Title Edit: Is The Steem Blockchain Decentralized?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


forgive shaky camera pls, no stand today


EDIT: Okay, has the policy changed on new users now? It looks like they DO get delegated Steem, after all? Looks like I misunderstood/misread. This is great news, and negates about half of my video, if so. However, the critical issues/information discussed HERE remains.

What do you fellow Steem-Os think? Overreacting? Right on? Missing some critical info? All three? None of the above?

Lemme know in the comments~

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Support Voluntary Japan!


Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/voluntaryjapan

Steem/SBD: @voluntaryjapan

BCH: qqvmdr3l0dlmjqdekkzgsdeg8hq2s9zt5ud3h004r7

BTC: 1MfENEp9tkJMHmrrj5rPKzohYNCw9S6qFw

ETH: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

DSH: XpqAkZqHnE12pN9oKapd1Vmj91HSeb93K1

QTUM: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

Sort:  

My no bullshit thoughts are this. My 1k of posts has made me slightly more then 100 USD in steem. the ROI leaves much to be desired! that said, I enjoy lots of the stuff I'm reading and watching here much more than youtube & other places around the interweb.

I totally agree. I'll surely be leaving this site as soon as I'm done with my challenge. I feel like they have a good idea but there will be a future "Steemit" that gets this whole thing right and flourishes but I guess part of being the first means they have to go through trials and error trying to figure out what works vs what doesn't while minding their greed.
Jerry Banfield bashing Steemit doesn't help either. He is a smart guy and was a witness. I feel like he knows the maths of how this reward system works better than most of us. I hope he is wrong but I'm not sure I believe he is.

Don't take advice from Jerry Banfield as to whether Steemit is a good platform or not. That man was interested in one thing, and really only one thing: self-aggrandizement. That said, there are some systemic problems with Steemit that need to be addressed (one issue that is close to my mind is decaying witness votes, for example). The platform, as a whole, is far more centralized than it should be, and there are several ways to address that issue.

Steemit is so easily abused and that indirectly cost me and others with relatively small SP... I hope i'm missing something and the growth potential really is there.

It’s true that Jerry is a scammer bascially, and not to be trusted. But yeah, Steemit’s had two years and is still floundering in rookie mistake land, it seems.

@anarcho-andrei is right, Jerry Banfield is pretty much the worst example of a person to take an advice :P

I agree though that the whole environment is full of abuse and there way too many people that have money as number 1 priority and will do (and do) everything to make more even if it cost the others and thus the platform!

My "logic" because i am quite sometime here is to just make my regular posts (which i think a lot of them are underpaid, if a whale posted the exact same ones will earn 20 times more and if a new user probably 0 :P )and interact with the ones i followed who i handpicked them and try to engage with them as much as possible.

Nowadays it seems more like an everyday thing and a hobby, like reading my friends "news" and posting whatever comes to my head. I do care about the money aspect cause everyone came for this too but it's not my priority otherwise i will be off like Jerry!

I tend to write long comments :P but to summarize it, try seeing it more like a hobby, find people to follow that you truly love their posts and that you gonna interact with and my true problems with Steemit lie both with how hard the interaction is given the current interface, the need of an older post reward system and also that basically nobody manually checks for new content!

Aside from self-voting (which, albeit questionable, is ultimately not immoral per se) and bot spam, I don't really see much abuse happening. Or even avenues for abuse that aren't also accessible to every other user here.

Fully decentralized? Of course it isn't, never was. Witnesses...
Partly? Yes maybe or rather probably.

I actually don't get why this berniesanders guy gets so much attention.
What is in that post you linked? claims, claims and claims and no factual evidence he links too.
And the few times I looked at his posts this was my usual impression of his posts...

You can check the transactions and see that the @pumpkin account has the deciding role/weight in selecting the top 20 witnesses, if I am not mistaken. These witnesses determine policy that the witness outside the top 20 must follow.

I’ll look into it some more and get you some sources.

That's not your job Graham. I could try to look it up myself.
I get that it's possible and it may be true but it would have been berniesanders job to provide a link to the evidence or at least a screenshot (and not let the others search what may or may not be true). Otherwise he is just lazily badmouthing and complaining in the air - like a true Bernie Sanders.
I've grown accustomed to James Corbett standards.

Thanks for the reply and offer.
Edit: https://steempeak.com/steem/@ura-soul/visualising-the-votes-for-the-top-50-witnesses-with-and-without-the-freedom-pumpkin-votes

I am not a friend of Bernie. He’s done some nasty things. But also often tells the truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81