Is the Steemit Roadmap at a Dead End, Being that it has Already Been Run?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Visting Steem.io recently and checking out the Roadmap section, I was left a little bewildered.

The only roadmap described is one that has already been fully traveled. Isn't it important to keep this roadmap up to date?

The site states:

"This page will be updated with information about future features and changes."

Hmm. The launch plan reached completion in July.

The platform has been released. It is still in beta. It's October now. Where are the updates?

Looking at roadmaps for other cryptocurrencies leaves me wondering why the Steem map seems to have halted in its tracks. Where's the press? Where's the plan?

Even if the plan is to "pull a Nakamoto" and step back to watch the platform take on a life of its own without trying to guide or direct it too much (an approach I fully support philosophically, by the way) I wonder if @Ned and @Dan couldn't indicate this in some way.

Maybe they have?

As the value of Steem continues to swan dive toward zero, and I continue amassing it as a dedicated user and true enthusiast, a word or two on the current direction of the platform would be encouraging.

Does the road continue? Time will tell. For some inexplicable reason, I think it will. It's also good not to lose one's head in wishful thinking, though..

Time will tell. Until then, I shall Steem on.
We've got this old paradigm to push over via the crypto/anarcho evolution...Roads to build!

(P.S. I just found this piece...Steemit in Rolling Stone would kick ass!!!!! Bring it on! Looks like Steemit might actually be featured. :))

~KafkA


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist in Niigata, Japan. Check out @VoluntaryJapan on Facebook and Twitter.

Sort:  

Yes - the lack of news of further developments is why the price is falling. Speculators have bailed to projects like synero, which arfe vaporware, but have eye-catching road-maps and marketing. Marketing is important...

I agree 100%. Something like BTC doesn't really require it so much, but a social media platform, by it's very nature, almost demands an orchestrated marketing campaign and release strategy if it is to catch on. People have to hear about it to know about it.

I too am wondering what the overall grand plan is, beyond the run-of-the-mill style tweaking we've been seeing lately. When is the end of beta? Will there be an organized marketing campaign to propel platform growth to the next level? What long-term strategies for a more even distribution of Steem Power and other user concerns? There are many questions that need answering.

My plan has always been to give Steemit about 6 months or so, and then re-assess where I am and my continued involvement. I am cautiously optimistic, as I see my own account growth accelerating, some whales taking interest in my posts, my curation ability going up, and various community curation initiatives starting to have a positive effect.

For now I continue to buy Steem in small increments whenever the price drops. It's important to stay the course with a measured, mechanical approach to cost-averaging as there is still no evidence that we have reached the bottom. The verdict is out on whether Steemit will succeed in the long run, but I continue to believe it has a good chance of doing so.

Being mechanical and not getting too jumpy I am sure is a necessary prerequisite for being involved in trading and investing. It is just such a bummer to see those vests steadily lose value day after day. But, again, best not to be too jumpy. I think your 6 month plan is a good idea. As of now, I am powering down a bit, and plan to keep writing to keep my SP supply stable/growing. Perhaps I will cancel this action before the first of the 104 payments if I see something happen. The silence at this point and the steadily falling price are not good indicators to me. All that said, I still love this place, for what it means to me beyond the dollars and cents.

I think it's a bit premature to start powering down, unless you need the money for something. I agree it's a bummer to see our vests losing value. I remember not long ago, getting a kick out of voting and seeing the $ indicator move up a few cents. Now my votes rarely make it budge.

But if you believe Steem price will rise in the long-term, it makes sense to keep buying as your overall cost basis will then be close to the bottom when the downtrend finally reverses. The absolutely worst thing to do right now is go all in with a huge purchase, only to see the price get cut by 50% again. Dollar cost averaging is King until we get confirmation of a reversal. Signs I would look for include:

  • sideways consolidation with no new lows for a couple weeks
  • increasing buy side volume
  • a price movement above the 4 hour or daily moving average, that stays above it for at least a week

Right now we seem far away from achieving even one of those indicators, let alone all three.

I agree it may be a bit premature to power down, but as you said, there are at present no real signs of a reversal, and I don't see one coming in the future, either. I am not powering down completely, but would like to retain some of the value I have put in. I watch the price fall predictably and steadily about a half a penny every day. No word from the devs on anything, and the market cap continues to fall.

Steem very well could reverse. My concern is losing all I have worked for if it doesn't. I see commentary quite frequently about this or that new low being the "bottom," but as you said, the indicators are not there. This has been going on for months.

It seems the wisest to me at this point to take a little out and put it into something that has a more solid forecast, and is doing well, such as BTC.

All that said, I am still not sure. Perhaps I will cancel the power down. Steem now at 17 cents and approaching 16 with utter silence in the Steemosphere. Doesn't seem to bode well. Maybe it will end up like Dogecoin and be only worth a tiny fraction of a cent. Even then, I would be interested. Watching my account value plummet with no real answers to important questions is making my spidey-sense tingle, though.

Well, it doesn't hurt to take a cautious approach either. If you power down a bit now and put it into Bitcoin (which does look set for further gains), and the Steem price continues to decrease, you can buy back in later and get more Steem than you started with. This would be much like the strategy I'm using for REP. However to do that really effectively you have to play the "guess the bottom" game.

Another factor to consider in that strategy is you lose out on some of the "interest" from holding Steem Power. But right now the price is going down much faster than that interest is accumulating, so it might not make much difference.

It's a trade off, and hard to see which approach is best without knowing how close we are to a bottom.

Here is the video of Ned's keynote on Steem in Oslo. Not a word about the future of the currency. Not a word about the current price status. I hate to sound negative, but just seems like a whole lot of fluff to me.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@bitspace/ned-scott-s-keynote-from-cryptofinance-live

I've got zero experience with anything cryptocurrency-related, so this is all very confusing to me.

Can anyone get this in front of Ned or Dan's eyeballs, by chance?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67917.78
ETH 3516.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72