Find out what VESTS are and how different Steemit-User Levels depend on them.

in #steemit6 years ago

If like me, you did a small research prior to joining steemit, you surely have read about whales and how the new users should make the whales pay attention to them, and so on …

As I joined and kept on reading articles about how to produce better content and do better in steemit, I kept seeing the terms whales and minnows. So I had thought that there are 2 categories of users, and I thought I belonged in the first one, the minnows.

VESTS1.jpg

Well, this is not the case. According to @steemitboard, there are actually 5 different user levels and if you count the inactive users, there are 6 levels.

Let's identify the user levels!


The brand new members are called the Red Fish, holding between 0 and 999.999 VESTS
RED.jpg

The Minnows are holding between 1.000.000 and 9.999.999 VESTS
MINNOW.jpg

The Dolphins are holding between 10.000.000 and 99.999.999 VESTS
DOLPHIN.jpg

The Orcas are holding between 100.000.000 and 999.999.999 VESTS
ORCA.jpg

The Whales are holding more than 1.000.000.000 VESTS
WHALE.jpg

And of course pay attention to the ‘dead fish’ who are the users who have been inactive for more than 30 days..
dead.jpg

Quoting from @steemitboard:

Inactive, for SteemitBoard it means that:
• you have not published any post
• you have not written any comment
• you have not made any vote
Fortunately, this condition is not irreversible, and SteemitBoard can bring you back to life instantly.
Perform any of the three operation described above, and you will come back alive.


Source info Steemitboard

33.jpg

Ok, but what are VESTS and how can see see how many of them we have?


You can check your stats, VESTS and awards by entering your username at: https://steemitboard.com

Regarding some statistics, I have found this website > https://steemd.com/distribution but it seems to be down for maintenance / so we will check back later

A few words about STEEM


I have found two very well-written posts here and here where the differences between steem, steem power and steem dollars are explained.

The users see three type of steem in their wallet.

You can check the differences between Steem, Steem Power and Steem Dollars
Info from FAQ

  • STEEM - STEEM is the base liquid currency token in the platform. STEEM can be powered up into STEEM Power, traded for Steem Dollars, and transferred to other accounts. It is a cryptocurrency token, similar to bitcoin.
  • STEEM Power - STEEM Power (abbreviated SP) is a measurement of how much influence a user has in the Steem network. The more STEEM Power a user holds, the more they can influence the value of posts and comments. STEEM Power is less liquid. If a user wishes to “Power Down” SP, they will receive equal distributions of the STEEM weekly, over a 13 week period.
  • Steem Dollars - Steem Dollars (commonly abbreviated SBD) are liquid stable-value currency tokens designed to be pegged to $1 USD. Steem Dollars can be traded with STEEM, and transferred to other accounts for commerce or exchange. Steem Dollars may also be converted into STEEM in a process that takes 3.5 days. Steem Dollars can be used to buy things in marketplaces, such as PeerHub.com.

A few words about VESTS


VESTS are meant to be shares in the fund of Steem Power (which is liquid steem held in a fund and cannot be liquidated at once, but only in 13 weekly equal portions if the user selects to power down)

  • What is a MVEST?
  • A VEST is a unit of measurement for STEEM Power. A MVEST is one million VESTS. The amount of STEEM Power in one MVEST can be found on steemd.com as steem_per_mvests.

Your VESTS can increase by creating or curating content or when you Power Up.

To calculate your Vests: Check your Steem Power, multiply it by 2.048656 (which is the vest amount per 1 steem power at the moment)

vests.jpg

Or simply enter https://steemd.com/@yourusename and check what is written on the upper right corner : )

33.jpg

I have written this post trying to understand what vests are, what user level I am and how I can increase my Vests and subsequently my user-level. I hope this will be helpful for everyone.
Thank you for stopping by!

cover5.jpg

Sort:  

This is a great read and a perfect way to explain the whole concept of levels. Still in the red fish stage myself but loving every minute of it. Here’s to the next level! Thanks for sharing

Thanks so much for commenting, you have a great blog + instafeed (you got yourself a new follower :))
Here's to the next level and all the best to you
Best,
Katerina from Greece

No worries, when someone puts so much time and information into a post like this one, it’s always worth a read! I think new ushers will eapcrially find this helpful! Thanks for following! How’s Greece? I’ve never been!

Kalimera... poli kali enimerwsi..

still a minnow :(

Maybe, but with a biiig reputation :)
"A red fish"

You will get there too. Your content is very promising shoot me a message over steemit.chat (same username) iI have some tips that may help you grow faster :D

@trumpman Can you give me some tips too? I am new and do photography posts!! I am very confused about steemit as no one is watching me! Ca you tell me how can i become better!! Thank u!!

Sure! Are you on discord? :)

@trumpman plz talk with me on discord! i need some help!

whats your discord? :D

Helpful, thanks for this. Was looking for info on info on vests through steemit posts that were written ,and not videos. Which yours is and its Good to read. Which yours is and its Good to read.

Thank you @aagabriel! I am happy you found useful info.
If you have any questions please feel free to let me know. I might already know it, or we might end up learning something new!
Best,
@katerinaramm

This is great post to help understand vests. I can’t believe I’m just a red fish, lol.

Thank you @beeyou! Yes, imagine that.. I never thought there was such a category - I believed we were all minnows at first!

@katerinaramm very informative post! After reading it whole I now quite understanding the concept! I already upvoted it cause it deserves to be upvoted! I am new to steemit and working on photography! But no one is viewing my stuff! May I invite you to come to my blog and watch my posts, and to leave comments on how i can do better! It will be highly appreciated! Thank u!!

Thanks for visiting my blog :)
I see you are very new here, so my advice is to be patient, prepare a great introductory post, make new friends in the photography sector of steemit and if you have some time, you can read a few posts here
For any questions, do not hesitate to ask!
All the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52