You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is Very Frustrating – Stop Blaming the Whales

in #steemit6 years ago

This article is very insightful, specially for me since I am minnow. And lately I have a seen a lot of steemit whales also talking about around the same point - about quality content, about bid bots, about abuse of SP. Your article also links up with that since, a newsbies may be the most frustrated as they can't hit the trending page, that may or may not always have good content. And complaints will include that whales are abusing the system and that good content will never fly.

I have also felt disheartened on a lot of days. and eventually i realised what you have said in your article. I have spent the last few weeks finding good content creators so that I see that quality content is on steemit and the right people are making money for their effort. And yeah, whatever penny I make, I power up. I want to invest everything I make today to grow organically, & patiently without bots - get genuine appreciation for what I write and increase my influence level.

Thanks for sharing your perspective. I agree with you completely.

Sort:  

thank you for powering up! shows some people want to give as well as take. I understand people are disheartened but lets say you were an actor, and you went to hollywood, because you are new should hollywood give you the leading roles or should you have to earn them and work your way up? People think because they come to steemit and posts something that they are 'owed' by the whales and its really annoying

True, i agree. Payoffs without any effort are impossible anywhere else and expecting that is stupid. But i think thats not what my frustration was. When one is new, one is not fully aware of how people are making money - call it lack of awareness or lack of any effort to learn about steemit. So while going through the trending page they see resteemed posts. One can conclude that people who have built a fan following or a follower base are getting upvotes.. similar to youtube or instagram or twitter. However, Its not all that.. there is actual junk as well. And thats when people get frustrated. And i dont think all the frustration is for the whales. It may be from initial failure, something that everyone faces - some leave it there, others do something about it and try something different. And people mostly do not expect things to be given to them for free. No one thinks steemit is a charity.

But i agree wholeheartedly with you. Whales dont owe it to anyone.

off steemit I blog. So when I came to steemit, I knew how much work goes into growing a following and monetizing it. what works for me off steemit didn't work on steemit and I had to change my approach. if you want to make money from steemit, its hard and a lot of work has to be put in. Like starting any other business.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70