Powering down problems, Needs must :(

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I am having to power down as I may need cash as my car isn't very well, she's 13 years old but only has 90 thousand miles on the clock as it's only used to get me round the doors to do some shopping. I need to have some cash easy to get a hold of just incase my betsy decides to die on me. Her engine is good but her body work and interior are starting to wear out a bit like me. I am treating her to a full valet tomorrow. A mobile valeting service are coming to give her a spa treatment inside and out.

I need a car with being housebound its my only chance of getting out once in a while. Dread to think how I would cope being totally housebound, it would definitely drive me mad.


My problem is:

As I have mentioned before I haven't got a clue how to cash out but that will wait my problem at the minute is, once you have powered down how do you change the steem to SBD???

Someone should come up with am app I could use to practise all this with.

I was hoping to keep on saving but needs must and now I have a little bit I can keep on hand just in case. You never know I could win the lottery and then power up and become a whale but this is the real world and that isn't going to happen so I turn to you for some help... again.

I AM REALLY SORRY FOR BEING A PAIN


Thank you son-of-satire

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

You don't need to turn your steem into Steem Dollars.

Transfer the Steem you receive from the power down, to an exchange, such at Bittrex or Poloniex. There you sell it for Bitcoin. Then transfer the Bitcoin to Coinbase, which will sell your Bitcoin for US Dollars, which you then transfer to your bank.

Ohh right, see I haven't a clue lol omg this is to hard is going to send me mad

Here is a post that I wrote in July after the first payouts AND WE WERE ALL TRYING TO FIGURE OUT How to get paid.

In this tutorial I used Blocktrades and Steem Dollars, but you can use with Blocktrades.

https://steemit.com/steem/@mctiller/step-by-step-guide-sending-steem-dollars-to-bitcoin-to-ususd-via-blocktrades-and-coinbase

Brill thank you :)

Sorry that you are feeling cash strapped. My view is that people shouldn't feel bad about using the currency as... well currency.
The point of earning assets is to save them, invest them or spend them.
You are simply proving the case that Steem is a valuable resource and it works.
Write a post about your experience getting money into the bank.
Take Care.

Good idea I might do that if I ever get it to my bank. Thank you :)

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

I www.poloniex.com It's straight forward and easy to use. You can connect you bank account to the exchange and turn Steem into BTC and BTC into USD and then move to your account. Though I have never done it myself that's what I'm lead to believe.

Hope all is well with you Karen. Don't worry about powering down, that's what it's meant for. ^^

Thank you @solarguy, I'm ok apart from this giving me nightmares lol

Upvoted any luck with this yet @karenb54 ?

I haven't tried it yet, I power down again tomorrow so might give it a go then... so scared I mess up

Isn't it great to have some good crypto currencies around to cover expenses like new cars? A few years ago when Devcoin was a thing, I was able to cash a bunch out and put a down payment on a van.

Definitely can't afford a new car but its a nice chunk of a second hand one :)

Would you like to sell your steem to me? Do you have a paypal?

I will think about that thank you. I want to try to cash out at least once just to say I have done it :)

Glad that you can tap into this to yourself out. Please keep us posted on the whole process. I seems to be so involved. I really wish there was a way within Steemit to do this, even if they kept a decent fee for the convenience.

I will do and thank you. I thought someone would have made the process easier by now :)

Poloniex is surely a good idea. Once you've set up your account you'll have to check the subpage "deposit and withdrawal". Go to the line "Steem" and click on "deposit". Then copy the "memo" (key).
Then go to your steemit wall, click on the button close to "Steem" and chose "transfer". Sent the respective "amount" of Steem to "poloniex" and the "memo" you just copied.
Once your Steem has arrived at your polo account you can exchange it e.g. into Bitcoin. That happens on the "exchange" subpage. I use "localbitcoin.com" to exchange BTC into EUR then, so send my BTC to another platform. But that's only because in Europe we have few other possibilities to exchange crypto into fiat. There may be other, easier ways for you like the ones mentioned here already.
Best of luck :)

Ok Ill have to have a few practises seems a lot to do

After a few times it's like riding a bicycle, promised 😉

I hope so :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11