it or not. But of course I vote for a lot of other profiles too.

I am not sure how to define a middle class, but there is already some who call it Dolphins and Orcas. Dolphins being lower middle class and orcas higher middle class...

OK, let me re-phrase that then. 'You have been very clear about your opinions on self-voting your own posts on more than one occasion', and my opinions are the same on this topic.

Like @steevc says about the curation rewards, Im happy to switch to this. I think thats a fair idea.

Steemit is an experiment! BRING ON THE CRAZY CHANGE!

I guess ignorance is bliss, even after nearly a year here I remain fairly clueless. A very nice Korean steemarian from sndbox was attacked by a killer whale, but at least everybody on sndbox upvoted her and that softened the blow.

I've only recently started to power up. I just try to do posts I enjoy and I'm thankful for the few people who make it to my blog.

After the one year mark next month I guess I will reevaluate whether or not it makes sense to keep plugging along. Creativity comes naturally to me, but unfortunately I possess zero social media skills

PS I think you should do a rap version of @steevc 's song, maybe illustrated :-)?

I was like that when was just a young Steemian with lots of spunk. Now that I am older...

I will indeed work on that rap version! Could be fun if people made their own version of it.

Looking forward to that! Did you see @shortcut is back, & with an epic post :-)

Yes!!! the more I see these types of posts, the more I know the tides will eventually shift... Just today I wrote something exactly about this... Granted you went straight to the yugular, I tend to dance to much around the bush...

My point is very simple, we can talk about voting curves, we can talk about SBD debt against steem being increased and all those things would not matter in the slightest, if the power of the platform, the "control" to use a better word is not so centralized.

If we have 10 whales that dictate everything, because they are the only true investors on the platform, then we can't complain while at the same time we are powering everything down and thinking short term.

I'm clapping in my chair!! hahahahah

I read your post - not surprisingly I agree completely! The good thing is that power equals money in this platform, so if you want to change things you have to get rich, and make the good honourable people rich too. The simplicity is nice for once.

Well, I appreciate a straight shooter more than anything. I'm yet to learn the lessons in efficiency.

Cheers mate.

If you all keep upvoting yourselves only, what will happen to minnows like me at the bottom of the chain? How can we grow in the chain if you people don't support us once in a while? We need your support also. So you people should put us in your consideration so that the system can be more sustainable.

I didn't write "upvote yourself only". I posts once or twice a day and have plenty of voting power left to vote for others.

I understand sir. Just want you people to remember that minnows are also at the bottom struggling. Thanks

Most of my votes already goes to minnows.

I think you can see that the 3 of us have all upvoted you.
Constructive critcism is always welcome.

Thanks sir. With such support minnows can have a little bit of hope in the steemit ocean. I greatly appreciate

I may agree at some point with you @katharsisdrill, we are allowed to do self-voting. I personally do not do self-voting because the power is not my own. I would do it once in a while if I had my own power. Because as you said, it is better to build our own power rather than hoping the whale would see our post. And supporting each other also good thing to do to rise up our income.

Supporting is very important! :)

Sure it is my friend, and know you will always support other good contents

Couldn't agree more! Only time I withdraw anything was to afford a new mic to the studio. Built up quite a reasonable SP and started my own curation initiative (that I'm gonna include you in right away).

And you are from Sweden I see! I am from Denmark. I will look into your profile tomorrow!

And I'm even a quarter Danish. 🇩🇰

:) that is a perfect combination.

Where do I read about your curation initiative?

Here's the latest update! https://steemit.com/curation/@jonmagnusson/jon-magnusson-s-favourite-steemians-support-update-2-0

It's quite new so I still figuring things out and fine tuning everything but feels good to be able to support others without having to spend to much time doing so!

Cool. I just put my voting on Steemvoter to be able to make a more solid foundation for the people I want to support. It is one hell of a difficult thing to make it balance. I have concentrated on comics and image art, but I love music and often writes about it.

Yeah the amount of great content is incredible!

Hahahah, there was nothing more to do except writing a song, LOL.

Yeah I totally agree that you're a square middle class good fellow. I also love this idea canvassed here, it's something we should strive for. Right now I'm in a position where I can't really take the steps I should to attain a bigger fish height but this wouldn't go on for long, I'm sure to level up soon enough, the SP has got a MAN, but I've got a PLAN 😂 😂.

Heading over to @paulag's post right away, thank you.

very Informative post..

Do you have any thoughts on the topic?

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

Come on Sizuka. COME ON SIZUKA. Say something relevant... just for once! I won't even bother to give you the friendly neighbourhood Commentphant - you don't read it anyway. Everybody that uses Steemit could say something about this.

thanks for the new blog. that is great and nice photography.......

It is a nice photography! I took this when I was only 22 years old. It was in 1954, the year of the great depression in lower Sussex. Terrible times!

So how are you doing Ashike? Have you resteemed some posts recently?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74