Sort:  

Yes it does. If the market price is dropping then there is increased risk of a vote that was right at the cut off turning into zero. If the market price is increasing you have a chance of one that would have been zeroed out getting paid out.

The other factor is the reward pool as a whole. Large last minute votes can effect the entire reward pool. Those like Haejin that get massive last minute upvotes can take a bunch of upvotes that would have been paid and turn them all into dust.

Flip side when someone gives a massive flag last minute it could push a bunch of borderline votes from dust to paying out.

So, do you think it's acceptable for me to upvote my own comment after somebody up votes me with a $0.02 vote? I try not to upvote myself. But I feel like if I don't somebody else gets the money for doing nothing. I'm just curious on the communities View on this particular question. Is it better to not up vote yourself and let somebody else have the money, or to upvote yourself so that someone else doesn't get the money?

I have been upvoting myself if someone leaves a vote that will get dusted. But overall my self vote rate is pretty low so confident that if anyone takes issue with it I don't really care...lol But honestly I am doing it and it only makes sense to salvage the vote plus the person who voted will get some curation rewards.

Thanks so much for explaining this last minute vote thing, @thedarkhorse. SOOO much to learn! ;)

Thanks for asking about this, @kaliju. Response by @thedarkhorse helped me understand aspects of this my mind hadn't even reached yet. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57647.49
ETH 2274.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50