I just "randowhale'd" my own post. Anyone else done this? Random Whale is a great way to promote your friends' (and your own (°▽°)) content! (explanation of @randowhale).

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1645.JPG

The Random Whale Vote project is an excellent way to promote content on Steemit, and get it a higher rewards payout.

You can find the original explanation of the project here.

Here's how it works:

  • Transfer 2 Steem or Steem Backed Dollars to the account @randowhale.

  • In the "memo" field, paste the url of the post you wish to see promoted.

  • This post will then get a vote from the @randowhale account between 1 and 50% of the current random whale voting power. You can check current voting power here.

IMG_1638.JPG
After you click the arrow next to "Steem Dollars" or "Steem" in your wallet, and click "transfer," you will see this menu.

The 3 posts I have randowhale'd so far:

IMG_1643.JPG
@musingsltd
https://steemit.com/animation/@musingsltd/the-birds-and-the-bees-part-i

IMG_1641.JPG
@boxcarblue
https://steemit.com/story/@boxcarblue/the-girl-in-the-bamboo-a-japanese-folktale

IMG_1640.JPG
And my own capitalist ass!
https://steemit.com/fitness/@kafkanarchy84/marathon-update-the-training-regimen-starts-next-week-review-of-advice-i-ve-received-and-my-personal-approach

~*~

Please remember, it's "@randO" and not "@randoM!"--"@randowhale."

I think this is a great idea, and is a powerful way to help out Steemians you feel deserve some limelight and rewards. Give it a try and pay it forward to your friends...and yourself, if you have a post you think deserves a bit more!

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I'm all for self-promotion and think @randowhale is a really great opportunity for users of all size to give content they find deserving a push. Makes a great low effort gift too :p

now be super meta and randowhale your own post about how you randowhale your own post

ahahaha xD best comment so far!!

lol. almost did that, actually.

Great idea. Random acts of Steemians

Yea rando whale is a great 🐳 account.. Sadly sometimes the power drops and you dont really get the 2SBD back in vote.
Although sometimes yoy get more than expected.
Cheers

I've gained every time so far and broken even once. Yeah, I don't know. It seems like a much better bet than the promoted page at this point in time.

Hey there, thank you for introducing randowhale to me, overall do you think it is a good investment in long term? Let say on average you should be getting like 25% of voting power. I would like to introduce you to check out @minnowsupportproject as they also help supportint the fellow steemian as well.

Legendary post 👍👍
Thank you for sharing. Followed & Up Voted :)

I found this about week ago, thought it was amazing and decided to test it on a post.
Only after I'd paid I realised I'd paid Steem for the whale to upvote an article over a week old which means it can't be powered up anymore...
Pro tip... don't be an ass like me and use it on posts over a week old :)

woow thats a great initiative ,thank you for sharing ,resteeming and upvoting this post.Happy steeming

thank you ,you have great posts and i cant miss them so definately following you.

@randowhale is awesome yo ! :) i used it about 2 times. Very very prompt service.

so don't get me wrong - but it seems you lost money on the three rando postings - sorry if i am missing something obvious -- i can tell your doing great on this one --i love Japan and am now following you -- all the best,David

I spent 6 SBD total (about $9.78 at current price) and made gains of around $12 in rewards added to the posts total as far as I can figure...

I may be missing something too, but I am pretty sure I came out ahead.

well done -- and thnx for following me too- i just hit 150 so that might have been you

And that sbd is worth ~1.80 on the market.

Followed back. Cheers✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64721.74
ETH 2633.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82