Deciding What to Write About – Researching – Synthesis of a Blog Post. A Personal Approach by @katerinaramm (Part 2 – Researching)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Researching about your steemit post

Today I will try to shed some light to my process of how I am researching for writing an article. Keep in mind that this is just advice based on my experience. Each one should do their own research about improving their research : ) Also, It is very important to know the topic you will be writing about and to note your personal ‘twist’ in everything that you blog about. Unless of course you are an unbiased journalist, then you already know how to research and you do not need to read below!

STEP 1 – Ask Yourself

Do you already have a subject?
If you do, go to Step 2
If you do not have, please take a look at my #part1 or this post by my friend Ilias.

STEP 2 – Orient Yourself

What I first do is write a couple of draft headlines that will guide me through to the process / character / content of my article.

STEP 3 – Gather Information and Read Carefully

I research online (or in books I have) as much as I can regarding the topic. It is important that we have read information so that we can form our opinion and describe with our own words what we are about to share with the world.

STEP 4 - Make Sure that the Information you are Reading is Trustworthy

Internet is a world full of information. Not all of them are true, you have got to be extra careful which websites you are using for your information gathering. Reputable online newspapers can help you form an opinion but depending on the topic you are writing about, you may need more notable papers such as scientific papers, whitepapers or anything that has an authenticity which cannot be denied. You would not want to be proven wrong or post information that is not right.

research.jpg

STEP 5 – Write Down the Structure of your story

If you have no bones, you can have no body. If you have written an essay or a project in school, you know that it needs to be well structured. So write down some sub-headlines about the topics your article will cover. These can change in the process of writing, but at least you will be having your draft structure to begin with. It is important that there is a prologue, the main body with clear sub-parts, and ideally an epilogue (conclusion or call it however you wish. My friend @trumpman sometimes calls it .. The End)

STEP 6 – Improvise

Some times as you start writing your article, it will come out very differently that what you expected it to be. Let you fantasy and originality drive wherever it may be. You may find yourself with a much better article than what you initially thought. It of course depends also on your topic and your theme.

research2.jpg

STEP 7 - Proof Read

Always step back, let you article "breathe" for a while and then read what you have just written. Is it clear? Does it need any adjustments, clarifications? Can everyone understand what you are writing about and why you are writing this post?

STEP 8 - Be Original

Your story needs to have specific answers to these questions:

  • Why is it written?
  • What is it about?
  • Will it be useful for someone(s)?
  • Is it original?
  • Does it include your personal point of view?
  • Is it well-formatted and easy to read? (We will cover this on part 3 of this series)
  • Would you read it if someone else had written it?

you.jpg

Concluding

It all comes down to what you wish to write about, and how well you know a subject. If you have already knowledge about something, it will be easier to research about it and to have a point of view or something new to share.

Just make sure that your work brings value to someone, to your friends, to the community itself (and of course to yourself!)


Good Luck and please let me know your comments below!

Thank you very much for reading!

235.png

Important!

Please note: I have found two links to have very useful information and I suggest that you read them. One of them is by @steemstem (a project regarding science related subjects) but the guidelines posted are of great importance & value for all steemians.
https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/being-a-member-of-the-steemstem-community

Also, this is one of the nicely written posts about scientific research that you can check out and keep what you would like for your research procedures.
https://blog.bufferapp.com/how-we-research-a-look-inside-the-buffer-blog-process

More Important!

Take a look at this post again by @steemstem which mentions copyrights regarding images used. I have found it to be super useful for everyone, regardless their topics.

22222.jpg

(Blue is never out of fashion and fits everywhere!)

All images & Graphics are mine

Sort:  

@katerinaramm I need some step 0 instructions - what do I do in case I have no time to even take a breath? :P JK, nice one!

By the way I always improvise when I'm getting writer's block. But again I guess this only works in specific categories such as philosophy or writing.

You are right about improvising, it depends on the type of post but also on the type of person we are talking about. It has happened to me to start writing post A and finish writing a post B (totally different)

Regarding the STEP 0 instructions, I think you are doing great posting images of your travels & suggestions!

And please do not forget to take a breath, it is of vital importance :P

This article is most excellent! Concise and to the point, breathing (to use your words) both in graphics as well as in its writing.

Thank you for sharing this with us all, it could be applied to any piece of writing or so... Namaste :)

Thank you for visiting and commenting @eric-boucher, it is an honor for me that you enjoyed my piece.
Namaste :)

Really beautiful, informative (from a personal point of view) and helpful post!!!
Thank you @katerinaramm :)!

Thank you so much for dropping by! I love the originality of your work too :)

Very useful info as always, i will keep these in mind, thank you!

Thank You Andy!

Thank you Katerina for another valuable and useful article!
It will definitely be helpful to me.. I see me coming back to it every time I'm about to write something :)

Thank you @shimster, as always you are too kind!
This post serves mostly as an inspiration, each one can create their own process to produce their content.
I am happy you are reading my articles, thanks again!

You are welcome @katerinaramm, I like your articles a lot, as much as I like your attitude on steemit! Keep inspiring us! :)

excelente, gracias por darnos semanalmente información valiosa @katerinaramm

Sir, very nice steps are given by you .It all comes down to what you wish to write about, and how well you know a subject. If you have already knowledge about something, it will be easier to research about it and to have a point of view or something new to share.

Thank you, I hope they will be useful

These was too good. Thank you katriena. I just love your work. I read your blogs regularly and they are just leggit. A big thumbs up from my side

Thank you @aniket26! I wish you all the best!

Ya thanks and guess what you got one more follower. Big love from my side

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83