Sort:  

Mine was 33 day one and I didn't get upvoted once at that point so u doubt it's a rating number

It is a rating number. Lets make yours higher just because I can. Everyone starts at a specific number (usually 25) not sure why you started at 33. Sub 25 indicates the person has been downvoted for something (or more than one thing). The number then goes up with upvotes.

Thanks for the explanation. Being a newbie here means there is a ton to learn but by the looks of things it seems to be well worth the effort at the end of the day? Would you agree?

It's a good site IMO. There are some nice and some not so nice people here. It has it's share of issues, but sometimes people give you some really great rewards. Like me here to you.

Much appreciated! I look forward to progressing to a position like yours where I can also be generous to people that are making an effort and contributing. I am planning some decent posts (I.M.O). Keep your eyes peeled.

Hey @gholsa you've been on this platform for about 4 months now. How have your experiences been over that time?

Hi there. Been a lot of good. Have met a lot of really nice people. Have been some challenges relating to the recent hardfork...making things harder for newbies.

What happened?!

THANK YOU :)))))

I definitely agree! Being new, it is a bit intimidating, there is so much to learn. But practice makes progress!

Thanks I was always wondering

Thanks for the info, I just became a member and I was curious about that. How does the upvoting work?

The amount of money you give is really just your vote allocating a piece of the daily "reward pool" aka the amount of steem that are created daily. The more Steem Power you have, the more of the reward pool you can allocate, so the more your vote is worth. Does this answer your question?

Glad to find this post. I wasn’t sure what caused a number to go up or down. At first I thought it was based off of number of posts. Thanks for clearing the air, it’s acually quite difficult to find some of the info about this site! Possibly a good post for someone in the know as this thread is 8+ months old yet people are still commenting on it lol.

You've helped me there. Glad I found this post

Gotcha , I must of read an old post that talked about a rating bet 1-10
So I was confused but clearly it's now bet 1-100 I assume. Thanks for replying !

It was originally 1-10. Now it's a different scale I don't know what the max is maybe 100 but maybe it just keeps going. The minimum also isn't 1 it goes negative. I've seen someone with a -4 reputation. But when that happens their posts and comments are automatically hidden.

Haha I like that "let's make yours higher just because I can", made me laugh and reminded me of this...

Anyway I was wondering the same thing about the number by the name right now, that's how I came across this post..thanks for sharing

I wish I were half as badass as Jafar. Lets make yours higher too. Because I can.. Mua hahahahahahahahah

That’s fairly rad of you dude 😎

Maybe, but so was what I did here. Pats Self On Back

Oh wow, thanks so much! Haha I tried my best to return the favor but could only give you a cent... darn

That's okay, no need to return the favor. :)

@justtryme90 hei, i have writen a coment several minutes ago but it dissapeard. i am courious if is there any place where i can observ this "LVL" if it goes up, or down... do you have any ideea??

lol.

nothing more, nothing less #dryhumor

Thank you btw !

Interesting! Thanks for the explanation.

Like one of the other posters here, I thought it was representing my age haha. I like how you can find just about anything right on this site though, whether it's the main post or the comments! :). I can't wait to get higher reputation so more people can see my blog, thanks for the explanation!

Thank you for the information i gave an upvote for the info.

I just joined steemit last week and was curious about the number. I figured it was a rating, thanks for the confirmation! Do you know what the scale is or how to know how much influence it has on payout, upvotes, etc.

Thank you very much for this post! I’ve been ok the platform for... almost a week now, and I’m just starting to get the hang of some of this stuff. It’s so confusing at first. Again, thank you :)

There is a steep steep... Steep learning curve. However it all becomes intuitive in time. Glad you gleaned something from the post

Oh, so that what it is. I thought it was displaying my age because I'm 25. But after few days it turned to 30, lol.

What if you just started aging more quickly!?

Haha that's funny I thought the same but then I was like " wait a minute.. how does Steemit know my age?! I didn't submit that wtf" haha the 'all knowing' social network! No for real though, lovely to be part of it :)

I thought the same exact thing because I'm 25 as well lol!

And you are already 39, boy the years go by so quickly

I've been posting and commenting - basically being active here and yet I just realized I didn't know much about this number near my name. Thank you so much for this post though :)

Youre welcome. Let's see if we can raise the number.

It did. What why 😲

Thats what upvotes do

Wow. That's how powerful a Super Sayajin 4 then. This platform keeps surprising me everyday. Thank you so much.

Thanks for the explanation through the comment section and the links. Still trying to find a foothold here

It takes time, but you will find your way. Here have $0.79

You are the Robin Hood of Steemit lol

You are. This was very helpful for me to. Just not sure where to write this with all the sub-comments...

hopefully I can get to near your level over time. I really love the whole concept of Steemit.

You will, with perseverance!

Hey share the love over here! I could use some rank raisin. Sounds like a disgusting cereal.. Rank Rasin the cereal that taste Rank. Now with Reasons!

How about $0.5 instead?

Thank you so much. All that I recieve I'm going to put towards my medical expenses. So I really do appreciate it. Check out my blogs to see my story of breaking my neck if your interested. :D

I'm glad I found this post. I wondered what the number was. Can you update the original post with the answer or do you like for people to go through the comments to find the answer? I realize it's not difficult to scroll down and see the first comment but it's just a thought :)

I can't edit the post and put the answer...Otherwise I would. The ability to edit a post is lost after it pays out. The same goes for a comment. So you can only edit for 7 days.

Thank you for this information @justtryme90 it really answered my question, but i still didn’t get it how can a vote make this number higher, is in it about how much we participate?

Your reputation is a statistic awarded to you based on the votes you receive. When someone votes you, you receive reputation points, when someone flags you you lose reputation points. The amount of reputation they can give or take away is relative to both the amount of SP they have as well as their reputation. So someone with a high reputation and a lot of SP can increase someones reputation or decrease alot depending on whether they vote or flag.

Was scrolling down looking for this post. Some of these nuances are hard to understand. Thanks. High five! :)

Hi @justryme Thanks for that explNtion, but maybe stupid question here: how do I vote or flag someone?

Thank you for this post. I was wondering what the numbers meant and that led me to your post. I love a good short sweet and to the point one. lol!

Well I am glad it got you to the right answer! The number is your site reputation, the higher the more non flagged content you have posted (or comments).

@justtryme90, reading this thread, you seem like a really cool person. :)

I try to be helpful, unless people try to take advantage of me. Then I am not so nice haha.

@Justtryme90, could you please help me share my post and question about blockchains. I haven’t received any responses and I’m genuinely curious. Thanks! https://steemit.com/blockchain/@countryheart/newbie-here-or-please-help-block-chains

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77