Yesssss, My first 3 months on Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

My first three months being on Steemit have almost finished now, and so it is time for a summary of my status here is. I started with Steemit just after hurricane Irma, because I was tipped by a girl on a Dutch Blogging site. At the time, I was sleeping at my job daily because of the hurricane aftermath, and I seemed like a good way to spend my time there while waiting for patients to reach. I work at the hospital, and we couldnt do oncall shifts because of bad reception, so we all stayed there for weeks. And you have to do something there in your 'free' time. Steemit sounded cool, get payout in crypto, but also super scary! I didnt know anything about crypto at all, like ZERO. Making an account felt like a big step, and once I was finally verified, I felt like opportunity was everywhere!

Screenshot_20171214-173230.jpg

My account
After 3 months as you can see, I have 368 followers AKA people who seem to be liking what I write (yeah I know, sleeping accounts and bots are also in there a lot). I am following 493 persons myself. In the beginning of my Steemit adventure in no time I was following around 300 people, because you dont really know what kind of stuff you like to read, and who writes good stuff about that. So lately the amount of people I am following myself is not increasing that fast anymore compared to the 'early' days.

I post a lot! Not only as in reals posts, but more in replying to reply. I dont find myself that good of a writer, so I like to read more what other people are doing. And that includes responding to what they are doing. With the goal of interaction of course, but I also find that it is actually very nice when people respond to what you are writing. Its like a form of gratification I guess, yeah everyone in the end wants to be likeable hahaha.

I dont really have a niche, like not at all. I just post about stuff that Im interested about, or what I see on my daily basis. That includes hurricane stuff, and how living on the tiny island of Sint Martin is, because that is my homebase. And yes next to that I respond to a lot of people. Social action is good!

Discord-LogoWordmark-Color.png

Discord
Speaking about social action, I started using Discord and I learned a shitload out of it! At first I was a little hesitant to start with Discord, and once I started I was overwhelmed where to go, but Discord people are friendly. They help where is needed, and craptalk is also involved. #TheLionsLegion was where to find my Dutchies, #PAL for help that I really needed as a minnow, and #Whaleshares to listen to curation stuff going on. That also gave me a lot of insight on how posts are valued, and also what curation even is.
Currently I often have the Discord Radio shows on, in the background. The Shane and Muxxyshow on #thewritersblock, and also EOStalk, and beyond bitcoin. Because yes, Steemit made me interested in crypto, very interested.

Crypto
Yeah, this was all mumbo jumbo to me 3 months ago. And for any little thing, I had to ask people for help. One the persons who really was my guidance in this is my islandbuddy @daudimitch. Always patient for stupid questions, and for that I am very grateful. Of course I made every rookie mistake there is to make. FOMO is my middle name, but Im trying. After three months I have a overall profit of 120% (doesnt everybody in these months??), so Im super happy with that.

Screenshot_20171207-183402.jpg

Steem and SBD
In the current SBD rally I didnt understand what was going wrong, everybody was making tons on SBD and I felt something was wrong, I didnt see all the posts about how to handle the high SBD price. It took me 3 conversions to see that something was wrong, and actually that sucked. A nice payout from my Prague post which raised 20 SBD only gave me 19 STEEM in the end. (which could have brought 60 STEEM at the time, and now with the price of $2, this post could have made me $120....But it didnt) @bubke helped me out with this, and I made a post about it so every hardworking minnow can see what to do.https://steemit.com/steem/@karinxxl/the-steem-market-screwed-me-now-i-know-better-you-should-too-c54e6447ae5e4
@lewisjfclarke was the first to benefit from this post, as in he was having trouble with the SBD thing as well, in a community kind of way this payed off! I prevented someone from making a demotivating mistake, and thats cool.

Screenshot_20171207-205546.jpg

Yeah so here are better results after that post, converting in a damn nice way! JIHA! So not only the conversion fiesta is paying off, the price of Steem also doubled since I am here. Twice the win!! I put in $170 US when I started on Steemit, because I wanted to make a little jumpstart for myself. Now of course, I wish I had bought more. Crypto is sometimes sooooo 'What if I just had...If should have', but yeah, I guess trading is like that in general.

Screenshot_20171214-173132.jpg
All in all my total Steemit account value is steadily increasing and Im at $635 account value. I think Im doing a good job. Steemit is a good community, and hopefully it will continue to stay like that for a while. Because for sure I will be sticking around in the future, hopefully growing as a writer and doing good in crypto!

Sort:  

happy birthday. you are an adult for steemit standards :)

Hehehe, Id rather call it all anniversary ;)

Honeymoon days are over but marriage is going strong haha

and they lived happily ever after...

Yeah, I only figured the Steem Dollar thing out a few days ago. And now I see they even removed the 'conversion' button.

Im still seeing it there?? They still want to screw me over :P

I'm 7 days old and so excited to have found the steemit and Discord community. Happy 3 months to you. 🎉

Thanks, and still growing every day! Keep it up there, you made the right step joining

Great summary! Congratualtions on your success on steewmit. Thank you for sharing this information it is very encouraging. I think I will resteem it!

Wauw I see you already Resteemed it, how cool is that, thx! Indeed, I hope this post will encourage other people to see how Steemit works, and what I can bring to all of us. Thanks for dropping by!

You're making great progress. Keep doing you!

Thx Muxxy! Still in the beginner phase, but trying! :)

We are here in Steemit because gives us freedom and gives us a new and different idea of life....
Steemit is not just a source of sustenance.
Steemit is a Wonderful life and a beautiful future...
We're lucky we were at the beginning of Steemit.
I'll be proud of the future because I was a member of this great community

Yes, we are just of the beginning. It is cools to share these times with people who are also sharing these ideas. Super thx for dropping by, a bright future is laying ahead of us!

Congratz on your success! :)

Thanks a lot! If you see how fast 3 months go, crazyness what has happened so fast!

You are doing better than me. :-)

Ej I was there not so long ago...Just keep it up and we will all get there! :)

Congrats! I heard you on the live chat! I am new too =)

Livechat is nice :)
It cool to hear from other people, and a good chance to get yourself noticeable!

Steem on @karinxxl. It's a good mile stone you have crossed

Yesssss, 3 months passed by in a heartbeat. Its cool community, many many more to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68820.96
ETH 3915.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64