Steemit multilingual / Steemit polyglotte [ENG/FR]

in #steemit7 years ago

Repost because of 5 tags bug. Also I am waiting for comments too.
English is predominant on Steemit but #cn, #kr and other languages have been very active on this community. My last post got some feedback from French Steemians and the most successful of them actually write a bit in English. My posts are mainly in English. I am sure I have less than five French posts.
What can we do to promote multilingualism?

Il n'y a pas que de l'anglais sur Steemit, heureusement. Les communauté #cn et #kr sont très active. Vous pouvez voir par exemple mon dernier post en anglais/français. Malheureusement pour être un tant soit peu populaire et être lu, il faut se mettre à écrire en anglais. Cela a été mon choix dès le départ. Que pouvons-nous faire pour rendre Steemit polyglotte?

English everywhere

Yes English is the main language here. The interface is in English, the cash is in (US$$) English. You do have a lot of people trying to enjoy/participate/write/read/create/post/curate... but can't so much because of the language barrier. If I take myself as an example, I write a lot in English but French is my mother tongue so I can get the pace I want in my text easier that way.
Although I am very happy with what I achieve here, I think Steemit would be great if we internationalize our platform.

Do you speak english?La barrière de la langue est un problème ici. Difficile d’interagir sur cette plateforme sans comprendre un minimum anglais, ne serait-ce que pour savoir sur quel article voter. D'un autre côté nous sommes encore au début de Steemit. Tout reste à faire.

The threat if nothing is done/ La menace

We will loose users, like for instance with the Russian fork of Steemit.
I am afraid to see such an initiative touch #cn or #kr, which are pretty big community here.
I mean, I am actually learning Dutch, I speak some Spanish, so I would like to be able to find those articles easier. And maybe it is the same for anyone trying to learn French. But everyone decide his or her own tag so it is hard to not miss some posts.

Steemit perdra des utilisateurs. Nous avons déjà perdu la communauté russe.
Il ne manquerait plus que cela arrive avec #cn ou #kr. Ce serait bien de faciliter la découverte d'autres langues. J'ai vue passé des articles en allemand, néerlandais ou espagnol. J'aurai beaucoup de mal à les retrouver vue que je n'ai pas la moindre idée des tags qu'ils ont utilisé. Il faut un format pour que tout le monde puisse se retrouver.

My Proposal/ Ma demande en mariage Ma proposition

  • Translate the interface: just look at your data to see which country/language should be first added. Traduire l'interface du site.
  • Add/Propose a default language tag to the post submitted. This maybe can be in addition to the 5 usual tags (I personally just use 4). Ajouter un tag par défaut pour la langue du post, peut-être en plus des 5 habituels.
  • Use country top level domain for this default tag. Of course just one tag for a main language( #fr for French ...). Utiliser les extensions des sites par pays comme #fr pour le français.

So please just standardize the whole language tags so we can discover more culture on Steemit.

Merci

@jyezie
Image credits 1 2 3

Sort:  

Oui, très bon article. Je viens de m'inscrire mais je me rends compte qu'il y a peu d'utilisateurs français, et il paraît donc très risqué de ne pas écrire des articles en anglais. Espérons que cela change !

clairement pas rentable. Mais il y a plus de lecteurs et bloggeurs francophones donc ça avance.
Je vais essayer de republier cet article bientôt. J'avais eu un plus de commentaires la deuxième fois mais pas assez.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.69 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks. I hope it gets me more comments.

Je viens de rejoindre Steemit et je partage totalement tes axes d'améliorations, espérons que ces propositions seront entendues par certains développeurs :-)

faudrait que les développeurs l'aient lu d'abord. Ils ont sorti une roadmap mais il n'y a de volet "internationalisation" prévu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61784.55
ETH 3389.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52